Crochet: Making a Shooky (BT21) Bucket Hat for my Sister's Birthday

10 87
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Some ARMYs might have clicked on this article because of the title. From what my sister told me, BT21 is like a "cartoon/small" version of BTS. They all have a corresponding cute character which shows their personalities.

My sister's bias is Yoongi. This is the reason why I thought making a Shooky bucket hat for her 16th birthday is perfect.

This is the first time I ever made a bucket hat. I usually make scrunchies and headbands. But I decided to challenge myself to give her a great birthday gift.

I wanted to do that because I can feel that she is sad that this will be the second time she celebrated her birthday in quarantine.

The Materials I Used

To start, I prepared the materials I will use.

  1. 100 grams of Light Brown 4 ply Indophil Acrylic Yarn

  2. Scrap yarns for the face (white, black, and dark brown)

  3. 6/0 crochet hook (I used a Tulip double ended hook)

  4. Darning needle

  5. Stitch markers

Making of the Bucket Hat

Since I am only a beginner, I looked up free patterns online. I found this amazing site where the author listed the written pattern of making a bucket hat. Then I followed a youtube tutorial on how to make Shooky's face.

I made a few variations on the bucket, like using more rounds in the crown to reach the 5 inches needed for the pattern.

I started by first making a magic ring and then putting 8 dsingle crochet into it. This pattern works in round so I used a stitch marker to see where each round started.

I then worked on increasing the rounds. The first round would follow the pattern 1 single crochet into the first stitch then 2 single crochet in the next, repeat this pattern until the end. The following rounds would need more 1 single crochet stitches before the increase (2 single crochet).

For example, the second round will be 1 single crochet in the first 2 stitches, then increase. In the next round, there will be 1 single crochet in the first 3 stitches before the increase.

This process continues until I reached my desired crown measurement. In this case, I stoppped after reaching 5 inches.

After that, I worked on crocheting my desired length of the bucket hat. This is done by putting a single crochet into every stitch.

Once I put in enough rounds, the form of the bucket hat is starting to show which motivated me to work more.

I reached the suggested 7 inches length of the pattern for the bucket hat.

Then I worked on making the brim. According to the pattern I used, I just need to insert a single crochet into the front loop of every stitch and then after that round, work a single crochet into all stitches until the brim reached 2 inches.

The last step for making the bucket hat would be to insert 2 more rows of single crochet into the back loop of every stitches and the I finished making my very first bucket hat.

I forgot to take a picture of the face before I put it on the hat itself.

What I did was basically follow the youtube tutorial I saw to make Shooky's face. Then I weave in the excess yarns.

That is how I made my very first bucket hat. I gave it on my sister's birthday last June 29 and I am so happy that she looked thrilled to receive it. She even wore it when she went out with her friends that day.

The icing to this experience is my mother telling me that it looks good before realizing that I am the one who made that. My parents thought it was just another one of my sister's online purchase.

This experience made me more confident in crocheting. I am actually starting a new bucket hat again. Soon, I want to be able to sell some crocheted items.

But that is a plan for the near future. As of now, I just enjoy thinking of all the cute things I could do with this hobby I learned this quarantine.

What about you? What hobbies have you learned this pandemic that you find useful?


Thank you for reading my article. If you have the time and are interested in more of my articles, you can check out my recent article here: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/june-2021-articles-summary-690fd6c2

4
$ 4.39
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

OMG! I clicked right away when I read BT21. I am a fan of BTS. πŸ’œ You're so talented. How I wish I have such talent so that I can make stuffs as well that is connected to BTS and all. Aside from that, I love how thoughtful you are. I can imagine how happy your sister after she will see your gift for her. Even me, I felt so kilig about what you make. Your sister is very lucky to have you. πŸ₯Ί

by the way, please send my regards to your sister and greet me a happy birthday for her. πŸ’œπŸ’œ Thank youuuuu. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister said thank you for your kind regards.

To be honest, I enjoyed making the bucket hat so much that I want to create more. I will make sure to post the process as well if you decide that you want to learn how to crochet as well hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! That would be much appreciated. Thank you so much. πŸ₯Ίβ˜ΊοΈπŸ’œ

Stay safe always. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so talented! Pwede ka pong mag-benta ng ganito or magpa-customized sayo πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plano ko po talaga magbenta someday hehe. I am just working on my speed kaya ayoko pa umaccept ng made to order items. Pero yung mga on hand tatry ko magsell this month hehe. Thank you po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Update us po pag magbebenta ko na para if may interested. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige po hehe. Thank you po. Hopefully it works out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing mo naman mag crochet. :) May ganito kaming class dati, hindi ko nahiligan haha. Skl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po hehe. Hala sana ol po nagkaroon ng ganyang class. Samin kasi nung tahing kamay, naenjoy ko rin naman yun pero sana natouch din namin tong crochet. Pero okie lang kasi andito naman na ako HAHA. Understandable pong hindi mahiligan kasi sakit niya sa kamay hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan may ganyan din kaming class. Pinagawa kami ng blouse haha. Hahaha importante na yung ngayon. Hindi ko lang din siguro talaga bet. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago