Being prepared

5 78
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago

Some of our older generations do not like it whenever we would talk about death. They feel like there is something bad that is going to happen if we are to talk about it. Days before our family gathering, I was thinking about the memorial lot that my dad got for his late parents. I know that it can occupy 10 bodies and there are now 3 remains in there. My late grandparents and my late uncle. Of course I cannot help but to include myself in the memorial lot. It is not that I am already accepting the fact that I will die single but it is better that my family and relatives would know that I voluntary took 1 slot. LOL.

When our relatives came, I was surprised that my cousin brought it up. She told us that she was asking her mom where she wants to lie if ever that day comes. My dad did not actually like the topic but my cousin said that it is inevitable and nowadays it is normal to talk about it so that the family who will be left behind will be able to prepare for it before hand. Do you also agree with what my cousin said? When my cousin's dad passed away a few years ago, they were not prepared. Good thing that the memorial lot that my dad got for his late parents were good for 10 bodies. If I remember it correctly, I think during the time that my dad bought it way back late 80s, the lot costs around Php3,000 (about $60). We do not know how much it is now but we are guessing that it would be around a hundred thousand or probably a lot more. So the only thing that my cousin's family arranged was to where the wake would take place and then it was my dad who arranged when the burial would be at the cemetery.

Now, my cousin is asking her mom if she will need to buy a memorial lot in her mom's hometown then pullout her dad's remains and transfer it there or she will be joining her husband to where he is now. My aunt only said that of course she would want to where her husband is but it was still unclear if it will be in a new memorial lot in her hometown or to where her husband lies now. Then I told them that my other aunt who is my dad's sister-in-law in Zamboanga City already got a memorial lot for herself there and she was asking her husband where he wants to be buried if it will be here in Quezon City together with his late parents or in Zamboanga together with her. I do not know what my uncle answered to her back then but my aunt was firm that her body will be in Zamboanga. Pretty much sure that my uncle would want to also be where her wife's body is right? Who would want to be separated from their spouses when they die right? If my uncle will choose to be with his wife, then meaning to say, there is really going to be a slot for me. LOL.

I told you that we did talked about a lot of stuffs during our family gathering turned into family meeting. How about you? How prepared are you for that d-day? Have you also thought about it or are you one of those who is not comfortable talking about that day? I know I have aleady published an article about d-day long time ago and I have shared how I want my d-day to be. However, I am not yet financially prepared for it. Mentally, spiritually and emotionally I am since death is inevitable. Our life is just borrowed and we are all going to face our Creator. It is only up to us if we can join Him or not but I do hope that we would all end up in heaven.

I was just glad to know that my cousin and I were both thinking the same way when it comes to death. I think before I will focus on my own d-day, I have to be financially ready for my parents. I do not know how much it costs even a rough estimate for a casket and for a funeral but I know that we will be needing a lot of money. My cousin said that she needed to plan first for her mom for her to be prepared when that day comes.  I guess she would need to discuss it also together with her sister. For me, I am ok if my aunt will choose to be with my late uncle to where he lies right now. At least it will be easier for me to visit them since it is only nearby. I even told my cousin that it would have been better if we can buy the other lot on top of what we have so it will all be exclusive for us. As if I have a money to suggest that to my cousin. LOL.

Other than our health, death is something that we should also prioritize for our future. At least we would have funds in case something happens to us. Our family who we will be leaving behind will not worry where to get money or if we are going to get buried or cremated. I said before that I was still unsure if I want to be cremated or buried but I think it will be the latter because I would not have to think of looking for a columbary to place my urn. At least I already know where my remains will be if that time comes. Death is inevitable. We better be prepared for that day right whether we like it or not right?

June 03, 2022

P.S. lead image is a photo of the church I last went to early this year. I do not have a photo of the cemetery on my phone. It was 3 years ago when we last visit our late relatives.

8
$ 1.15
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jher0122
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago

Comments

Tama, dapat din po itong paghandaan, kase mahihirapan ang mga maiiwan, esp. sa financial, as to what you have said, it is inevitable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My other grandmother, yung bunso nila lolo ko eh may nakalaan ng lot para sa kaniya if ever po na mawala na siya.. I think fully paid na niya and I liked the idea din po kasi para di masiyado magproblema family ko soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama nmn to ate ung dad ko nga nag huhulog na din sya sa st Peter's nya para if ever nga daw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Emergency fund so whatever happen we have something to use or family use

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True Naman Yung ganyang sis, need din dapat paghandaan yan, mama ko may ganyan if in case di daw kami mahirapan, she's just being practical.

$ 0.00
1 year ago