Poor sign language skills

15 68
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

There are quite enough articles on language as a medium of communication, the beauty of languages and a lot more. But I am coming from the angle that our ability to understand each language can cause a crisis nothing can settle. Language is so essential, I can’t just imagine the crisis we would have been through in the world without languages as a medium of communication. During colonization the first thing the colonist thus is introducing their language, through the medium we have known as education.

Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty

Language cut across so many mediums by which we communicate, not just by speaking.  It could be through a sign, artwork, body language, love language or language by action. Africa’s mothers are very good at speaking through their actions mostly when there is a visitor in the house, once your mother looks at you, you be able to figure out what she meant.

I had two an experience when I was much younger with what is known as sign language. This I will advise everyone to go find a way of learning, in order to have a smooth communication with the deaf and dumb also. My first experience with sign language was an unforgettable one. It was on a Sunday evening my mummy sent two of my siblings sugar, it took them long before they return, so she asked me to go check them.

On getting outside the compound I saw them coming already from afar, I began to signal to them, so they could walk faster. Unknown to me there mad woman sitting not far from me, I suddenly, saw her stand and say come here are you talking to me. That was the day I ran faster than the Olympiad, she took after me and was chasing me. I opened our compound gate bang it back and ran into our living, my mum asked me what happened I was calling weere weere meaning mad person, mad person.

My second experience was out of ignorance of communication skills with the deaf and dumb. He was a very young and friendly boy, but sometimes does things with aggression. On my first day of meeting him without knowing his predicament, I was trying to communicate with him in various languages. But all effort seems abortive, after which he made me know that he can’t speak or hear either. I was so touched and felt compassion for him after which we depart.

Later that very day I told a friend of my experience with the boy. He then told me it’s a lie that he is only pretending, and then advises me to confirm myself. How do I confirm that I should stay in a distance away from him then cut a leaf, place it in my mouth, if he is deaf I will know by his action? I was so foolish not to have asked an elder about it.

The next day I saw the boy, I did as my friend said, immediately the boy countenance change and the next was to pick up stones and throw at me with much aggression. I took to my heel, and he kept chasing me as if it will end there. From that very day onward anywhere the boy sees me its troubles. I tried communicating with him just to apologize and let him know how sorry am I. But I can’t communicate with sign languages, this was painful to me.

Not understanding each other languages can lead to great misunderstanding and disagreement.

 

This is order by @JonicaBradley titled "LANGUAGE".

Click to read her article

The rules are knowing simple.

·        Write anything about language

·        Write 100% original content

·        languages least 600 words so Rusty will reward you

·        Submit to the PromptlyJonica community (plain us if you haven't already)

·        Tag me @JonicaBradley and @TengoLoTodo

Thanks for taking your time to read my blog today, you are the best and I love you so much.

 

 

17
$ 7.68
$ 7.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @soyunasantacruz
+ 9
Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

Comments

They say that if you had a problem try to talk or communicate with that person, so if it has a language barrier it conflicts with both of you. Whatever humans used if it's sign language or other foreign language If you don't understand it can be solved the problem. That is why communication is the most and powerful tool to reach other people. That's the reason why I've been trying to communicate and write an English comment here even I don't know if my grammar was correct.😁 I'll try to communicate.❤.

By the wa,y I am new here if you have time, please visit my blog I appreciatete if you do that for me Thank you in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Communication is definitely very important, if there are misunderstandings speaking the same language with people you know, imagine not doing it.

You have highlighted very well the importance of good communication and language.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. I don't know sign language and you are right we must try to learn the basics so we can communicate with whom is a challenge in communication. Language really matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really had much experience ooo. And thank God you were not hurt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do not know sign language. When I communicate with people with these impairments I try to speak slowly and have them look at my lips. If they don't read my lips I will be lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so challenged I had to forcefully go and learn sign language.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Language truly matters, I always remember those days when I am still small. My mom and dad always have a way to communicate with us in front of vsitors, they still do that till today. If I fail to understand the sign, haa they beat the hell out of my life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sign language, maybe you can search from google the sign language for "I am sorry" so that the next time you meet the boy again, you can say this to him thru sign language

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without A common language the world would be in chaos. A very good instance is given in the bible where so many people scattered because God made them to start speaking in different languages

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Language is a powerful weapon, language doesn't necessarily mean our talks, it might be our actions, so we should try to understand people's languages

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still can't understand the insult putting leaves in your mouth and it makes the deaf mad at you. I need to understand that stuff and why they are so aggressive. Language is really important and if we can't communicate with the language other person can understand, it would be difficult to relate with each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still don't know myself I wish someone can tell us, but it seems like and abuse

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So hilarious. 😆🤣😂😹😆🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigerians are fond of calling each other werey The thing sweet sha🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you read the article at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago