Quitter

11 25
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Was there ever a time that you feel like quitting? Or was there ever a time that you quit on something? May it be school, work, friendship, relationship, habits or even vices. I thought of drafting an article after I have read @Firenze's Get Back on Track article. The words QUIT and QUITTER has somehow stuck on my mind that even if I read her entire article, I could not comprehend everything that was written. I had to re-read it today to understand everything that she published. I even commented that I am a quitter. Yes, I am a quitter. I quit when I feel like quitting even if I know that quitting would not look good in my CV.

One of my favorite quotes about quitting is, "quitters never win. Winners never quit". Again with my favorite quotes. LOL. I remember when I was hired with the last company that I have worked with. During my first day with the branch I was assigned to, I instantly saw that saying pinned on our memo board right after I placed my bag inside the office. Imagine that I get to see that everyday. Then after 2 or 3 weeks, I started to have my duties in 2 other stores. It was very tiring that whenever I would have my duty with my original branch, I would see that note. It was like a reminder for me that I should not quit. Yes, I did not quit right away but I just finished my contract with them. I did not want to be a regular employee that is why I tendered my resignation a month before my contract was about to end. I have already told the reason to you before why I resigned from them. As much as I did not want to quit, I had to. I do not want to force myself to work in a company that I do not feel like I want to work with. Of course I was thankful that I have a job and that I should not complain especially because there were some people who wishes to have a job and yet there I was taking everything for granted.

Have you ever felt like that? That you were only working because you have bills to pay or you have a family to feed however you are slowly dying inside? They say do what you love or if you cannot do what you love then you got to love what you do. I did try to love my past job but I was not really happy. It was hard to force myself to smile especially I was working in a food industry. It was so hard not to smile even if you do not feel like smiling. They say to leave our problems at home but what if my problem was my job? Am I already considered a loser for quitting my past jobs?

Whenever I would resign from a company, I always think of its pros and cons and sometimes I do ask my family and friends for some advices. But at the end, it was still me who would get to decide whether I should quit or not and I always ended up quitting. They say that we should learn to rest and not to quit. With my chosen path, resting was never an option. We only get to have a single off in a week. As per leave, having been able to work in 5 differrent companies, I have never once experienced having a paid leave because it is not that common when you are in a food industry unless there are a lot of manpower in a store. Although there were times that I get to have 2 days off in a week with some of the companies that I worked with. Again it is still a no work, no pay policy but for me it was already enough because I get to rest my body. Before I used to pamper myself during my off days by going to a massage parlor or facial salons but with the past 2 companies I have worked with, my off days were my bonding time with my mom.

I remember when I first started working, I would sleep during my off day. So my family knew how tiring my job was and they would tell me to quit my job and look for an office job. I didn't do what they told me to do because I was really enjoying being in the food industry. It was when I was in my 4th company that I felt exhausted probably because my last 7 months with them I had my duties in 5 different stores in a week plus 1 off day. I was still enjoying working with them but I totally got burned out a couple of times to the point that I even walked out after only being in the store for few hours. Good thing that there were 3 supervisors on floor that's why I was able to clocked out early. I did not go home right away instead I went to A's work place.

I have worked for this company for years that my only mistake was when I resigned, I looked for a job right away. After less than a month I was hired. I was not able to take all the rest that I needed and it was probably why I felt like I was dragging myself to work. Thus making me turn my back on working in the food industry. I have rested for a long while now and most of you know that I was already planning to go back to work but COVID happened. I was suppose to look for a job in the food industry again. LOL.

Being unemployed is really hard especially during our present situation. I do not advice you to quit when you feel like quitting. Before you quit, you have to think it over and over. Others say that when you feel like quitting, you have to remember why you started. It may look like it was easy for me to quit but honestly it gets harder and harder as I am not getting any younger. You may think that I quit because I cannot handle hardships but I quit for my own good. If quitting my job and thinking of myself would make me a loser then I am a loser. I may be a loser but I did not quit on a lot of things. I did not quit paying my obligations. I did not quit on my dreams and I did not quit on myself. That is just how it is suppose to be right? We can pause but we should not stop. Life must go on and also our dreams, goals and so as our bills. I am a quitter and I am also a loser but I am motivatingly motivated. How about you?

P.S. lead image was the quote that was posted on our memo board. Notice how the light had somehow added some dramtic effects on the quote? It was because there were 2 piles of thick memos on both sides of the board and the quote was on the bottom middle part. That is why when I saw it I instantly took a photo. I felt like it was God's way of telling me that I should not quit my job.

7
$ 20.22
$ 19.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Bjorn
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 5
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Iniisip ko baka mali ako ng english kaya binalikan mo ulit lol. Kidding aside, mahirap kalaban ang burned out.. Yan ang magpapadecide talaga sa tao na mag quit eh. Feeling ko kasi sa field mo wala kang choice kasi ganyan halos lahat ba? Kasi if halos lahat ganyan, magiging cycle lang sya..unless hindi ka magquit. Or pede din baka may better days na sana kaso nag quit ka agad kaya d na umabot dun.?

Leaving a company for your own sake tingin ko is not a bad decision, especially if for your mental health. kung pano tayo bobounce back sa buhay after our decisions, dun na magkakatalo. Maybe may ibang plan si Lord for you, baka yun yung need mo malaman if ano. Yung no matter how hard yung worksuoer happy ka, passion mo sya.. feeling ko kapag natagpuan mo yun, yun na un. Hindi na magququit. Hoping you find it soon ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Alam mo yun nga yung hindi ko pa talaga naffigure out kung ano nga ba talaga or kung saan nga ba talaga ako. 😔 Meron naman ako napasukan na happy and nagtagal ako kahit mababa yung pay kaso yun nga naging roving ako. Pero meron pa naman ibang companies na double off day kaso bibihira na lang. Talagang paguran. Ang holiday na naeenjoy ko ay Maundy Thursday at Good Friday. Sarado mga restaurants. The rest na holiday bakbakan na. Enjoy naman siya yun nga lang talagang darating sa point na mabburnout ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mafifigure out mo din yan. Lagi mo syang jsama sa prayers mo.. Yung dalhin ka Nya sa plano Nya tlga.. Kapit lang.. Soon darating ung sagot.

Oo nga no. Kc sa dmi ng holiday un lang tlga ung pede ka mhpahinga. Lahat ng holidays eh damay n kau kasi bonding time ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it still working? Do you still enjoy what you're doing? Your answers will give you a better perspective on where to go from your current position.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you still enjoy what you're doing? yan ang pinakafinal na tanong ko palagi sa sarili ko. Kaso lagi akong enjoy pa ako KASO ganito. Enjoy pa ako KASO ganyan. Laging may kaso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Burnt out talaga ang turning point ko kaya ako mg quit. I needed to do it because my health was at risk na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap kapag burnout na noh? Yung kahit kailangan mo pero hindi na talaga kaya ng nararamdaman mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe quitter din ako... but I guess it depends on the situation din,...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Depends sa situation pati ang pagiging loser. May iba kasi na nagqquit kasi nahirapan or napagalitan tapos bigla na lang di papasok kinabukasan. Dami ko naging staff na ganun noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkakapagod nmn talaga sa food industry demanding sa time talaga tapos work is so habitual pa. Rest is really needed and if it never allows you enough rest to charge your body and soul then I think quitting is an option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masaya naman sa food industry kahit nakakapagod. Kaso one off day is not enough in my opinion. Yun nga lang bibihira ang merong 2 off days. Kaya kapag immeet ko friends ko noon, nakaayon sa schedule ko. Kailangan off ko kinabukasan. Sila nagaadjust para sa akin kasi alam nila na pahinga talaga hanap ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago