Crochet Supplies: Where to get them? (PH)

29 61
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Today I woke up earlier than normal. I wanted to chase away the nightmare I had by going back to sleep again but my body refused to cooperate. So I instead browsed through some shared images in the group chat with my sisters. That activity lifted my mood and made me forget the dream I had.

This is why I am writing an article right now. But before I go on, I would like to express my gratitude to my wonderful sponsors.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

8.8 Sale

It is August 7 today which means that tomorrow there will be a lot of sales online. This is one of the days I look forward to the most.

And because I do not want to be the only one who would spend money this 8.8 sale, I am gonna share some trusted shops I have bought crochet supplies from. This is why I am posting it as early as I can so that more people can see it and maybe you will add some items to your cart.

This list is not the complete selection of the shops I have ordered from. The shops I included here are shops that I will definitely buy from again and shops that really exeeded my expectation, either due to fast delivery, flash sales or freebies.

Let's start!

Generic hook set (22 pcs): https://shopee.ph/product/50096395/1656764461?smtt=0.368263673-1628227966.9

These are the first hooks I ever had. I really think that their quality is worth the price I paid for them.

Do I recommend them for beginners? Absolutely. But only if you are sure you will try a variety of yarns with different weights.

If you are a beginner, you might be tempted to buy a complete set of every hooks out there. But out of this set, I have used 5 hooks at most.

It is nice to have the extra hooks just in case I needed them but if you are tight on budget, you can get individual hooks. I think there are shops that sell them for around P15 each only.

My recommended sizes will be: 2.00mm, 2.25mm, 2.50mm- for fine cotton yarns and mercerized cotton 3ply yarns, polyeser yarns; 3.00mm, 3.5mm, 4.00mm- indophil yarns, milk cotton yarns, and other acrylic yarns.

Mercerized cotton and fine cotton yarns: https://shopee.ph/rosalperito?smtt=0.0.9

These are my first fine cotton yarns lot. I remember being caught off guard by how thin fine cotton is. But the soft texture absolutely made me feel attached to this type of yarn.

It took a lot of patience working with fine cotton since it has a tendency to stick to the hook which causes me to frog more times than I wanted to. But with time I learned how to use it without being frustrated.

The mercerized cotton here is 5ply. This is nice for amigurumi projects, scrunchies or even tops.

Crochet beginner set with 3 Tulip hooks: https://shopee.ph/product/304215973/6754975420?smtt=0.368263673-1628228229.9

I bought this for the branded hooks and stitch markers haha. I needed the branded hooks to make it easier for me to use fine cotton yarns.

Why branded hooks? The glide is generaly smoother than the generic hooks. Moreover, branded hooks take a lot longer to break than generic ones. But that is not to say you need to buy branded hooks to be able to crochet. Generic hooks are fine and can get the job done as well. So don't feel pressured into buying branded hooks.

I do recommend you get one if you have the money for it. The quality difference is really noticeable and you will be able to crochet a lot faster with less muscle aches.

Favorite yarn shop (very affordable but limited stocks): https://shopee.ph/shawienavera?smtt=0.0.9

This is my first order from the shop. I was honestly expecting to be disappointed because the price here is a lot cheaper than other shops but I was so surprised at how nice the yarns are. Ever since then, I had been ordering from this shop every restock. The only con of this shop is that it has very limited stock and little color variations. So if you are looking for a specific color of yarn, this might not be the shop for you.

This is another one of my orders. The seller included a freebie yarn and some crochet hook earrings among other things (there was a lot of freebies in this order).

Moshi wanted some yarns as well haha. The one she is nipping is a freebie for this batch of yarns. I could not take better pictures because of our cute dog.

As you can see, I have bought yarns in this shop a lot of times. I have orders as well that I did not include in this article because I was too lazy to take pictures.

I was hesitant to share this shop because a part of me wanted to be selfish. I mean if more people know the existence of this shop, then there will be more people who might get that last yarn that I really wanted. But in the end, I decided to share it because I wanted people to see that there are affordable options out there so you can try crochet without spending too much.

Branded hooks (frequently have flash sales): https://shopee.ph/anekabenang.ph?smtt=0.0.9

This shop is beloved by the crochet community in the Philippines. The flash sales happen a lot which enable people to have a complete set of branded hooks without having to pay the full price for it. The only downside is the slow shipping process. It takes at least a week before the parcel arrived and sometimes it is a different size than needed.

So if you order from this shop, make sure to do some unboxing video so that you will have evidence when you apply for return/refund. I heard that the shop will just give you the wrong hook size so you don't have to eorry about returning the item. Then they will send you the correct item. So if they made a mistake and you have an unboxing video then you will be able to get 2 hooks for the price of 1 discounted hook, isn't that neat?

If you are wondering why the flash sales here are a big deal, well branded hooks with handle are cost around P450+ or more each depending on the hook. During flash deals, the price goes for as low as P250 only.

Love knots acrylic and mercerized cotton yarns shop: https://shopee.ph/rselle?smtt=0.0.9

These are the yarns I used for a lot of book-inspired trinkets like the Hogwart houses scrunchies and Percy Jackson Scrunchies.

This is the picture the of the yarns that the seller sent me.

I really love the Cannon mercerized cotton. I love the shiny appearance of this.

The seller shipped the item immediately. Although I feel a little sad about not receiving a freebie since I ordered a lot HAHA. Giving freebie is not required but I do feel happy when I receive one.

Yarn shop (affordable, fast delivery + variety of colors): https://shopee.ph/tindahannialengesti?smtt=0.0.9

The yarns arrived earlier than expected. I love the color variations available on this shop. I bought this as a trial to see if the shop provides good quality yarns. And it is nice to see that it does.

The keychain rings in the picture came from a different shop though. If anyone is interested, just comment on this article and I'll send the link.

Polyester solid/mixed color yarns: https://shopee.ph/product/43219192/9774381091?smtt=0.368263673-1628227202.9

I once tried a mixed blended polyester and I managed to make a cool bikini top out of it. I enjoyed using that type of yarn so I bought more.

This is sold as a set and the buttons are given as freebies. It arrived immediately too.

Acrylic yarns, and hooks: https://shopee.ph/thehandmadehub.ph?smtt=0.0.9

This is a collection of yarns that weigh 1kg. I absolutely enjoy the texture. It arrived 2 days after I placed my order which made me incredibly happy. The yarns are soft and I cannot wait to use them for my projects.

The seller even included some freebies.

Stitch counter: https://shopee.ph/product/40070385/637233461?smtt=0.368263673-1628228342.9

This is not a required tool in crochet but it is incredibly helpful for large projects like blankets and other stuff. It is used to keep track of the stitches so that one is able to talk to while crocheting haha, just kidding. But yeah, don't disturb crocheters when they are counting stitches, they are bound to answer you with louder counting. If you know someone who love to crochet big projects, you can buy this little tool to help them out.

If you want a stitch counter but cannot buy one, I heard that there is a phone application for that. I am not so sure about the name though, I would guess that it would be something similar to stitch counters HAHA.

Weighing scale: https://shopee.ph/product/26619749/2071452331?smtt=0.368263673-1628228496.9

This is probably the best find I had in Shopee. I bought this for only P9 in the P9 deals campaign.

It has been incredibly helpful in helping me ensure that I am gettkng the weigh of the yarns I paid for.

Also, it is useful for estimating how much yarn a project takes up.

I used the stickers that we are selling at Duende Art Shop to design my weighing scale.

Well, that is all I want to share today. I probably would have add more but my sisters keep bothering me.

This was supposed to be published a lot earlier but they keep distracting me which is why I am publishing it later than expected. I hope that it will still help someone who wanted to start crocheting but did not know where to start.


By the way, all pictures are taken by me(except for the one where the seller sent it to me).



Thank you so much for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky

To celebrate the achievement I received last time (gaining a diamond badge), I would like to give my first reader a little gift: https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/fapcASM3vib

14
$ 6.13
$ 5.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 9
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the local shop sites. I bought my yarns, mostly acrylic, from UK and New Zealand. I resell some of them too if one inquired. Will check these shop sites. 👍 I bought my red tulip hooks from this shop too: https://shopee.ph/anekabenang.ph?smtt=0.0.9

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that you find some yarns that you want to buy from these shops hehe.

Anekabenang shop is really helpful for completing branded hooks. I managed to complete the Tulip sorbet collection last 8.8 because of the multiple flash deals. Hopefully next time I can buy some red etimo hooks as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a nice hobby. Kahit may kamahalan or need na may mga bilhin talaga pag mayroon na certain hobby, okay lang. Worth it lahat pag nakabuo na.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Totoo yan hehe, pero di talaga siya need na gastusan masyado. Talagang mahina lang self control ko kapag may nagustuhan akong bagay HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din. Like pag may naisip ako, di na matanggal sa isip ko hanggang sa i check out hahahaha pero minsan lang naman (weh?) hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to know crochet before because we have some projects about it when I was high school with our TLE subject but I am sure I already forgot it hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe you could try it again sometime if you have some free time. It is relaxing and might help in relieving stress hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe soon if I have time I'll try to learn that again, are you selling your crochet outputs?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good luck on picking up the craft again. And yes, I do sell some of my crochet ouputs here: FB:https://www.facebook.com/zehrasky.yarns/ IG:https://www.instagram.com/zehrasky.yarns/ Shopee:https://shopee.ph/zehrasky.yarns

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So tempting, pero di talaga ako marunong jan, sis hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Pabudol na po kayo tas try niyo, ket isang yarn at hook lang HAHAHA jk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my this is very detail! I remember I want to buy the set, thanks for giving me the link from your trusted buyers. Going to buy this one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yey! I am glad I was able to help you out. See you on the rabbit hole HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something to look forward ro this 8.8, i still have yarns left that i bought last yr😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You must have a lot of yarns. I should probably stop hoarding yarns for a while HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Affordable naman pla sla . matry nga yan 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes po, may mga branded yarns lang na mahal pero pang mga pro na yun HAHA. Talagang pasensya at time lang matindi kalaban.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oorder ako soon HAHAHHA pero naloloka ako diko maintindihan HAHAHHA. prangneed ko pa manood ng manood if how they works

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yey, join us na sa rabbit hole HAHA. I suggest trying to make square patches muna ng mga different stitches para mafamiliariaze. Single crochet yung basic stitch talaga. Marami na rin naman magagawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nanood ako sa yt, medyo angangati kamay ko gumawa AHAHAHAA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

OMG YES YES YES HAHAHA. Good luck sis. Intay ako ng mga projects mo ah pero no pressure HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its like an art of sculptures right? Adding and substraction of material. I am not in that field sorry, but I know how to stitch wounds of animals hahaha for I had my Vet subject in college.. Keep up I am waiting for your output maybe a marvels character inspired 🤩

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is kinda like that hehe. Wow, stitching wounds sounds both cool and scary at the same time. I will look into making a marvels character inspired project someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's cool.. We had a project with this one when I'm in grade 9 I think .. All I did was to make a small pouch haha.. I'm very impatient in this kind of thing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow that's cool as well! I have not been able to make a pouch yet. I will try making one sometime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're really into crochet hehez. Naamazed ako sa mga materials kung marunong lang talaga ako e baka nag aaddtocart na ko haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you have some extra money and a lot of free time, you can try learning it hehe. It is very relaxing and kinda easy to do once you understood the basics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all marunong mag crochet...hehe cute ni moshi nakabantay sa mga yarns 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe practice practice lang po. Kapag nagkaextra time kayo, at bored ka, try mo rin po. Baka magustuhan mo. Lagi po yang ganyan si Moshi tuwing may orders ako, kala niya naman sa kanya HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago