Happy birthday, dad!

8 42
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

This is the day, this is the day that the Lord has made, that the Lord has made. That part of that song is currently playing on my mind right now. Haven't been active here on read.cash and noise.cash today because it is my dad's birthday. His first quarantine birthday. If not for the pandemic, I think my dad would have a celebration with family and friends since it fell on a Saturday. I think the last time that he had grand celebration was when he was 70.

Ever since I was a kid, we would have guests for my dad's birthday. My most unforgettable part was the day before his birthday because it is the time that we would be making "kilawing kambing" (roasted goat in vinegar). I would go with my dad when he is going to buy a goat and I was happy to see a lot of goats then at the same time I was sad because they killed it. Then when we came home, I would tell my mom about the goat and then my brother and I will help them in chopping the onions, ginger and/or goat. Since we were still young, we didn't do it perfectly. LOL. Then when we were chopping the onions, I was really crying then my dad's friend told us that we should wear shades so my brother and I did it but we still ended up crying. LOL. Haven't eaten "kilawing kambing" in years now. I know most of my dad's workmates who used to grill the goat and chopped the ingredients have already joined Our Creator. I also grew up watching them grill the goat and some tuna. When I was old enough, I called them grill boys. 

After 2.5 months, we were able to be with my brother's family this special day. The last time was during my sister-in-law's birthday. We weren't able to celebrate Christmas together because of my dad's shingles. I have missed them so much and I am so happy that we have finally eaten in one table again. We did talked about some stuffs with regards to the news and current affairs and a little updates about our lives. I know that my parents are already bored being in our house for almost a year now and without other social activity. My dad isn't the the homebuddy type so this quarantine is really making him so bored. Plus the fact that he doesn't have any social media. So being able to have long and deep conversation amongst us, made them really happy. Tomorrow we are back to normal, just the 3 of us and our helper. 

Prawns, chicken poppers, beef kare-kare, pancit canton, potato salad, puto, beef kaldereta, pork roast, laing, lumpiang shanghai, java rice

Most of the foods were picked and paid by my dad but I am happy that I was able to contribute to one dish and even shared with the expenses for the decorations. Thanks to read.cash, noise.cash and BCH, I was able to buy him something. Originally I was planning to buy him his favorite cake but I decided to make it into an appetizer. Then my mom's sisters from abroad also contributed a dish and a cake. My dad was surprised when he saw that he had a lot of food, a lot of cakes and he even had decorations. This is actually the first time that we had decorations for a simple birthday. Last night, my mom and I had already inflated the balloons and arranged the HAPPY BIRTHDAY sign so that we would just set it up when my dad would pick up the foods just outside our subdivision. It was a success!

I guess next year we should surprise him with an all expense paid birthday celebration whether at home, out of town or out of the country if this pandemic would be over by then. The last time that I gave him a gift was his birthday 5 years ago. It was just a small amount but I got teary eyed and speechless when he said "thank you for your gift". I didn't expect it because I just came out from the bathroom and he had also came out of his room and we met eye to eye as the bathroom was just across the master's bedroom. We aren't vocal remember? I think it was the only heartfelt gratitude that I have ever heard from him. Yes he would say thank you sometimes when I would do him some favors but that was different. Probably because he also didn't expect that I would give him money. I guess I should make it my another goal for this year or next year? I really have to save a lot for all my goals and wishlists. 

Are you the type who would surprise their parents with a birthday cake, a birthday present or a birthday party? Was it successful? I like hearing successful surprise parties or surprise presents because you can really feel the thoughtfulness of the person. 

My dad is longing for a drinking buddy. He was the only one who had few glasses of whisky during lunch and dinner. He thought that my brother's driver would be here so he could have asked him to join him in drinking then my godson's nanny said that their driver doesn't drink. LOL. My brother isn't a drinker but I am although ever since I quitted smoking, I wasn't that into drinking anymore. I would drink a few bottles or glasses but not to the point where I would be really drunk. Clean living? Maybe. LOL. So I know how my dad felt without a drinking buddy. As much as I wanted to join him, I'm not that into alcohol anymore. That's why he really wanted to go out today and meet with his friends so that he could drink with them. I don't know what stopped him. I have warned him days before that if he would go out, he had to be quarantined for 2 weeks for all of us to be safe. I just really hope and pray that this pandemic will be over so that we can all go back to our normal lives. 

4
$ 0.86
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Blessed Birthday to your Dad!!! It's nice how genuine you are and how much you love your dad. That's a lot of food btw! Nagutom ako bigla :((

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your birthday greeting. 😊 we really wanted to have a lot of viands since it was his 75th birthday. Yes, I love him but I haven't said it to him that much. Shy. LOL. I hope that he knows how much I love him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Paampon na kaya ako sa inyo, basta madaming foods gora na sa ampon ahahaha.

Never ko oa na surprise si a mader sa birthday nila, nothing special just a simple pizza and cornetto as a handa, minsan may spag, depend kunh ano trip nya sya kasi gumagastos. Maybe soon, I will be able to give that for them, give them a handa and evwrything, but right now nakaasa pa rin ako sa kanila som lalo na sa march na bday ni mader omoo 😱

By the way, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your Dad 🎉🎉, late ko nabass kaya late din ang bati ahehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the birthday greeting Ruffa. 😊 soon we will be able to treat them not just on their birthdays but everyday. Parehas tayo nakaasa pa din ako sa kanila. But I know someday we will be able to pay them back for all their love and sacrifices for us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah soon, we have BCH that's why it will happen 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy birthday to your dad! 😍🤩 That's a lof of food. Siguro happy sya marami siyang handa, but finding a drinking buddy must be really hard. But I guess, he managed it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the birthday greeting Cherry. 😊 yes he was really happy. Now we are still eating those foods. I guess we will be eating it until next week. LOL. Yeah, he really wanted a drinking buddy. It feels really different when you are the only one drinking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy birthday 🎉

$ 0.00
3 years ago