Not my typical evening

4 25
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life, Journal

This evening just before dinner I happened to see the Youtube video of Toni Gonzaga, a Filipino singer, host and actress on her interview with the Philippines Secretary of Department of Transportation. I do not know when the video was uploaded as I just saw it on my ClipClaps app.

The video was definitely suited for tomorrow's special day to all our dads, daddy, papa, appa, padre, pa, pappy, pop, poppy, popi, tatay, itay and whatever we call the pillar of the family. What do you call your dad? I have already written articles about my dad, Happy birthday, Dad and Daddy's girl, few months ago. I am not sure if I can still squeeze my brain to write another topic about him for tomorrow.

Have you seen the video of Toni Gonzaga and Secretary Art Tugade? What did you feel about the video? What was your learnings with his story? I admire Toni for holding up her tears because I was literally crying when I was watching it. I really have a soft spot if the topic is about family and most especially if it is a father-daughter or father-son relationship. To sum it all up it was life, hardwork, family, pain, guilt, time, regrets and memories for me.

Halfway through the video, I cannot help but to think of Dolly Parton's quote, "Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life." It was because Secretary Art Tugade really worked hard to give the comfortable life to his children. He did not want them to experience the hardships that he had when he was growing up. I was really inspired by him and his story was a true rags to riches story. Actually when he was speaking, I felt like it was my dad who was talking. Probably because both of them are lawyers and went to the same school. You can also include that they are already old but still strong.

So when I went to our dining table, I told my mom that I cried with the said video. She said that she had also watched it a few days ago and had left her in tears. As we were talking about Art Tugade, my dad heard of it and ask why we were talking about him. I was not able to answer because I ran to the bathroom but I heard him say that the secretary was just older than him by a month. I came back to the kitchen and my dad went back to his room. Enough talks about Secretary Tugade and will share about what happened this evening.

My mom and our helper started eating without him because the three of us were really hungry. We did not have any snack because we did not have any bread and all we had this afternoon was iced coffee. While my dad was able to go out and met some of his other circle of friends. Their meeting was lunch and he went home around 6PM. Of course I know my dad my drunk. Like father, like daughter. LOL. He was walking inside our house with his shoes on and our helper scolded him. So he went out and took off his shoes. When he came inside he asked if he will also remove his clothes. LOL. Because he always saw me remove my clothes before going inside the house after doing my errands and I would run right away to the bathroom. I replied yes but he didn't. LOL. Though he went straight to his room and took a shower.

When I was already done eating, my dad sat with us and only asked for cold water. I was right when I told my mom and our helper that he was not going to eat because he was already full from drinking. He thought we had soup and I told him we have chicken potato salad that I ordered as my father's day gift to him. When he tasted it, he said that the taste was different. I said that maybe because he was just drunk and when I tasted it, it was actually different. We were so dismayed because it was his favorite that I even ordered 2 and then the taste was different.

We all know that my dad was drunk and I was mimicking him. LOL. Then he started talking about his friends and we just let him do all the talking. But he never stopped complaining about the salad. LOL. Then he asked me if I will cook and I said yes. After few minutes he said that we will just order a pancit palabok and I said sure. At least I will only cook 1 dish, Bicol express. Then he said we will just order from his friend's restaurant. Of course I even wanted that. LOL. We ordered the foods right away. I can really see myself with my dad only when he's drunk. LOL.

After few minutes, someone called him to make a birthday video.message to one of his friends. He's not really techie so I helped him in taking the video. Before he started I was pretending that I was vlogging. LOL. "Hi guys! This is my dad and we are about to..." If only I can actually do that. Then my dad started complaining again about the salad. Can't get over. LOL. It was as if he was giving a feedback about the food. Then I thought, what if my dad would start vlogging. Maybe it will help him not to be bored although what would be his contents. Our helper even counted that there will be 4 viewers. I asked why 4? She said because we are 4 in the house. LOL.I don't really know if my dad is up for it or if he even knows what vlogging is.

My dad and his friends already completed their vaccines. He said that they were only 10 who were able to meet at a restaurant that they have reserved. It was the first time that he went out to meet his friends. He was able to go out few months ago when he had to fix his car registration. But this is the only time that he was able to see and interact with some of his friends.

I do not know when I can see my friends again. For me I am still not confident to socialize whether or not I have completed my vaccine. But I really am hoping that we can go back to normal without the fear of the deadly virus.

By the way, I am sorry if this article did not end how I wanted it to be. I actually wanted to talk more about the video but I ended up talking about what happened this evening.

P.S. lead image was my photo of the moon a month ago.

2
$ 6.01
$ 5.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.08 from @bbghitte
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life, Journal

Comments

Speaking of father, I don't remember he scolded me or hit me for my wrong doings. Mother was the disciplinarian. 😄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang late ng reply ko. Hahaha. Sorry. Nalalagapasan na. Di masyado nakakabasa mga articles lately pati reply sa comments. Majority ata mga nanay ang disciplinarian. Or half-half. Or divided into three. Kasi may ibang parents na deadma lang ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my dad :(. He just passed away recently and it is just so saddening that I wasn't able to met him for the last time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Super late reply. Sorry. ✌ awww. Sorry to hear about your dad. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago