My period cup

24 51
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Almost 2 weeks ago when I published my article about my Monthly visits, and if you have read it, you would know that I have purchased a menstrual cup or a period cup. I was suppose to name this article, A lady's cup, but I have realized it can also mean a cup for bra. LOL. To begin with, this will be a little awkward, disgusting and messy topic but I want to share with most of you girls the importance of menstrual cup to our environment. 

Menstrual cups are reusable flexible funnel shaped cup made of silicone which is inserted to a woman's V to catch and collect menstrual blood. It is an eco friendly alternative to sanitary pads and tampons. They say menstrual cups can last up to 10 years. Can you now see how much money you can save with just a single cup? Not only do we get to save money but we also help save our environment. From where I bought it, their menstrual cups come in 2 sizes, small and large. They say that the small one is for people who has normal flow and usually for below 30 and/or who hasn't given birth through normal delivery. On the other hand, the large size is for people who have given birth through normal delivery and who experiences heavy flow. Though they say sometimes you have to go with what fits you. I think the best option is to go with the smaller size first.

I haven't experienced using tampons in the past so putting in a menstrual cup was a little struggle for me. It is already my 3rd day and I still can't get it right. Well they say practice makes perfect so I'll be able to do it easily after few more tries. I have experienced a lot of funny stories with just putting it inside. During my first few tries, it will slide down. LOL. I really have no idea on how to put it or use it. Yes, there's a picture printed on the box and there is even a small paper manual inside the box. I have read it a couple of times and even if it seems so easy, it was really hard for me. Then when I was able to put it inside, I thought that the ring will just be left outside just like how it is with a catheter. I have only experienced a catheter during my recent operation. So I moved and moved with the ring exposed and honestly it was actually comfortable. In my mind I know that I have it on me but I never felt it there. When I had to pick up something from the floor, I bent forward with my one leg raised backward. Can you imagine my position? When I returned to normal standing position, I felt my cup moved but I didn't mind it because I know it was already in place. They say that it would leak if you placed it the wrong way. I didn't have any leaks and it wasn't sliding down so I wasn't worried because I know that I did it right after many tries. Then I moved freely, sat on the chair and laid down in bed. When I was lying down, I was curious with it so I went to the bathroom to check. To my surprise, the ring was already inside! I was a little nervous that a lot of things has alredy been running through my mind. Slowly, I tried to place just a little bit of my middle finger inside and thankfully I felt the ring. After that I realized that maybe it is suppose to be that way. I didn't pull it out because I was planning to check it after dinner time plus it was a struggle for me putting it inside so I really don't want to remove it yet. I continued my day as if nothing happened. I even went to a drug store for my parents' medicines and to a bakery for our snack. Hours have passed, no leaks and no changing of pads every 2-3 hours or depends on how heavy your flow is. As for me, I just need to change pads before when it is already full and when I know that I have been wearing my pads for too long as it starts to irritate my skin.

Sorry for the photo but here is the instruction on how to use a menstrual cup. Seems easy but it wasn't for me

Then came the time where I need to check my cup and drain it. I got 15ml of blood for 12hours. I don't know if it is normal but at least I'll be able to tell it to my obstetrician gynecologist when I would have my check up soon. Pulling it out was very easy for me. I remember the time when the nurse had to pull my catheter when I thought it would hurt but it didn't. I cleaned it and sanitized it before putting it back again. For the first time in many years, this is the only time that I didn't have any leaks on my bed. I used to get leaks whenever I wake up during my period before. I have tried different sanitary pads even maternity but I always get leaks probably because of my sleeping positions. Though I have noticed that it did leaked a little when I was about to get up but only in my underwear and not in my bed. For 2 nights I have observed that it was because of my sleeping position because I used to sleep on my stomach. This morning when I felt a little leak, I tried to sleep on my back as it was too early when I felt it and I didn't want to disturb my sleep. Plus I am still having a hard time putting it on. When I woke up, I had another 15ml again. 15ml of blood every 12 hours. 

Should I recommend it? 

The pink one is the collapsible cup where I sanitize my menstrual cup. The white satin iLabia is a bag to keep your cups.

Personally yes I would like each and every women in the world to switch to menstrual cups to save our environment. Although I know that this may not be the case for some women who are afraid of blood or is afraid of putting something inside their body or even their private area. That was what I was also thinking when I heard about tampons before. I even heard some stories that some womenhave left their tampons inside of them and forgot to remove it for days. I don't know if that is true but it did sound scary to me. I haven't asked my ob-gyne yet about menstrual cups but like I have said that I wanted to use mentrual cups to save the environment and measure my flow since I am having problems with my monthly period. Oh by the way just an update, I was adviced to take the medicine regularly for another 6 months. I was frightened when my doctor said "for you to be cured". I don't know what she will do to me if after 6 months my period hasn't regulate yet. I really do hope that it is nothing serious and I pray that I would have regular monthly visits after. 

Now that I am just at home, it is very convenient for me whenever I would check and drain my cup. I have observed that I can have it on me for 12 hours. But for someone who needs to drain it every 6 hours and they would have to use a public restroom, I think it will be a little inconvenient especially you need to wash the cup in a sink. Yes you would flush the blood in the toilet but of course you have to clean it again before you put it inside of you. Or like what my friend has told me, you have to have an extra cup so that when you remove the first cup, you can insert the second cup right after. Another thing, if you aren't that experienced in putting it on, give yourself around 10 minutes inside the cubicle. It took me so long in putting it on and a few trips back to the bathroom because I haven't placed it right or I had to check it once again. I hope in the coming days and months, I'll be able to master it. 

Have you tried using menstrual cups? Do you have any tips for me with regards to putting it? If you haven't used a menstrual cup yet, would you want to give this a try? What's stopping you from doing it? If you ever decide to try it, always make sure to sanitize your cup, wash your hands before and after and you might want to cut your fingernails. My nails are currently not that long but I can already see the white part. In school it is already considered long but not for me. I didn't want to cut my nails as I wanted to paint my nails for my dad's birthday next month. Lastly, if you are having doubts about a product, trust your instinct. I know I didn't consult a doctor on this and just bought whatever is sold on an online selling platform. For added safety measures, please do consult an expert. When I first tried the cup, I immediately texted one of my closest friends who influenced me into using this. Her dad is an ob-gyne though I just didn't ask what brand her menstrual cup is. I even told her about the struggle that I had in putting it on but I think she hasn't seen my message yet or probably she's busy. But I hope she's ok and I know she'll reply back in the coming days. If not, I'll call her. Anyway, let me know about your menstrual cup story if you feel like sharing it to us. I would also like to apologize if you feel disgusted about my article. Sorry and thank you for taking time to read my menstrual cup experience. 

5
$ 9.77
$ 9.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Hmmnn, interesting sis pero parang kay sis Mhean, takot ako baka maiwan or something...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Ganyan din ako nung una. Ang funny talaga ng experiences with MC. Baka maiwan, baka sumobra yung pasok hanggang loob na hindi ko matanggal lalo hindi ko nafefeel na andon siya, baka spill yung blood pabalik sa loob kapag nakahiga at kung ano-ano pa. Takot at kaba nung unang beses. Nung mga sumunod hindi naman na. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah, di ko kaya mag-explore sa mga ganyan sis...takot aketch😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Yung sa tampon yun ang parang feeling ko mas nakakatakot kasi manipis siya alam ko eh. Sa nakikita ko sa Hollywood movies ha. Yung nilalagay sa ilong. 🤣 takot din ako nung una dito kaso gusto ko mameasure yung dami tsaka nung mga huli ko nung naging irreg ako feeling ko humihina kapag pads.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah, dyan ako di matapang sis...dun n lnv ako aa nakasanayan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhh, may ganyan pala? 😱 Di ba sya uncomfortable? Tamang tama meron oa naman ako ngayon, sakit lang ng puson ko 😣, skl.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Comfortable siya and hindi ko siya ramdam. 😊 kapag mali lang yung positioning niya doon iba talaga feeling. Ang hirap iexplain paano yung feeling. Hahaha. Basta kapag tama yung pag pasok mo, wala ka na maramdaman sa loob.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di ba parang may naka pasak na vibrator sa ano 😂, kahit pa maliit or ano parang ramdam pa din ata 😱. Pero parang ang ganda naman, ma etry kaya 🤔 kaso mahal pala 😱

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha. Feeling ko baka dahil silicone kaya hindi siya ramdam. Meron mga mas mura pa sa Shopee pero pinili ko na lang yung may pa bag at collapsible cup. Arte lang 😆 kapag matry mo sabihan mo ako.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, bibigat kaya un lalo ng pag ga gripo ang mens 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Tapos maglleak kasi umapaw na. 😆 sa akin naman hindi pa ako nakakapuno. Laging hanggang 15ml. Half nung cup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parang diko maimagine ahaha. Pero maganda nga yan kasi di ka ma gagastos sa Whisper diba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Di na magastos kay Whisper tapos wala pang tagos. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is a good alternAtive for disposables.. how much at san kaya makakabili nito..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello! Yes this is a great alternative for pads. I bought it in Shopee. Php350 + delivery fee. Nakalimutan ko sinong seller pero search mo na lang iLabia baka lumabas. Naguninstall kasi ako Shopee few days ago because of low memory space. Hindi ko pa mainstall ulit kahit madami na akong madelete na photo. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm aware pero di ko kaya pa..Im scared baka maiwan at di ko na maalis ahhahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Ganyan na ganyan din tumatakbo sa utak ko lalo na nung pumasok sa loob yung ring. Tapos iniisip ko na baka pumasok sa tiyan ko. Takot din ako nung una na tipong gusto ko na bumalik sa pads kaso sabi ko tuloy lang para may pang review article. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hajaha and mas healthy yan.. Kc my chemical p din and pads child nmn sya environmental friendly ung gawa. May pads n organic eh.. Kso napakamahal grabe. Ngtry ako sa Watson's dte

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May ibang pads kasi na feeling ko mas nagpapahina ng blood. Ewan ko kung sa akin lang pero yun kasi napapansin ko dati. Tapos grabe makairitate down there. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naalala ko lang..pero hindi ko pa natry. Pwede yung reusable pads. Nakakita ka na ba nun? Nakakita ako noon sa Instagram page ng Pasador ata. Itsurang napkin din pero di ko lang alam saan gawa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun ung gstp ko try tlga.pra maglalaba lang hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakakacurious yung ganun noh? As in tela lang ba siya? Sayang dati sa bazaar may nakitaan ako. Sana pala bumili ako isa. Hehe. Pero nung mga sinaunang panahon daw ganun talaga lumang tela daw tapos lalabhan. Matrabaho nga lang sa laba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi ko pa try 😹 'di ko nga alam na may ganyan palang gamit 🤷‍♀️🤦‍♀️didn't try to use tampons too 😭 (di ko talaga alam kung babae ba talaga ako🤦‍♀️)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Hindi rin naman ako nagtampons. Tsaka parang wala ata dito sa atin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago