I love all four, but you are my favorite

14 56

I have never been so fond of listening to new music. When I find a music that I like, I tend to listen to it for years.

That said, it took me quite a bit before I finally admit that I am finally back to stanning a K-Pop girl group. But it is not because of their music.

What finally pushed me to become a Blink is when I had a marathon of their Blackpink House during the start of the pandemic. Of course I have watched their other reality shows like 24/365, but BP house is a personal favorite.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my fantastic sponsors

It is not a secret and I had never been quiet about Jisoo being my bias. I am an 0T4 and I support them all as best as I can.

But I will not even try to deny that I have a favorite. Heck, the icon I have for my ZehraSky accounts are all my fanart of Jisoo.

I woke up and saw the same story

Jisoo getting mistreatment from different brands as an ambassador is not new. I have heard of it even when I was not an official Blink yet.

Today, I woke feeling happy as I am counting down the days for Lisa's solo! I slept happy as well for the same reason.

But then, I decided on a whim to scroll through my Facebook feed until I came across this particular post.

Instead of making me frustrated enough to re-install Twitter just to vent, I was just so tired.

Tired of seeing the same story. Blink or not I have always been aware of Jisoo, been aware than even some Blinks care not for her as a member.

I did not stan them right away

I have not been paying attention to the third generation of K-pop groups because my heart was still aching from the disbandment of all the past groups I love.

Like I said at the start of this article, I am not so easy to move from one music to another.

But my classmates are K-pop fanatic so everyday in high school, I would hear the songs of the third generation groups.

One group in particular that caught my attention is Blacpink. I am there when the fandom was still new that fans do not have a term to call themselves yet. I am there when the Pinks decided to yse Blinks to refer to their fans.

I was there when my classmates were talking about the members. Listing their names and positions. And always forgetting Jisoo.

I sat there, thinking about what that means. Listening to them rave about the three girls and harboring dislike for one. Yet they call themselves Blinks, they even buy official merch.

But all I can remember is that there are only 4 members. Their names are not hard to memorize. Even I know Kim Jisoo is a part of Blackpink even when I am not a fan. And yet, the fans that I saw daily are ones who obviously view Jisoo as some kind of placeholder.

That turned me away from the group. I do not want to see the drama of the third generation. Still, I know their every songs.

Then I watched Blackpink house

And everything changes. Instead of just seeing the MVs they post, and the comments that irritate me, I see the group members interacting.

I have never bothered to watch it before because like I told you, I turned away from them and other third generation groups.

I believe that if I had click on just a tiny clip of Blackpink house, I would have been hooked despite my hesitance.

But that did not happen until the pandemic and I can finally admit to myself that the third generation groups are here to stay.

So I watched a random clip of Blackpink house that was recommended by Youtube and then I found myself watching their other shows. Learning how to stream properly, creating a fan account (that had been long deleted) and just finally feeling that the term "Blink" fits me now.

My Bias is Jisoo

I have loved her parts in MVs no matter how little lines she has or how she was less talked about when I was not a fan yet.

I have watched their group performances that are Jisoo focused camera even when I am not a Blink yet. I guess you might be thinking that I was a Sooya first before a Blink. But I don't think so. I have never cared enough to know that there exists a fandom dedicated for her.

All I know then was that I am drawn to her yet the group's fans ignore her.

I could not stop being a Blink though once I see how four of them interact. Their funny moments together lift up my mood when I am done. Their antics together is so cute that it felt like I was invading their privacy just by watching their videos.

I just love four of them together. Seeing them reminded me of why I had enjoyed listening to K-pop back in the days. Not just for their music but also from their interactions with each other and with their fans.

Jisoo still called out to me (not literally, ofc). Her charmimg personality, her heart-shaped lips, and just her overall aura still makes me want to see more of her clips.

I guess that maybe this is why I love watching their reality shows + MV behind the scenes clips. It is because in these videos, we see more of Jisoo and her bubbly character.

I love all four of them, but Jisoo is my favorite. I am not shy to admit that. I make fan arts of her because I think she deserves more fanarts.

Sure, I make fanarts of Lisa, Rosé, and Jennie as well but not as much as I make Jisoo fan arts or Blackpink fan arts.

Personally, I think it is okay to have a bias in a group. What makes it not okay is when you turn against the other members just because you stan only one of them.

Why bother following a group and obviously excluding one of them? Sure, we can have our favorites but we must always respect that Blackpink is the 4 of them together.

All 4 of them endure mistreatment in different ways. All 4 of them achieve a lot together and individually. All 4 of them are amazing.

So if you claim to be a Blink, make sure that you remember there are 4 of them in Blackpink.

Also, if one member goes live maybe try to ask them how they are first before looking for another member or better yet, don't watch it if you just want to see another member. It's rude, you know. She was the one who went live to talk with the fans and yet you are looking for someone else. What would you feel if you are the one staying by someone's side and yet they keep looking for someone else? Hope you think about that next time.

Closing words

Anyway, that is all that I wanted to say. I thought I was going to rant here but nope. It seems that I just wanted to look back on how I discovered Blackpink.

You do not know it but as I was writing this, I keep remembering all the members and their antics.

I look forward to more Blackpink content soon: Lisa's solo, Jisoo in Snowdrop, and Chaennie sub group.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/5q74uvjp1ib

17
$ 8.28
$ 8.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

samee pinaka bet ko sa kanila ay si jisoo din. Nakakaawa nga eh kasi siya yung minsan binu bully ng ibang fandom dahil hindi daw marunong sumayaw tas mag english :<

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sarap maging cyber bully kapag nakakakita ako ganun pero timpi timpi lang HAHA wala naman dulot mga haters eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owemjiiieee, finally I found a coblink here, ahhh wanna rewatch blackpink house again, also did you watch the movie, and light up the sky? Owemji Im so excited for the snowdrop

$ 0.03
2 years ago

YAAAAS I watched both and AHHHHHH SNOWDROP IS COMING YEY

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im more of a kdrama fan though i know blackpink and how graceful they are in dancing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me right now singing in my head their song ho-how you like that? Hahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know the group too but I can't call myself a fan. I like them too with their music, moves and beauties. But still I couldn't call myself a fan. Yes, I agree to you if your not a fan to someone that doesn't mean you should dislike them. Cause as of me, I like their songs but I am not a fan. I am not a fan but I don't dislike them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You sound so passionate :) love that. I have never listened to even one K-pop (pls don't kill me haha) just coz I'm not that aware of international music :) but glad you are enjoying it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like blackpink they’re really pretty, but I’m not really a huge fan of K-Pop but I do respect and understand those k-pop stans

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I didn’t watch the shows but I am agree with the song selection like I also listen the song for year when I found some song interesting.

Have a good day

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not a fan here, but I understand you. All my girls are kpop fanatics.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe amen na lang ako, sis! Diko kasi sila knows meshedo 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang gaganda nilanng lahat tas idol korin blackpink, pinapatogtog namin mga music nila tas sasayaw hahaha pero bias ko si Lisa pero love ko rin silang apat ❤️❤️❤️ di ako masyado fan nanunuod lang ako ng music nila sa yt. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

BLACKPINK House at 24/365 din inuulit ulit ko imbis MV. Hahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago