Influential influencers

8 25
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

From the title itself, you probably have an idea on what I am about to talk about. This has been inspired by my previous articles, introduction to my skincare product review and the product review itself.

When I bought the Celeteque products, I was not influenced by anyone not even a commercial advertisement. It just so happens that I saw it on promo that made me buy it. But how influential are the influencers and product endorsers nowadays? Personally I believe that influencers have really a huge impact to the people especially now. We get inspired about their humble beginnings and success stories.

It was late 2019 when I got so hooked from watching the daily vlogs of some known Youtube influencers. I even watched their old vlogs from years ago. I cannot help but to admire them for being so confident while they are talking in front of a camera alone. What I really love about them is when they are promoting a product whether skincare, gadget or food recommendations.

Yes, I know that those videos were edited and some sponsored videos were scripted but we still enjoy watching them. That when they recommend something, we also would want to try it because they were really convincing. Move over home TV shopping and advertisements. LOL. Do you agree with me? Was there a product wherein you can say that a vlogger made you buy it? I looked over my past photos to check the product that I bought where I was "budol-ed" (another Filipino term for trick or influence) by a vlogger and I saw the Pantene hair products that I bought last month. LOL.

Forgot to upload. ✌

I saw a lot of advertisements of the said brand being endorsed by Filipino celebrities on TV numerous times but I can only count in my hand the number of times that I bought it. Actually I prefer Tresemme and Dove because it slightly helped with my damaged hair and Palmolive Naturals because of its smell. But when I watched 1 vlogger that I really admire, she claimed that the Pantene conditioner and treatment shot were really her magic potion to her hair especially after hitting the beach. I trusted her words that made me buy it and true enough, it really helped with my dry and damaged hair. Even my mom who had a very dry hair due to bleaching was surprised after first use.

With skincare products, whether it was a celebrity endorser or a Youtube influencer, I am still having doubts to try what they were endorsing. I know that vloggers really apply it on their face on video BUT how sure are we that they did not wipe it off their face after they have shoot the vlog? There was a time when I watched one vlogger and she was promoting new line of products sent to her by a skincare brand. Then the following day she have said a lot of good reviews about the product. I was like, "huuuh. You just tried it and you already loved it?" . Then after few weeks, the tub was already in half. But how sure are we that she really did use it? What if she just scooped it out to make it look like she used it? Am I already considered as judgemental for thinking about those stuffs? My bad, my bad. I am sorry but I just cannot help but to wonder.

But there were also some vloggers who really uses the products that they would even document what happened to their skin whether it went to a peeling stage or a growing pimple. Just like with my previous honest review. I showed what happened to my skin while I was using the product.

Then there were also some vloggers who would say, "oh this is my favorite brand (referring to a particular product)". Then a month or 2 months ago or after, she has a new favorite. Girl, you are confusing me. Yes, I know we can have a lot of favorites and that they needed to say it because they were paid to do so as it was sponsored. But which is which? I do not know if you also noticed it but there are some who would say that they have been using this product for so long but when they are promoting it, they would read the label. Why read the label if you have been using it for a long time? I mentioned earlier thar some of the videos mostly sponsored were scripted right? There were different vloggers who endorsed a particular product on their respective videos. They all said the same thing like they have memorized the definition of each ingredient of the product. Also there are some who look too stiff when they endorse a product. People look up to them that some would even buy almost all that they have promoted. Then with the vloggers that I have watched before, none of them went to a dermatologist to have a facial. Is going to facial salons should not be featured on their vlogs because of the products that they endorse? Or I just missed those videos?

Those were just my observations with some vloggers when they were promoting something. I would have to ask my cousin's ex with regards to skincare products since she has been a vlogger for almost a decade so that she can enlighten me about it. How often do you get influence by them? Honestly there are two skincare brands that I want to try because of the beautiful, smooth and clear skin of the influencers. LOL. But those brands are a little expensive and I am afraid that I just might waste my money if it would not work for me.

What have you noticed when they are promoting a product? Are you easily convinced that they really do use those products on a daily basis just because they show it on their videos? Let me hear your thoughts about it.

It's 1AM and I am way past my bedtime. My brother is still messaging me because we are thinking of what food to order when they would visit us this weekend. I am actually sleepy. He would say the name of the restaurant and I would be the one to search for the menu. He's the boss. LOL.

P.S. lead image is a screenshot from my Youtube channel. I know I am not an influencer but it is safer to use my channel. LOL.

4
$ 4.57
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Oo noh di tlga natin sure if ginagamit tlga nila yun products or they are paid to endorse it, charge to experience n lng din cguro yun mga products.. Basta yun mga less chemicals n lng piliin.. Its me Jaytee

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ba? Hindi talaga alam if ginagamit nila. Merong advertisement way back sa isang toner. Tapos yung cotton ball na pinahid sa cheeks, hindi basa. Hahaha. Tawa kami mga classmates ko noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I was bodul-ed too but the influencer is not a known actress or maybe I just don't know her. And I have been using Olay for a while before I saw her ad so I tried using the Olay product that she advertised, I didn't see any difference. 😁

I'll try your Pantene treatment and conditioner. Can you edit this and add picture of the Pantene product? 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sorry late reply Ate Judith. Already edited with the photo. Actually, I forgot to upload the photo. I just realized it after I have published that I was not able to edit it right away.

Thank you for mentioning Olay. 😊 I have also used that before when it was first advertised here. I believe it was 2006. Will try to include it in my new article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also use Celeteque toner and I think it's good. I don't actually rely on ads and video testimonials from influencers, I prefer firsthand experiences from friends lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My problem of using all the Celeteque products all at once, I do not know which was not suited for my skin. It's really hard to rely on the testimonials of the influencers. I usually rely on my cousin's wife as she is the one who also likes to try different products. So far, she is happy with a brand that I want to try. But I am still a little hesitant to try it because each product costs a lot. I would try it if they will have a trial pack.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. I can relate to all of your concerns but I rarely follow what brands they use

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Likewise. I rarely follow the brands that they use. But I really want to some of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago