Friends (part 1)

3 41
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Because of @Firenze's Just random thoughts article that I have read yesterday morning which has something to do about friends or friendship, I thought of making an article out of it. Ruffa also published about it later that afternoon. 

While I was reading Firenze's article, I thought of the quote "Once you feel avoided by someone, never disturb them again". I don't know who said it but I love that quote because of my last flirtationship. I would only send a message once and if I don't get a reply from him, I wouldn't text him or ask him why he isn't answering me. I wouldn't bombard him with a lot of text messages because I know that he is just busy so he couldn't reply. That has been my principle since then not just with him but with other people. 

I have already mentioned that this pandemic had affected me socially because it hinders me from seeing my friends and relatives. During the start of the pandemic, we communicate through texts or other messaging apps almost everyday until it gradually became once a week to once a month and on special occasions.  What do you think is next? No more communication? Well I hope it wouldn't come to that point. Whenever I would text my friends, either they will respond right away or a day after or a week or a month after. It was just a random "how are you?" and it is not that important. I know they can't respond right away because they are working from home and at the same time they are also taking care of their family and some household chores. I know they are busy and I understand it. Like I have said earlier that I am not the type of person who will pester you. Though if it is really important, that is the time where I would call you if I didn't get a reply right away. 

I know that this pandemic has affected not just me but a lot of us. But it has also taught me to not burden other people with my own problems because they may also be having their own battle as well. I am the type of person who is very vocal and open to my friends. I tell them everything that is going on with me and my family. Well not totally to all of them but to a few chosen people. It is not that I want to keep something from them but there are some instances that I can't tell it to them right away what I am going through and that I will only tell them when it is already over. 

I do have a lot of friends. I have my high school and college friends and friends from work. Out of the 5 companies that I have worked with, I can say I am still in contact with them and we still get to hang out. Though I tend to give more time to my high school friends since most of my college friends are working abroad. We do update each and everyone's whatabouts from time to time and meet when one of them is visiting the Philippines but if regular meet ups, I say it is my high school friends.

I don't know why I didn't have any friends from grade school aside from my friend who I went with from grade school to college. Let's call her A. Our friendship started when my mom was late in fetching me in school. I was playing with my other classmates and I happen to saw A's ID with her address that I think was just near our place. When her mom came, I asked A if I can go with her because I don't want to be left alone in the school especially because of the ghost stories that I have heard from my fellow students. My plan was I will call our house if I am already at A's house. When I rode their car, I didn't know that few seconds later that my mom and my brother had already arrived at our school. Good thing the security guard knows most of the students so she said that I hitched with A and told my mom to follow the white car that just left. When we arrived at A's house, after a few minutes, my mom and my brother was already there to pick me up. My mom and A's mom talked about us that it was a good thing that she was able to follow their car. A's house was only 10 minutes away from our house. I wasn't even thinking when I hitched with A. What if our school guard didn't saw me riding in A's car? For sure my mom would be really worried as to where I am and I wouldn't know what time they will be home. During that time, landline phones are the only means of communication. 

When my mom and A's mom were talking, they found out the my mom and A's dad had the same hometown and even knew a relative of A. Small world right? That started the friendship of my mom and A's mom and the same goes for us. I know every Friday, I would go home with A and my mom will pick me up at their house with my brother and the 3 of us would have dinnet at their place. LOL. I cannot rememeber how many times we have eaten at their house and sometimes we would leave their house past 10PM. I cannot remember what grade we were that time but even if my mom and A's mom became close, we weren't that close when we were in school. She had her own group of friends and I would have different friends each year unlike in high school that no matter what section we were, we would still have recess and lunch together. 

Looking back, I can only think of a few people whom I have been closed to when I was in grade school. During my 7th birthday party, my mom invited some of my classmates but I know none of them were my friends. LOL. I don't even know how I have survived those years of having different group of friends every year. 

11
$ 10.07
$ 9.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @Pisces-jr15
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

I am glad that you remember someone in your elementary days. I have a few friends in Elementary that until now, we are still communicating. I am blessed to have them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good for you. Sad to say but my elementary classmates are just plain acquaintances to me. They added me on Facebook but that's just it. It is not only A that is my friend from elementary as I have 4 other high school friends that went to the same elementary school with me. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh i see. but it's ok at least still you are acquaintances.

$ 0.00
3 years ago