"True Colors" by MYMP

25 143
Avatar for avie018
3 years ago

Sometimes when we are with someone, we intend to know them inside out (figuratively, but sometimes even for the longest time together, we can never know oneself until you starts to accept every little thing you can imagine, best or worst of them. Every time we meet someone, we asked ourselves, "What is he/she thinks of me?","What is he/she wants?", "Can we get along?" even you feel uncomfortable with them. You still want to know everything. Especially with someone you admire the most. Knowing you can be with them or not. Or have a small talk, befriended, ask opinions, or just let them acknowledge you.

I choose "True Colors" by MYMP for its meaning. I heard this song when I was in high school and fell in love with it.

The lyrics are:

You with the sad eyes

Don't be discouraged, oh I realized

It's hard to take courage

In a world full of people

You can lose sight of it all

The darkness inside you

Can make you feel so mall

The first time I heard this I realized that's me, in my younger years. I'm a shy girl. Always at my sister/father's side just listening. Listening to every talks, laughter, sorrow, and sometimes envies that I can't express my self well. "The darkness inside you can make you feel so small"

Chorus:

But I see your true colors

shining through

And I see your true colors

and that's why I love you

So don't be afraid

to let them show

Your true colors, true colors

Are beautiful like a rainbow

Yes, I see my own True Colors. I am the only one who can see it (So as you. I embrace it. And I see a gorgeous character. (not bragging. I have flaws too, of course, I'm no God, Saint or an Angel but I can confidently say they can smile if they hear my name.

Show me a smile then

Don't be unhappy

Can't remember when

I last saw you laughing

If this world makes you crazy

And you've taken all you can bear

Just call me up

'Cause you know I'll be there

The time I embrace my character and whoever I am. I can smile again. I can easily tell people what I want. I can see further myself to future me. Even there are times of trouble, bumps here and there. I can say, You got this. Call your friends, talk to your family, meet new people especially God is with us. Though everyone could not tend, someone can listen.

Here's my entry for @Jdine Search for Singing Author Finals!

Thank you for taking the time to read and listen to my entry! Hope you like it!

The voting will be announced by Jdine after this week.

I would like to thank the judges too. Who is willing to give some of their glorious time for this contest and assessed us and have a fair result.

@wakeupkitty

@heartbeat1515

of course for this event host that will be one of the judges too:

@Jdine

Thank you guys for letting our talents be seen and heard at the same time with this contest.

Btw, the lead image is Me🀫. I believe I was just 3-4 years old at that time? Cant exactly remember..

31
$ 1.27
$ 1.00 from @Jdine
$ 0.25 from @cryptopanda15
$ 0.02 from @Jane
Sponsors of avie018
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for avie018
3 years ago

Comments

Galing mo magcompile ng articles sissy.. Margaux here😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe.. Salamat po! Inpired lang yata!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galing mo magcompile ng articles sissy.. Margaux here😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like how you give meaning to this song. You may not be the powerful singer, but you're message is great. Goodluck to you. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I didn't know the MYMP version, only Cindy Lauper. Beautiful lyrics. https://youtu.be/LPn0KFlbqX8

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True! Thank you too! MYMP (Make Your Mama Proud. is a Filipino band. The vocalist who covers it left the band and did solo though and it saddens me.. But still a fan, since senior years.

Thank you for liking my version. Haha

https://youtu.be/SyAEcbGgklU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like how you come up with your writing. It's nice that you used the lyrics and explained your thoughts with it. Your voice isn't bad too. you have a soft voice. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hehe. Thank you very much! I got so nervous when the judgment change, with wakeupkitty, I dont know if I have any chance for this.. but I hope I managed a little.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did okay naman. πŸ’œ let's wait for the voters hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have so many potentials in you and I believe that you will win. Good luck to you πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with @wakeupkitty with the text you are writing. Have you seen the movie troll? This is one of their theme song. My favourite version of this song.

https://youtu.be/vR2qjrgbP1w

I will also be waiting for the answer about how to give points.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea! I saw it and love that version too but my original favourite is MYMP's, that's why.

Good luck with the judgements! I know this will be quite hard cause everyone is good.

Thank you so much for your time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the super text you wrote. You made a perfect mix and link between the story and lyrics. I listened to you twice and will leave now with the link of your post to visit you later again if I know more about how to give the points. Good luck dear you have my big πŸ‘πŸ€πŸ’•

True colors: the aura

$ 0.00
3 years ago

(edited)

We wait till all entries are submitted till Friday. And I will post an article where you can put your judging scores based on criteria...

writing and singing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The combination of both points should be equal to 100 or can it be more or less?

For example, the text is good so I want to give 70 and the singing is not bad but does not meet my judgement so I want to give 20 so it will be equal to 90. Or I think the singing is not bad so I want to give 50 then it will be equal to 120.

Have you read my comment in your announcement post. I just want to make sure, I understand perfectly to be fair to the contestant.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

combination of both criteria should be equal to 100%

it should be for example: 60% writing , 40 % singing or 70% writing, 30% singing.. not over than 100% 😊

Oh I think I missed your comment... I'm sorry...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is not equal. A great writer and singer can get a max score of 50-50

A lousy singer and writer...equal lousy what does he get? 50-50 as well?

How will you know which one of these two was the best?

And what about someone who sings way better than he writes but is not a great singer? That person gets 70-30 and you believe this singer is better than the first one?

Isn't it easier to give point 1-10 for writing and singing? Next you count the points. Same what you do with the upvotes, which doesn't make sense to me. Not the best one will win but the one with most followers. The comments given are not even based on the skills of the participants. They deserve better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just give each finalist scores in their writing and singing that totals to 100 for each finalist.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

no it's not like that... kindly erase 50/50 it was a mistake. haha..

what I meant was the total judging score of one contestant should not exceed to 100%... for example 60writing 40sinsing or 30writing 70singing... Both totals 100%...

how many percentage you think should be given to voting and judging then? cause originally, 25% for judges scores and 75% for voting scores. should it be 50% for judges score and 50%voting for their final score?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is exactly the problem. You can not give a max of 100 % divided over text and singing.

I could but in the end people will compare all those end results and say (you included): Hey A is the best singer because A has 80 for singing and the rest only 50.

But the 80 for singing is only given because the singing was way better than writing.

I suggest we can say: Singing: 8 Writing: 7

or

Singing: 6 Writing: 9

That would make sense. This way you can see who sang best of all. We not only look at their qualities but compare them with the rest too. That is what a contest is about. Of those who join we say which one is the best. It's not if we like or dislike the song, the choice of the song, the music or topic of the text but if they followed the rules, what both skills are compared to the others.

@Heartbeat1515 what do you think?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay I get it... alright.. 100 is max per each criteria.. 😊 then how many percentage would our scores be and voting? currently, judges (all 3 combined) have 25% in overall score. voting is 75%.. Should I make it 50/50 for judging and voting?

what do you think...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will be waiting for your reply there with a reply to @wakeupkitty questions too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow. I'm so glad you like it. Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always writing good articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love that band, the genre is so cool!

$ 0.00
3 years ago