A Sad Story

24 82
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story

I was supposed to write an article about my friend's - @Firenze - business, but then something came up more important. I'm sure she doesn't mind it if I will postpone the article tomorrow.

Anyway, this post is dedicated to my friend, @Yudisutira. It's about her grandmother. As you all know, Yudi's grandmother was hospitalized last week and was recently undergone surgery. It was successful but then before the surgery, while she was at the hospital, she got infected with the virus. Then tonight, Yudi got news from the hospital that his grandmother is gone.

I feel sad for my friend because I know how much he wanted her to recover. He did everything he could to keep her alive but unfortunately, she was too old to fight back.

I know how hard it is to lose someone. But in this case, in Yudi's case, it's going to be the hardest. Imagine, he took her into the hospital for an appendectomy but when she came out, she's dead. And he couldn't even get the chance to see her or hug her for the last time, or even spends days at the funeral. 😒

I don't know her grandma or Yudi that much but losing someone you love so dearly is never easy. It likes you've lost a huge part of your life, and that you will never see them again.

I know the feeling because I lost a few loved ones too. First, my dad. 😒

I know this isn't about my story, but just let me share something first.

I was a daddy's and mommy's girl. Since I'm the youngest and the one that needed so much attention for the rest of my siblings, my parent's attention was all on me.

And of all the children, I think I was my dad's most favorite, too. Every day, we always had this father-daughter time. My dad liked to share stories of when he was still young, how he met mom, his hopes and dreams for his children, and many other things. Those stories will always be one of my favorites.

Aside from that, he would also sing for me those old songs that you could only hear every Sunday. Sometimes, he would dance, though, he wasn't that good, but it made me smile every time.

My dad was never rough to me. For him, I was the princess. He always defended me when my older brother would bully me or demanded me to wash the dishes. Hehe. I guess that's one of the reasons why my brother and another sister never like me that much.

Fast forward, he was resting at our little Bahay-Kubo one afternoon. Then he came to my room, and he could barely talk. I called mom right away. Then he started to mumbled until he fell. Mom got panic and then asked for help from his brother. Then they rushed him to the hospital.

I was shocked coz that was the first time that I witnessed something like that. 😒 They were at the hospital for 3 days, and I was at home. On the fourth day, they let me see my dad, so I went there with my uncle.

It was my first time to see my dad in that awful situation. He was in bed with so many tubes around. He couldn't talk, but he could still hear me. His body temperature was too hot. By the way, his room was a huge one with probably 6 other beds for other patients is. Then there was a vacant bed at that time because the last patient had gone that day.

The night before, they wanted me to stay with my aunt but I refused. I told mom that I could sleep on the vacant bed. So I was there and now and then, I would look at my dad and check on him. There, I saw my mom trying to comfort than. Wipe with a sponge. I also remember dad was trying to hug her.

I thought he was going to be okay. I thought there was hope. I thought he was improving. Then the next morning, dad was trying to talk but he couldn't. So they gave him a sheet of paper for him to write what he wanted to say. But again, he couldn't.

Then a few hours after, a doctor came. 😒😒 And told us the worst news. She said to mom that dad won't be staying for too long; that we should prepare ourselves. I burst into tears when I heard her for the first time. I wanted to tell her that only God could predict the end of someone's life. We were crying for hours. Until my aunt decided to take me home with her. I never wanted to but there was no longer a vacant bed on that day.

So I went to my aunt's house. I went to bed. Prayed to God that He would save my dad. Then around 11, my aunt woke me up crying, and then I suddenly knew that there was something wrong. Then she told me that my dad was already gone. πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

I cried and cried for hours. I couldn't sleep. My aunt left me with my cousins so she could accompany my mom. I cried while everyone was sleeping. Then I was still crying when they woke up.

When mom came that morning, we hugged so tight and started crying again. I shed so many tears that day. Then we decided to go back to our place, my grandparents' place where we lived with them. When we arrived, there was no sign of a coffin yet. Then an hour after, there he was.

I busted in tears again. I couldn't believe seeing him in that box. I wanted to believe that it was just one of my nightmares. But it was the other way around. I wanted to hug him and save him in that box. πŸ˜’πŸ˜­πŸ’”

Every night, I would cry nonstop because I lost my dad. And every morning, I would talk to him and cry again. Then on his last day, it was time for us to send him to his resting place. That day, was the saddest and the hardest day of my life. I cried the whole time, from the last prayer that was held at home to going to church, during the mass, and in the cemetery.

The third worst moment in my life was when they started lowering his coffin to the ground, then they started covering him with soil. Again, I burst into tears, and I heard my mom crying so loud. I almost wanted to die that day so dad won't have to be alone in there. πŸ’”

Even today, whenever I think of him and the whole thing, I couldn't help myself but cry. I was only 20 at that time, and it's been 13 years already. Every time I see an old man, I would get teary-eyed, because it reminded me of him.

Even though we were closed. I barely said to my dad that I love him. I know he knew, but it would have been so nice if I did tell him that. That I appreciated everything he did for our family. For always trying his best and going to work even if he had arthritis, just to provide for all of us.

It would have been so nice if I hugged him more often that time. Although I sometimes did, it could have been better if he knew I value him more than anything in this world. But it was too late. I hadn't got the chance to say all those things. I lost the opportunity to tell him those things, and that was and is always been ng biggest regret in my life.

But then, I know God has His reasons and we all going to die, anyway. And I know, one day, I'm going to see him again. And I'm sure, when it's my turn to die, he would be the first to hug me. πŸ’”πŸ˜­πŸ’”

That's why to all who are reading this post, whether it's your parents, wife, husband, kids, grandparents, anyone you care most, tell them how you feel. Hug them often, tell them you love them, appreciate them, respect them, and make them feel they are special because you'll never know what's going to happen next. Remember, they aren't always here to stay.

Sorry for another long article. And to @Yudisutira, stay strong my friend. I know that no words could make you feel better now but know that your Kiki friends are just one message away. I am just a text away. Stay strong.


**Photo from Unsplash.

14
$ 1.79
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story

Comments

OMG. I'm in the office right now and in the middle of work but I couldn't stop my tears from dropping. One of my office mate have noticed it and ask if I'm okay and i just said yes.. sorry for the loss of your father, MJ.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Ganun talaga ang buhay. Sana kung saan man papa ko, sana he's happy talaga. At kahit ilang years na siyang wala, he will always be in my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's late but I hooe your friend is doing okay and i hooe you're happier now, you're able to fulfill some of your dad's wishes, after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's sad but death is unavoidable, we all face that. I hope you are good now and your friend Yudi as well. You are still blessed to have a loving father, the thing I never had in this existence.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm going to read you article in a bit about the thing you never had in this existence.. I saw it but didn't read it yet coz I was too busy with other stuff.. And yes, I was so lucky to have a father like him..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can't finish the article sobrang sakit ate mj😭😭😭😭 nasa kalagitnaan palang po ako 'hindi ko matapos, naalala ko nung naaksidente tatay ko few days ago sobrang nakaka trauma po😭😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, napaiyak kita.. Pero okay ba tatay mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes po, okay naman po yung naging result ng check up sa kanya, nagrerecover nalang po at bugbog katawan niya.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti naman.. Sana m fully recover na siya soon.. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh! Very sad story, actually I feel like sheding tears although dead is inevitable but it will be hard to have love one leave us. May his soul rest in prefect peace and for your friend to too may God gives him strength to bear the pain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, youngdim! Sorry for the late reply.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I almost cry while reading this.. But I need to stop it coz am at work and it's unlucky to cry here 3according to their beliefs.. 😭 that's why every time I want to cry.. I just go to the toilet and stay for a while

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww.. Bawal pala sa kanila umiyak pag work.. Ang hirap naman nun kung me prob kang pimagdadaanan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nga mabigat kpg hndi mailabas.. Pwd naman maghiwa ng sibuyas.. Kpag matanong "are you crying?" "No it's because of the onion" 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry for what happened to your friend πŸ–€ ... As of now, you're one of her friend can understand her situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. Need niya nga niya ng kausap e.. Kasi wala naman siyang kasama sa bahay.. Kawawa naman talaga.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My Gosh, ito una ko nabasa at anong lungkot naman 😭 napaiyak din ako ee 😭. Yan talaga ang pinaka mahirap at masakit uny mabawasan kau ng isa sa pamilya nyo. Wala na din papa ko 2013, we're not that close pero masakit pa din. Tapos uny ate ko sumunod, bata bata pa nya 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry to hear that sis.. Samin, una daddy ko din lola naman tas lolo.. Nakaka sad ng nakikita mong nababawasan yung pamilya mo.. Kaya lagi ko pinagdadasal na bigyan pa ng maraming taon ang mama ko.. Baka di ko kayanin.. Naiisip ko pa lang napapaiyak na ako. πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜₯😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totoo kung, mas gusto ko ako mauuna ee, okay na kahit haggang 50 year old lang abutin ko basta ako mauuna.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Been there. I lost my grandpa last year and it's the hardest thing ever. Like I always say, the pain doesn't go away. You just get used to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. Then the pain will always be there.. It stays forever but you just get used to it.. By the way, sorry for your loss.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feeling... I always went back to the time where i should have told my dad I love him but i wasn't able to do it until his last breath. 😒 Hope your friend would be fine

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He is trying hard to be okay.. But I know he will eventually.. He just needs some time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah time heals. We just need much time in order to get healed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago