Culture: ancestor visit (Egungun)

Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

There is an instinct fear in everyone that once you see a masquerade your heart beats rapidly. My own experience was so funny whenever I remembered it I just can’t help myself laughing. I went to one of the popular market in my area with my mum and my sister back then. My mum was backing my sister and was holding my hand. Suddenly I saw some grown up men coming in front of us, they were all hold Cain. That didn’t move me because our school teachers use Cain in school. But all of a sudden I saw someone on colourful clothes in there mist holdings Cain also, with his face covered.

The next thing I saw was peoplele running away from them mostly men, I have withdrawn my hand from my mum and pick race as if it was me they were coming for. My mum started chasing me in other to hold me, so I won’t get myself injured. I finally managed to hid under a woman table use in selling her goods, my mum took me from there and warn me never to do such again, because I could get hurt. Don’t mind me I was just 5yrs of age then. My next experience I was a bit grown up 10yrs plus when I witness another form of masquerade from another tribe this really scared me so much that I took to my heel, the masquerade was holding a blunt cutlass and not Cain this time.

Why you have to run a time when you see them coming towards you is because most of the people wearing the masquerade are under the influences of alcohol.

Now a little description of masquerade, we call it Egungun this is so popular in our land and add a lot of cultural values to our ways of life. It is of the belief that when egungun comes out, it's our ancestors that visit and what we can use to entertain them is money. This is mostly common among the following ethnic groups Yoruba and Igbos, have never come across a masquerade from the Hausa’s or Fulani. They Don’t just come out for no reason, they only come out whenever there is

· Egungun festival

· Ritual purpose and cleansing of the land

· Coronation

There are Egungun in various form and purpose at hand,

ü  The once that entertain by dancing

ü  The once that blesses everyone mostly women that are barren

ü  The once that are use for cleansing the land, women and strangers are forbidden from seeing such Egungun

ü  The once that players with children

And so many other forms of Egungun. They will come out according to the event, or happening within their neighbourhood. The fun of it is when various form of Egungun gathered to display there power, dance and entertain their spectators. Some disappear to the top of the roof, some dances various dance, some also sings. Egungun dress in beautiful and attractive clothes. The last European Champions League final was colourful as some people when to sew masquerade clothes with Chelsea flags,

singing and dancing all around the neighbourhood. Whenever you’re privileged to visit Yoruba around April or November of every year, try and look out a masquerade festival and see for yourself how colourful it is.

14
$ 0.57
$ 0.06 from @Cineholic
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 12
Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Even if I know that they are just people wearing those, I am still scared of the thought. Thanks for sharing this culture as well as its purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been afraid of masquerade is not part of me but many people are fund of running away anytime they see it. Heheheh..... You made me laugh. I'm just here trying to imagine the way you tan away from the masquerade...

Anyways, in my area, once it is coming out, they always come out in Mass showing that either it is festival period of one of their members died. So, its purpose can be of different forms.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes that is another reason why they do come out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even at this age, I get scared from time to time when seeing scary masks :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah.. these are colourful looks like fancy dress competition 😍👌😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That looks and sounds likes interesting masquerade. I also like how colorful it is. Kids are easily fooled so I don't blame you for running away when you saw them :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for your contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very nice to learn about the culture of other countries through the writer's own experience. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've only experienced a huge number of them come after me once in the village. Unknowing to me they where humans beneath those clothing. Nigeria festivals are always intriguing to watch good writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I once say one at yaba but i was in a bad mood. I shouted at it when it came near to be and he got scared. On a normal day i would have run away from him. Till today i still wonder where the confidence came from

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. It's funny. Instead of staying safe in your mum's embrace, you rather ran away. Egungun festival is always loud. Nice write-up sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I experience this so much while growing up in my village. It was common to see masquerade back then. And you know what, as a kid I never thought it was a person who wears the masquerade.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, boss your comments encourage me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last I saw that I ran like a kid to hide I am usually Afraid of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago