What happens next?

21 62

Just as fast as we got together, the fragile ground we stood on shattered. Promises shared remained in memories, and memories made faded away in history.

You might think me mad for even writing more about a story long over, a chapter long bygone. But this is not about us. It has not been about us for years.

This is about me, and what happened after the fateful night you decided to leave the little stage I set up for us. When you decided to act as a knight to a girl who acts helpless just to get anyone's attention.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my wonderful sponsors

The chapter where we played the parts as lovers are long over and yet the scars from that year-long stay in hell still hurt most nights.

It is unfair

When I thought I finally left the hell I had gotten caught up in, I found myself in another endless loop of pain. Another maze I could not find the exit of.

I once thought that getting out of a toxic relationship was the hardest part but I realized that what happens after the end is more difficult.

I had to face the demons that resurfaced, and the new ones that found its way to sink their claws in me.

I had to smile and to bear the pain alone. For it would be weird if I cry about losing someone I had never loved.

The pain I endured left me dealing with phantoms everywhere.

I thought in losing you, I would manage to find myself again but I ended more lost than ever.

I found myself in their arms

The one thing that the pandemic did for me was to stop me from becoming someone I did not want to be.

Because of the continuous lockdown, meeting up with strangers were out of the window. Which helped in helping me ensure that I do not do things that will leave me more scars.

Still, I found myself caught up talking to multiple people. Flirting with them all night long just to chase the nightmares away. The sunrise is the time for sleep back then.

People behind the screen mean next to nothing for me, then. Just another batch of people I will ghost. A game that should have never existed and yet I played it all the same.

I found myself drunk on the routine I have. Find 5-20 guys to talk to for a week. Ghost them. Rinse and repeat.

The process of this so gratifying for the lost soul in me. I thought by doing this I am regaining the control I lost when you forced yourself in me.

But all I was doing was running away

All it was just a distraction from the emptiness I felt. Not for you. Never for you and your manipulations. Never for that relationship that started out of me pitying you.

But emptiness because I had forgotten who I am. In the span of 12 months where I play the part of a loving girlfriend, I had forgotten who I truly am.

I had forgotten what I truly love. The ideas of what relationship is to me becomes nothimg but a memories of a distant past.

I cannot remember the wishful thinking I had about first dates and ideal man.

What was left were the toxic comparison of what we had to what I can have.

I found myself but I need more time

In the months that followed, I managed to find pieces of my again. Until I can look at myself and recognize who I am.

I am contented with who I am but I know that I still need to have more time for myself. Because I want to have a healthy relationship after all the toxicity I had endured. But I know I can overcome it all with enough time.

I met him and I felt inadequate

In the days that followed a messy breakup over chat, I told the wind that I will never write anything about someone else again.

A few hundred poems and artworks down the drain made me say that.

But then, a night arrived different than other nights.

I saw him briefly and only talked for a while. Yet my mind and hands felt more alive than they had been. I grabbed my phone and the words wrote themselves.

Reading the poem, I felt scared. Seeing it makes the meeting real, and I do not know if I can handle giving myself a chance again.

The healthy relationship after the toxic one is hard

It triggers my fight and flight responses. I do not know how to act when I am dealing with someone who truly have an idea about healthy boundaries.

While it is still too early to claim that anything is serious, a part of me is still telling me to run. Because this is so different from the toxicity I am used to. But it is too late to pretend that I do not want this.

In the past, I could not play games because some guy wanted all attention.

But now, I can have a few hours to myself without feeling the need to explain why.

Still, it is hard when he does it because the toxicity I was used to is demanding me to know more, to ask for more.

I do not want to just wait for him to come back. I felt like I needed to have his attention all the time because that was how it was back then.

If I couldn't give my attention then that means more mind games.

However, that is not the case anymore. Still, I need to fight myself.

Logically, I know what should happen in a healthy relationship. But the only ground of comparison I have is the toxic one from before.

Just because I know it logically does not stop me sometimes from overthinking and taking everything personally.

I know that we needed some time for ourselves. I need it a lot as well.

But I have to fight myself from feeling abandoned when he needed time for himself. I have to fight my urge to overthink.

The chapter where I endured a relationship I did not want is finally over. But somehow, I did not expect a healthy one to be more challenging. I did not know that it will make me feel this uncomfortable.

Closing words

By the way, when I use the word relationship I do not only mean a romantic one where one is considered as boyfriend and girlfriend. I am referring to some mutual agreement between two parties about what they are to each other be it as boyfriend and girlfriend, friends, or anything they agreed on.

If you noticed, I got distracted when writing this article so I lost the flow of words. Hopefully I still managed to get my point across despite the difference in flow.

The whole point of this article is that it is hard learning how to have a healthy relationship with someone instead of falling back into the toxic pattern I am used to.

I am just lucky to have someone so understanding with me. Someone who is willing to work through our issues by ourselves and with each other.

With him, I learned that it is okay to still be myself and to still do things I enjoy. I am not sure if I can ever tell this to him directly, so I am writing this. Maybe he will come across this and read it HAHA. If not, then I just have to find a way to get the message across.



Thank you for reading my article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/ZSN3qcFOOib

9
$ 4.71
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Ur still young, ul grow up... Even me at my forties still has a lot of??? In my head... Its really a matter of preference... I'm more of an intro than extro and really choosy with friends. I left a group of friends when I can't tolerate anymore of their toxicity... I don't want it to linger with me so closed the door for them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think being able to leave behind toxic people is one thing that I should do more. I have did it since the pandemic started and since then I have felt much lighter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, u are really a good person... Sometimes u just have to take care of ur inner core... That's just it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! We are all good but we really NEED to be picky who we welcome into private lives... Even if picky na, I still get to regret some.. Lolz...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmmm...... The early part made me feel sorry for the lady in question,but thanks to your last remark. It doesn't have to be boyfriend and girlfriend, some also feel worse than that when they have put so much trust on the other person. Nice poem,I hope he reads it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's a general relationship topic. Me? I am closing doors to my siblings/family relationship that I found too toxic to keep. At this time, all the more I am more picky now mama is gone. No more holding back

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have a feeling that he had already saw the poem hehe. I just hope that he liked it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trusting someone again after a traumatic past of trusting yourself to someone who breaks you is really hard. Having a relationship includes the trust but it hurts when it got destroyed, you feel like everyone that will comes to yourlife would possibly broke your trust, and it made you scared to give that word again. But for what it's worth, risking something is better than not trying again, but please don't let them take your heart for granted.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Being in a toxic relationship wasn't easy. But if you managed to stay away from it, you will feel relieve and also you will be more strong. Good to know there's someone now who's willing to understand you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

At first i thought it's a romantic relationship. With time i got on with the flow. I'm glad you met someone that changed you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Having someone who understands and accept all your flaws is the luckiest thing you have. In love or not, that kind of someone should be treasured. ❣️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are absolutely right. It is hard to find people who will accepts us as we are, flaws and all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To establish a healthy and good relationship we have learn to give and take.. Otherswise it will turn out toxic

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True, and open communication is also a must as well as being able to understand the other person. Because even if people communicate all the time, if they do mot understamd what the other is saying then it is no use.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"it is hard learning how to have a healthy relationship with someone instead of falling back into the toxic pattern I am used to."

This line of yours made me realize that once you experience to be in a toxic relationship it will definitely leave a mark in your life it might be a lesson or a trauma.

By the way I love your choice of words, galing🥰🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Definitely! It is difficult to immediately fall into healthier patterns but I hope with time it can be done. Thank you so much! I am glad you loved this hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Youre always welcome🥰🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand you very well. It is very tough to trust another person after going through so much trauma with one. I hope and wish you good luck and you would soon be very happy and at peace again <3

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Truly, it is one of the hardest thing I have done. Thank you for your encouragement and I wish you all the best as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I click it and I received it!! Thanks sis. You are so lucky to have someone in your life that loves and support you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yey, congratulations po hehe. Omg, love is still not something I would use for him yet HAHAHA sksjsksj

$ 0.00
2 years ago