Things I Miss During Holy Week

24 35
Avatar for Yzza0625
1 year ago

April 15, 2022 (Friday)

When I was young, celebrating Holy Week was very meaningful to me. I was always excited when it is approaching for it signifies vacation from school and we will enjoy the summer season. My family are Catholic and we have many superstitious beliefs during Holy Week. We always have some rituals that we're following because if not we will have good scold by our parents.

When Holy Monday came, we were no longer allowed to play outside our house until Black Saturday. We will just be inside our house and will attend a prayer every 6 pm. Actually, we always have 6 pm prayers before. We can still do household works until Holy Wednesday but after that, when Maundy Thursday came, we can no longer clean our yard or even take a bath. We can no longer wash our clothes. We were not allowed to go to the forest or swim in the sea for they told us that animals during this time are very dangerous and venomous.

Every Good Friday, we always watch the movie The Passion of the Christ. Before, we were the only one who had a television in the neighborhood. Thus, all our neighbors will gather at our house and watch the movie. Some children fell asleep for they got bored watching the movie. I guess they can't still understand what was the movie all about. I can still vividly remember that when 3 pm strikes, there were an earthquake occurred and the oldies would say that Jesus already died in the cross. I don't know if some of you experienced that. After that, we shared the most customary food during Holy week which we called"landang" or "binignit". Binignit is traditionally serve during Good Friday. It is a dish made with glutinous rice cooked in coconut milk with various slices of sabΓ‘ bananas, taro, and sweet potato, among other ingredients. Oh, I am craving this right now but sad to say I have no knowledge on how to cook this. It was my mother who used to cook this dish for us.

Late this afternoon, I witnessed the street procession here in my partner's place. Upon watching, I couldn't help but to reminisce those days when I was so active in participating in that kind of event. I remember before, every Good Friday, I love watching the Senakulo conducted by our neighbor barangay. They started the reenactment at our barangay up to our town. I was always amazed by that event because of their outfits that was depicted from Jews and the person who acted as Jesus. Sometimes, the person who acted as Jesus and carried the cross will let himself be crucified. I think that is their vow.

When I was in Manila working as a housemaid, I experienced the so called Visita Iglesia. The Seven Churches Visitation is a Christian, especially Roman Catholic, Lenten tradition to visit seven churches on the evening of Maundy Thursday. There was one church that we visited the we experienced to carry a cross. That was my first time carrying a cross and I can say that it was not easy for it was so heavy. Nonetheless, it was a great experience for me.


Celebrating Holy Week then and now is way different. The traditions and the beliefs are slowly evanesced as time passes by. My parents taught us that this time is the time for us to repent our sins yet I can see many people enjoying at the beach and even partying.

It is off to my topic but let me share this photo to you. I captured this earlier today when we had a scroll with my daughter. I am just mesmerized by the view. After so many days of rain, we can finally see the magnificent color of the sky.


That's it for today lasses. Thank you so much for sparing your time reading this write up of mine. Have a blessed Good Friday everyone.

Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Flexing my generous and amazing sponsors.

Photo above is originally captured by me.

Lead image is edited using Canva app.

6
$ 0.64
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yzza0625
1 year ago

Comments

Nung nasa province pa ako sis nag secelebrate din kami ng good friday pero nitong heubes ng hapon naligo na kmi sa ilog umahon nalang kami nung gabi na tapus balik ligo ulit kami pagka umaga pero hindi na kami nagpaabot ng 12noon kasi sabi ng matanda dun sa pinuntahan namin bawal na daw maligo 12noon hanggang hapon kaya 11;30am umahon na kami at kumain lang at nagsiuwian na..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also miss those days sis. In our house we don't have much beliefs but every good Friday we usually do a soft fasting. We can eat some food but not heavy, as our mom would also cook bilo bilo and that's the only meal we can have. We weren't allowed to eat pork, and we were not also allowed to go to forest places, as our mom also believe that even the small Ants bite was venomous during good Friday. However we can still take a bath but it should be earlier than ten in the morning. I miss the possession and I also miss watching the Senakulo. Every good Friday our neighborhood was very quiet and if you tried to listen to music that was not related with the current event you'll be scolded, as it's a sign of disrespectful. And indeed, as the years go by the celebration was fading. Since I am here in Manila, yesterday I didn't feel the essence of good Friday as I can hear people playing loud musics in their respective homes and some even spend their time at the beaches to celebrate the holiday. It seems like they forgot the real reason for the Holiday. May God forgive them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakasad di ba sis. Unti-unti nang nawawala ang ang true essence ng holy week. Di tulad dati na lunes santo pa lang mafefeel mo na ang semana santa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diko naicelebrate yung sakin teh, jusme problemado ako kase sarado lahay dito wala ako mabilhan 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahha, sarado talaga pag Good Friday sis. Ok na din yun. Nakatipid pa tayo.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala akong mabilhan teh HAHAHAAH nagugutom ako di sapat yung biscuit lang HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan ang literal na fasting sis.😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala akong mabilhan teh HAHAHAAH nagugutom ako di sapat yung biscuit lang HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Passion of Christ tlga nagtatak sakin hanggang sa paglaki ko. Sadly naaalala lang ng karamihan magnilaynilay kapag holyweek:( sarap ng biko kapag ganito po un ang namiss ko tapos swimming kapag sunday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Buti sana kung nagninilaynilay sis. Yung iba kasi ay napaparty party lang. Me too, namiss ko rin ang biko. Ganyan din kami noon sis kapag Easter Sunday, swimming sa dagat madalas naming gawin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ayun lang po kung party party. Tsk tsk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The passion of Christ was one of the first movie that made me cry effortlessly. Seeing Jesus suffer for the world was just so painful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was young, I had no idea what that movie was about. But when I learned to understand it, I also cried watching that movie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What I missed during holy good Friday is Biko or Binignit from my mother. Since I am no longer with my mother, I missed her Biko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too sir. Nangita pud kog biko ron. Mao sad nay always ihanda sa amo basta Biyernes Santo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In ana sad mi sauna te. Manan aw rami ug tv. Subaybayan namu gikan sa buntag kutob hapon. Naa rami sulod balay. Kalami sa Landang ate. Lami raba na kaayo. Ako sad te wala pa kasuway mag luto ug in ana tas Biko sad te lami kaayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same tag gipangita Lang. Kakan-unon lagi pud kog biko ron. Unya kay wala may muluto kay di man pud ko kabalo unsaon.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gayud te. Ako sad te wala pa kasuway ug luto. Wala gayuy Biko te. Dili ta kakaon anig Biko. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, lagi Lang uy. Taman na lang ta ani tan-aw-tan-aw sa mga nang-upload sa Facebook.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gayud ate. Picture rata kutob ani ate. Mag laway ka na lamang mag tan aw te. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wa jud ko kakaon og binignit ron sisπŸ˜… Lahi rajud ta mag holy week sauna no kaysa karon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apir sis. Pareha ta wa kakaon ug binignit ron.πŸ˜… Bitaw sis. Sauna kay mafeel man jud nimo ang semana santa no. Karun kay mura naman lang sija'g ordinaryo nga adlaw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bitaw ,mabalo jud ta nga semana santa kay mingaw kaayo ja karon ang uban mag party2 nman noon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gajud sis. Diri ay naa koy nadunggan nga nagpatukar-tukar ug music unya sige lang pangatawa. Murag nag-inom tingale tu sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago