How I help save Mother Earth (part 1)

22 47
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

What do you think of when you hear the words pollution, climate change, flood, wildfires and global warming?

When I was a kid, I remember there was a Filipino TV program show for kids that teaches its viewers on how we can recycle some things. I even did one but it did not look the way how it was on TV. LOL. Growing up, I was already aware that I should do my part to take care of our environment. In school we were also taught about the segregation of our trashes. Then we were also asked to pick up trash and help sweep our surroundings when we were in elementary.

Until now I can say that I still have that love and care for our environment. One of the habits that I carry up to this day is putting my candy wrappers or any thing that I would throw in my pocket if there are not any trash bins nearby. And here's the catch, usually those piece of trash stays on my pocket for months or even years. LOL. That only means that I do not empty my pockets when I arrive home and our helper does not empty my pockets as well when she does her laundry. LOL. It is not only my pockets that hold some trash because sometimes I also place those wrappers or even receipts inside my bag. That is why I feel like having a designer bag does not suit me. Little things like keeping those wrappers in our bags and pockets has a big positive effect on our environment. In your own little way, how do you care for our environment?

When I was working in one company, I implemented the segregation of trash. Sad to say but this practice is not implemented in all food service establishments especially in those restaurants that have little space. Honestly, I implemented the trash segregation not only because of my love and care for the environment but also because we can turn those trash into cash. We collected soda cans and bottles so we can exchange it for cash. Half of the cash that we got from those recyclables were used to buy some things needed for the store and the other half I divided it to us employees. I even brought that practice here in our house and we would sell it to some junk shops. I do not know what happens to the soda cans and bottles after being used but I am hoping that it did not end up in our oceans.

Reusable bags. I remember one of @ARTicLEE's article before when he mentioned about the eco bags being sold in Baguio market as those bags are flimsy. Actually, I was planning to buy a small and medium sized of those eco bags before so that I can use it as packaging for my business. Good thing I did not have money that time so I was not able to do buy it. I just need to think of another alternative and @Firenze suggested a canvas bag though I have not yet checked how much those bags are. I was eyeing the buri and abaca bags even before however, it was a little expensive and I would need to incease my price for my products if I were to have that packaging. Going back with the reusable bags, for years now we have been bringing those bags when going to the supermarket and malls. Even if we do not have anything to buy, we still have our reusable bags with us. If you also bring your reusable bags with you, give yourself a pat on the back. Good job, fellow environmentalist.

Use bags that can handle heavy items and can last for a long time.

However, even if I have my reusable bags with me, most of the items that I bought were packed in plastic packaging. Are plastics unavoidable? Are you willing not to buy that pack of chips or those chocolate bars? How about those loaves of bread or that pack of your favorite coffee? I am guilty of buying those items and some of it even in sachets. More sachets, more trash. I did the eco brick before wherein you are to fill a 2L of soda bottle with cut up pieces of plastic packaging. We were able to make ten 2L bottles of eco bricks and we were able to reduced our waste. However, I have realized that yes it can be use as bricks in building walls for buildings or garden spaces but what if you needed to demolish those walls? Will those eco bricks be still intact like no damage at all? It would still turn into trash if it were to get damage. Can you get what I mean? That is just what I think about those eco bricks that is why I stopped making it. I might do it again if I would be able to find out that those cut up pieces of plastic packaging would not turn into more trash in the future.

I have decided to publish this article on how I help save our Mother Earth in my own little way after I saw someone in news last night where she said that she wants to recycle used face masks and stuff it inside a plastic bottle to make eco bricks and my eyes went big and I was like "WHAAAAAT?" Seriously?". Imagine if those plastic bottles of softdrinks made of face masks would break. The risks and dangers of putting those used face masks on each plastic bottle. Ugh! I cannot!

Coincidentally when I was drafting this late last night, there was also a news about global warming. Though I was not able to publish it as I have a lot of things to say. I believe that if we can only let people see that we are doing the right thing, they might also do the same.

Luckily I was holding my phone so I was able to take a photo of the late night news.

I think I have written long enough and I will continue this on my next article.

P.S. if you are a GCash user, you would know my lead image. For those who are not aware, it was a screenshot from the GForest, a feature in GCash, Philippine mobile wallet, where we get to grow and plant real trees.

7
$ 5.03
$ 4.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, all my life I was an environmentalist, today I have the title of MSc Environmental Management, my contribution to the environment would have been the same without the title, I mean I have not applied my knowledge as I would like.

Whenever I hear those environmentalist campaigns they are summarized in visits to the beaches to pick up garbage and generally they are done when they are in search of electoral votes, or planting trees to be in a photo and never watered again.

A few years ago my wife made a cloth bag to go to the market, I use a backpack, but unfortunately we can not get rid of plastic bags, there are thousands of them everywhere, but at home we recycle all plastics, until their final deterioration, we use them in different ways, we reuse them to store jams, sauces ..., with the bags we make germs, we use them in different ways. ..., with the bags we make germinators for the plants, we use them as pots and to eliminate them we cut them very small, we do not have the culture of selling because there are no buyers of plastics, so everything goes to the dump.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is the sad thing with people who are pretending like they care for our environment but in reality some of them are just doing it for publicity. But I am happy that there are people that I know who are really doing their part in saving Mother Earth. They would clean up the beach or a part of the mountain everyday or every week. Some of them are also here on read.cash.

We also reuse plastic from online shopping as well as those bubble wraps. I know there are a lot of people who pops each bubble wrap and I did it too before. But when I realized that it loses its effect when each bubble has been popped, I stopped popping it. Now, we keep those bubble wraps that we get from online shopping and my mom would place each bubble wraps in some of our fragile items like our plates that is inside the cabinet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have an unfinished article about this which might compliment this article. I hope i can finish it this week.

I will also look into one of the studies of our students on using plastics as aggregates for bricks.

We must do our part.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I saw that on TV also. They made use of cut up plastic as aggregates for bricks. Mas prefer ko yun than eco bricks. Kaso yung nakitaan ko sa Basilan medjo malalaki pa yung cut sa plastic. Na kung mabasag yung brick, kalat pa din yung plastic.

Baka after a month ko oa mabasa yang article mo Kuya ArtBytes. Hehe. Nasa malayo pa ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ok lang. Take your time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

putting my candy wrappers or any thing that I would throw in my pocket if there are not any trash bins nearby

This one stuck with me until this day. I wonder if they still teach this in school. Discipline is such a big problem.

Addressing the packaging of food still takes a long time to come up with something that can work like plastic but biodegradable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think natuturo pa rin naman sa school kaso hindi na talaga naaapply. Naalala ko may nakita akong post sa Facebook noon na foreigner nagpulot ng mga wrappers sa BGC ata yun. Not sure. Pero ayun dami nga wrappers and even cigarette butts. Naalala ko din yung video mo na nagpupulot ka mga trash.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tinamad na nga ako e hehe. Hopefully magawa ko ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we were already informed when we were younger, our schools had trained us to be caring to the environment, sad to say, most of us had forgotten them but its not too late.. I have heard of ecobricks, my friend continues to make those but yes, your question is very valid.. what happens to them after?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Therapeutic yung pag gupit ko before ng mga wrappers for eco bricks. Kaso nung napaisip ako na baka maging kalat lang din in the end nagstop ako. May nakita ako noon sa SM na mga bags and purses na made from foil packs. Yun ang gaganda. Kaya dapat masupport yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga noh? what if masira ung bahay na gawa sa ecobricks... same pa din result

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I have contributed in saving mother earth is to do some recycling. We are already using eco bags too but yes you are right, we can not still avoid using plastic bags when it is mainly use in public markets for packing fish and meat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ba? Ipplastic at ipplastic pa din ang mga wet items. Sa grocery nagdala ako containers noon pero binalutan pa din ng cling wrap sa grocery. Nawindang talaga ako. Kasi yung 1kg ng pork, hindi kasya sa isang container so dalawa. Tapos ang ginawa, binalot cling wrap yung dalawang container. Ay grabe talaga nadurog ako nung inabot sa akin yung mga meat na mga nakacling wrap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though there are garbage bins a little ahead or behind, there are still those who consciously put plastic bottle-style products, which will take hundreds of years to be lost in nature, into the heart of nature, I paint them as I see them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's a tourist garden that I went to where they painted the plastic bottles and turned it into a tulip. It was good but it got me thinking that what if the place gets flooded, those bottles may still end up in the ocean. I really hope that there would be another alternative for those plastic packaging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice. It's good to take good care of nature. I make use of waste baskets too and if they aren't available I'll just stuff it in my purse.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good job, QueenRay. Keep it up. I hope all of us will know how important our environment is to all of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really have to care for our planet because it is our home. It's destruction is ours as well. Nakaka inspire ka naman sa pag love mos nature.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"It's destruction is ours as well." — very well said. Kaso nakakalungkot at meron pa din talagang mga tao na hindi pa naiisip at nararamdaman ang effect ng pagkasira ng kalikasan sa atin. Hala. Tagalog na Tagalog ako. Hahaha. Pang buwan ng wika.

Like sa groceries. Before nagdala ako mga microwaveable containers for the meat. Then syempre madami binili ko. Nagulat ako nung binigay na sa akin yung mga containers ay mga nakacling wrap. Nadurog ako nun. Naiintindihan ko na ginawa lang para madistunguish which is which kaso kaya nga ako nagdala containers para iwas plastic kaso may plastic pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I admire your love for nature and the earth as a whole. I hope there will be more people who will care for our planet as much as you do.

By the way, my mom uses tote bag when she will go get groceries.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am happy to hear that your mom also brings tote bags when going to the supermarket. I think we just need to inform more people about the importance of the environment to us and for future generations. Just like with the late Gina Lopez's advocacy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I think people already knew that. What they need is to be reminded and take heart the learnings and knowledge that they acquire. Only then, that they can really save and do something for the environment

$ 0.00
2 years ago