An Article For Dad

46 68
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Dad

I have published quite a few articles about my dad since I joined here, and I won't get tired of writing something for him every once in a while. After all, he is my dad, and though he is on the other side, whatever side he is on now, I will make time to write something for him, especially on his birthday. I am a bit late, though, as he was celebrating his supposed-to-be 73rd birthday on the 11th of October. Well, as I have always said, better late than never.

So on the last 11th of October, we had a small celebration with the family. Mom cooked chicken adobo and spaghetti, and I also gave her money to buy a chocolate cake. We didn't have much money, so we opted to have a simple one instead. Too bad we didn't get to take photos of the other food.

Looking back to when he was with us, I couldn't help but wonder how our life would be if he had been alive. I bet it would be different, especially since we have extra six members of the family now. Back then, it was only my brother's two daughters. Now, we have three more girls and three boys added to the family.

You may also want to read my other articles for him:

My dad loved kids, even if they were just neighbor's kids. Our whole family used to do gardening as our weekend bonding, and every time we had it, our neighbor's kids would join us and help us without asking for money as payment. It was a sort of our bonding with the rest of the kids on the block. It was fun as it was more like playtime for us rather than doing some work. In return, my mom would prepare snacks for all of us. Now, kids won't help you unless you offer them money.

If he was alive, I bet our household would be extra lively. We'd probably hang out outside and do gardening with my nieces and nephews. I bet we won't run out of banana fruits because it had always been one of his favorite fruit trees to grow. My younger nieces and nephews would surely learn how to plant fruit trees and ways to keep them alive. It will also be a perfect way to distract them from using gadgets or spending their days on nonsense things.

My dad also loved to have breakfast at a nearby seashore. If only dad had been living with us, we would probably be doing this, too. Since it was mostly an unplanned event, we would probably be bringing leftovers from last night's dinner or mom's pansit because that's something easier to prepare. My nieces and nephews would surely enjoy it, too, since they all love to swim.

Those were probably a few things we would do if he had still been alive. But of all the things we could probably do, the one thing that I would surely miss was seeing him around. It would be nice to see him having a great time with his grandchildren. I bet he would spoil them like he used to do with his two first grandchildren. I wonder if he would still call me princess, though. He used to call me that all the time.

To my daddy:

I miss you so much, Dy. As I was writing this, I got teary-eyed again. I missed the old times, and though it has been 16 years since you were gone, there was never a time that you never crossed my mind. 

I know one day, when it's my time to leave this body, you'll be the first person to welcome me on the other side. I won't be scared as I know you would hold my hand the way you used to when I was a little.

I still have a long way to go, though, and I promise I will live my life to the fullest in my very own way so that one day when it's time for us to meet again, I have so many stories to share with you. You used to tell me stories about your past, and one day, it will be my turn to do the storytelling about mine.

Belated Happy 73rd Birthday, Dy. Thank you for being my father and for all the great memories we had together as a family; until we meet again, dy.

Closing thoughts

I feel a little sad while writing this. Darn! I may have to watch fun compilation videos to get my happy self again. Nonetheless, this article is a great way to reminisce.

Anyway, to all those whose parents are still with them, always find time to make them feel how they are mean to you. If saying I LOVE YOU is something you don't feel comfortable saying, remember that every little gesture also counts. Don't forget to make them feel that they are appreciated and loved. They don't need a lot; your time with you is more than enough.

If you are one of those who has a family of their own, please, find time to visit your parents and bring the kiddos with you because I bet that will make them very happy. You can also set a time to spend a few days on vacation with them if they live far from where you at. Remember, our parents are not getting any younger, and one day, they will have to go without prior notice, so while you still have the chance to spend time with them, do it. Otherwise, you will live the rest of your life full of regrets.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


21
$ 7.62
$ 7.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Dad

Comments

Very nice tribute.. He's smiling from above and sending his love to you. I'm sure he's saying thank you Princess.

I wrote about my fathers passing awhile back. A very hard thing to do and was my most emotional article I have wrote to date. They remain in our hearts forever.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I haven't read that. I will one of these days. Indeed, forever in our hearts. They may be gone but their memories will be forever be a part of us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can't forget our Mom dad although it's after so many year's too. I think without perants really life is tough because we've lost our guardians.

Your dad will be happy in heaven to see this little celebration and your progress ❤️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aw, thank you, sis. I hope he is, knowing that he got 6 more grandchildren who celebrated his birthday with us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes of course he knew about his grand children too 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed there is no one more than parents to me missed and loved. Happy birthday to your father. You were/are/will be a princess my sweet sister

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This made me emotional. I'm one of those who don't really say I love yous to my parents as I'm not used of telling them and today, I don't really have the guts to tell them so haha. Would just express this through my actions hehehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. I am guilty too. I dont say those words to them before but I do text my mom those words. Pero mas importante pa rin din ang actions. Pero kahit sa text man lang, masabihan mo din sila ng i love you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama ka diyann kaso nahihiya talaga akoo hahhaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything change pag mah mawalang tao na mahal natin, yung mga nakasanayan natin nag iiba na. I'm pretty sure he is happy wherever he is right now

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True talaga. Nakakamiss lang yung mga old days. Pero ganun talaga and I hope masaya siya kung saan man siya ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I bet he would still call you Princess, MJ. You are royalty rolled into one. I can relate to missing him. I miss mine and I can't begin to state how my life would have been so easier with him being here too. Keep being strong, MJ... He was a great man.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, Ola. We need to be strong for the people who are still around. Hugs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely, MJ... Absolutely 🤗🤗🤗. Sending you hugs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is not alive but still you are celebrating his day, this shows your love and affection for him. I can understand your pain to loss him.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we still celebrate it even in a simple celebration. Even if he was gone, it won't change the fact that he was our father and forever be loved by us, his family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This letter show how much you really love your dad, Our earthly father is one of the most important person in our life, nobody can replace them ever.

And with the last photo, it seems that your look alike with your daddy. ❤️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah. Many have told me I was his female version. Hehe. It makes me proud every time I hear it from them. And, indeed, they are irreplaceable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sure po proud ug malipayon din papa mo karun maam kay nakita niya nga napadako mo niyang matarung ug responsable nga mga anak. Happy birthday sa imung papa in heaven po.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you sa greetings. I hope proud siya and malipayon kung asa man siya ron.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Birthday to your dad in heaven, sis! 🥂 For sure he's happy now how you've grown into a wonderful woman.

Feel ko kabait ni papa mo, kasi di takot lumapit mga bata sa inyuha sis. ☺️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Salamat sis. Oo, mabait papa ko sa mga bata. Lahat ng mga bata samin, daddy din tawag sa kanya. Daddy at mommy din. Tapos yung tipong masaya maglinis ng bakuran kasi dami namin e kasama sila. Pati pagligo ng dagat, sasama mga yan. Kaya masasabi ko na mabait papa ko talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

a very touching article, hopefully for those who have been left by a father figure, hopefully your father will be placed on the side of God

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aw. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

same my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're so sweet sis. I'm sure your dad happy seeing you right now, he's really proud of you sis.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sana sis. At sana kahit sa panaginip man lang makadalaw ulit siya gaya ng dati.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sure dadalaw siya sayo sis...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sending hugs! I'm sure he's so proud of you I lost my Dad too when I was young, I know what you feel

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Hugs din to you, beh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss ang mga alaala nila sissy, siguro dinesenyo ang mga memories para kahit wala na ay maaari pang balikan ang nakaraan. Hugs and kisses sayo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Thanks for this sis. Tama ka. Kahit sa ala-ala man lang meron tayong pwedeng balikan. Buti na lang talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best thing is even it was simple celebration you still remember the day if special born day of your father.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo. Kahit wala na siya, we will always celebrate his birthday kasi birthday niya yan e. That will be forever special.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hugs for you sis.🤗❤️ Halatang buotan ug mapinanggaon kaayu si papa nimo. Swerte kayka nga bisan sa dili dugay nga panahon nga nakauban nimo si papa nimo, na.feel nimo ang iyahang pagka-responsable nga amahan.

Happy Birthday sa imong papa sis. 🥳

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Salamat kaayo sis. Tinood jud na. Makaingon jud ko na swerte me kay bisan pag naa siya'y bisyo Like smoking and drinking, priority jud niya amung studies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko din tuloy tatay ko madam😌iba din maglambing ang tatay eh

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True. Iba magmahal ang mga papa. Pero sa panahon natin kasi di pa sila showy. Ngayon mejo showy na mga bagong papa. Pero yun nga, nakakamiss talaga sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes madam ndi nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very sad to hear about your father, I already didn't know about it. He surely will be happy to name you as Princess, MJ because you are real Princess. Supposed Happy Birthday to him, you refresh his memories.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you. I think every daughter is every father's princess. Okay, maybe not all as some fathers are not as responsible and loving as others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know how it feels writing a letter about someone who's in heaven already ate. I know your dad is looking at you and guiding you always.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, it's still saddening pero ganun talaga ang buhay. And I hope na he's also doing well wherever he is now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sweet. He sounds like an outgoing and cool dad.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

He was. <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago