Better Off Alone

73 81
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

I'm 33 and still single. Well, aside from the fact that I'm not the "likable" type, I'm also childish.

Back in the days, I used to chase love, but I got tired and so, I decided to start loving myself more. It's not easy, but somehow, I feel like it's way better than trying to be the best for someone else. Turned out that my best wasn't good enough for them.

I'm 33, single, but contented. Maybe not perfectly happy, but at least, I don't have to keep trying to win someone's heart. I'm done trying. I'm done pleasing. I'm done!

But the problem is, people would assume I need someone to make me happy. And there's this guy who started asking me out. I don't think he really likes me, he only said that because he thinks I'm not happy, or that I've been single for ages.

He actually stopped bugging me for months, then he came back recently and started asking me out again. Some people say I should grab this opportunity. But Nah, I won't do something because I was told to do so. I will only go for something if my heart and brain say so.

Besides, for now, I feel better off alone. At least, I have no one to please.

**Used Pixabay for the lead image.

62
$ 0.53
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.02 from @esciisc
$ 0.01 from @Andante
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Not true, you need the other sex. Just find what is in you, give your love, take what love is given, and don't promise too much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't take love if I don't feel the same.. and I can't give love if I don't even feel it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its right for you or not i don't know but i recommend you for marry someone 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In the future, I will.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course. Because you are a part of society and you deserve a family ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kinda true.. Lol..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Society dictates us for the past years and even today what we should do. But I see strong you are, being with yourself is something great. Loving ourselves alone is not something different, you are beautiful and I can say that you are amazing. Not all women have that kind of mindset, I think experienced have something to do with that, but all in all we shouldn't be pleased by other people on what we should do, who to love, who to spend our whole life with. It's on us, we are the ones who should control ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's no rush, sis!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg ❤️❤️❤️❤️ you're finally here!! 😍😍😍 Welcome to RC my beautiful sissy! ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's nothing wrong if you're already 33 but still single. It's better to be alone than to settle for less. Relationship is not a race anyway. It's not required to be in relationship while you are in mid twenties, get married before you reach 30's nor it is absurd to get married and build a family in your 40s.

Being alone doesn't mean you're lonely. People only assumes that people who are single are lonely. There's a lot of things that can make us happy, and we can get the love from our family and friends. Singleness is also a perfect time to hone our skills and talents and to make ourselves better.

I'm just 25 but I'm being pressured by some of the people around me to be in relationship because most of my friends are getting married and building their own families but I'll never get into a relationship until someone reached my standards.

Cheers to being single!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love it! And heck yeah, cheers to being happily single!

Every word you say is 101% accurate! So I'm not going to explain further coz you've already said everything.

And thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe thank you also for noticing what I wrote here. I'm too excited to share my insights on this topic because I can relate hundred percent and just noticed the typos now 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You wrote an article in my comment section. 🤭🤭 And I really love it. You could use your comment as your next topic.🤭🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Other users also tell me that I'm fond of writing 'article-like' comments and it seems like I'm writing a reaction paper 😅. I just can't help myself from doing it haha.

Anyways I already wrote an article related to this topic probably a month ag that's why I have a lot say 😊😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, it's like a reaction paper but it's way better.. if there's this best comment of the day, you'd be the instant winner.. and thank you.. you've just made me smile with your comment.. ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I'm happy to know that I made someone smile today 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true. I totally agree to your comment. Being single doesn't mean your lonely. People are just very judgmental like they know us better than ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, if your spirit or mind doesn't show consent about you going out or dating him...don't border saying yes. Someone loving you shouldn't be out of sympathy, pity or your vulnerability. Becareful dear when making decisions concerning relationship. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you and yes, I am very careful and will be more cautious too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. Being single is a choice and it's not bad to be single. You just have to wait for the right person for you and not settle for less just because other people think you're not happy. We are responsible for our own happiness so just live your life without thinking other's opinion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup..as they say, my life, my rules, my say! 😊 And thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. You're welcome.. Enjoy being single 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you have your fam and really cute furbabies. If it were me, that's enough to be contented with. I still hope you get the kids you wanted, if not then why not help a child and adopt. Or help out at animal shelters too if you can

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so contented, and i am busy working hard for my future.. and though, I would love to have someone around, it's not even my priority..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well yoy still have until 40 at least to look out for someone you'll want to be with

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, no rush needed. I still have enough time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The right man will come. For now, learn to love and accept yourself! In God's perfect timing. You will find the right one for you, who will love and accept your flaws. God bless you! ☺️😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, God bless you, too, and thank you. Yes, I believe God has a better plans for me. Besides, I can really wait. I have been single for 6-7 years, and I don't mind being single for another year or so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will feel if it's the right time to try again. I hope you find that part of u again, ate. I can't wait for your articles to be about how you met your special someone. Hayyyy. 😍😍😍😍 Ako siguro ang unang kikiligin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ang cute mo..😊❤️ but only God can tell.. nahawa na ata ko kina Selena gomez and taylor swift puro related so heartaches sinusulat. 🤭🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hihi. Thank you po.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love will finds it ways, no need to rush. Just enjoy life, everything goes into places by our God graces.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your advice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes,just wait for the perfect timing.Deciding to love yourself first is a great idea because this will make you ready when that guy is already there.I beleive that he will come in the right time.Dont lose hope.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can wait. And I don't really mind if there's none.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what I have to tell you is simple...be who you can and not who they want you to be, follow your mind and make your decision and you can meet experts for advice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the whole plan. And thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Self love is everything ...Because there is no worry of break of heart and expectations that’s why I also love to love myself. People come and go but the only thing that still is your own thoughts and your love of yourself.Don't expect from others except yourself.Because you are the only one who knows your heart instead of others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this message. And you are 101% correct. Again, thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pleasures all are mine Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Feeling lonely

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not. Are you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In God's most perfect time, a man truly deserves you will perfectly come. You may not see it coming dear. You can be happy if you will choose happiness. You don't have to chase for love again, loving yourself is the greatest investment you can do too. Not all people can love themselves for they are busy pleasing someone else's love. Just enjoy your life and live it the way that you want. 😊 You're beautiful and I know the man who's born for you will certainly find you one day. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, thank you for your kind words. Self-love, indeed. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the fact that you are enjoying singlehood....just be yourself you are the best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you should live your life as you pleased, don't let anyone coerce you into a relationship ur heart is not willing. The greatest favor you can do for urself is to love yourself. When you appreciate and love urself, others will respect and cherish you who you are. Perhaps you see ur better half as you go through life. Stay safe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not going to let other people dictate my life over something I can decide by myself. And thank you. You, too. Be safe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don’t worry, I’m sure that you will find someone that deserves you because you are a wonderful person ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, thank you. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the problem about keep trying to chase the love that couldn't be reached, I've done it before not once or twice but couldn't reach it and I already have said to myself those words you must have said; 'i am done' because it is hard to feel heart broken. Maybe it is best to let it go and let love come to you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, best to let it go and just wait for the right love to come to you. I like this. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As always, you are welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems crazy ! Do we need opinion of others to be happy ? I don't think we need sympathy for being alone. I spent 37 years alone & I'm happy that I found someone who cares. Its your choice atleast to look out for company and spend time & IF you like, then you can continue otherwise I don't think there is desperate need of life long relationship

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, besides, it's my life, so I'm going to follow what my heart and brain want. And thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my country we have a saying that says "It is better to be alone than in bad company" (Es mejor estar solo que mal acompañado) if being single is how you feel better, continue like this. For some time I have been living your situation and I feel better being alone and focusing on improving as a person and giving my daughter a good education.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love it and very true. Better alone than force yourself into something you don't even want. And thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always to order 😊👍🏼

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being single is a choice my friend, If you find it way better to live well that's good and it makes you happy. Imagine no one bothers how you look when you wake up, what dress to wear, what to eat, where to go. No one's gonna make argue of what you want to do. Your free, right?😍 But if you feel incomplete just always remember there is always someone around you will cross each others path, just give it a try my friend.😆🖒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true, so I'm just going to enjoy my life without stressing myself about something else. If it meant to happen then it will happen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you.At least you have tried.You do not have to live your life to be pleasing people.No,you should see to it that you make yourself happy before anyone else is.Do not get concerned about the pressure being put on you.Move on with your life and keep on praying. God's time is just ths best.Never care about what people saying or thinking about you.If you think you like this guy,then I think you should go for him provided he is single.But if you are not interested in him,then just relax.Nice article and great picture. Kindly subscribe back.Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for that awesome comment. Unfortunately, I don't really subscribe back to people who ask for it. I might one day, but for now, it's a no. Sorry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks deat

$ 0.00
3 years ago