Reminiscing my journey of faith.

28 42
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

I grew up Roman Catholic because that’s my parents religion. I grew up with not so religious family as I didn’t saw them praying or attending church every morning. I know Jesus but I do not know him well. All I know is that he is powerful and he is our God that everytime we need something we will just pray to him like that.

Then on my elementary days I knew more about him because of our religion classes that required us to learn how to pray and also the usual routine of a Roman Catholic such as praying the rosary , the our father and more. I also involved in church activities in our chapel and as kid and having an immatured mind and heart , following Jesus is like not so deep thing to me. I remember when I first had the communion and the confession . I confessed to the priest that I am littering in the garden, stealing some coins on my mothers coin purse. You know that kind of sin that kids literally did.

Then the activities on the church grow bigger and I carry it until on my high school days. I am still involved with church activities as I am a member of a youth organization in our parochial church. Unlike when I was a kid , I can feel the my journey of faith became deeper as I can feel my maturity and on how I applied the word of God and his teachings. Back on my high school days I am purely innocent. Some people call me manang because I love to wear long skirt. Then a trial came to our life and one day I questioned God. My faith faded and didn’t attended the church anymore. I even told my friends who invites me again “ Sus. Kalokohan lang yang ginagawa nyo “.

As the time goes by it feels like I am longing into something. I am spiritually thirst and I am looking for something that can satisfy my soul. I tried to attend in the church again but it looks like its hard to be back in track again.

When I went to Manila. That’s the time that I already forgot to serve. Not attending on the Sunday church as in no more spiritual things on me even praying. I go back to the province and most of them was shocked to my transformation. I am not a manang anymore. I wear a pekpek shorts, that the term they used on the short because its so short. Then from conservative to liberated. The way I talked to them. One of my friends seems disappointed because of my transformation because he didn’t expect that I will be like that.

I learned to drink alcohol. I lost my virginity. I leaned to fling with different guys and involved in wordly doings. I am not the conservative Yen anymore.

A couple of years I am like that until I met a guy that I prayed for. I thought his the man that I prayed for. From Catholic I switch my religion to Iglesia ni Cristo and I didn’t regret that decision of my life as it serves as the start to be active in church again. Yeah it was different religion but the learnings are on the bible. Being spiritually satisfied is so fullfiling. You know the feeling the you are living everyday thinking about God. The feeling the you are excited to attend church every Thursday and Sunday despite of busy schedule. I am crying every churchtime because of joy in my heart. You know the feeling of being thirst for a long time and then drink water finally.

My Iglesia ni Cristo journey lasted for a year. Yeah , the guy and I broke up and I am happy that God didn’t allowed me to marry that man because he is a cheater. Even if I left the Iglesia ni Cristo I still attended church but in Catholic. I managed to attend church every Sunday but you know the feeling that you are not comfortable because even if they both Christian religion they have different belief that’s why I stopped my spiritual journey again.

Then the worst year of my life came. It was year 2016 when I want to end my life because Im so tired. It was Christmas day that time , I went to Baclaran church alone and prayed there. I cried and cried saying that Im so tired with my life and I want light from Him. I want to be back again as a follower but I am having a hard time because I was exposed in worldly things.

Then March 2017 God answered my prayers. He gave me the man that I prayed for and also that man lead me again to Him. Yes, he is my husband. He is Born Again Christian and while I am attending church there I realized how forgiving God is. He welcomed me again and allowed me to start a new life. I still remember the moment that I cried because of the song lyrics of beauty for ashes.

Im no longer what I used to be.

I am stronger because you lived in me

The old is gone, the new has come

Im alive.

That moment was the turning point of my life and I promised myself not to be lost again.


Good evening guys. I know its not the first time that I shared this but let me tell you the stiry why I end up sharing it again. Right now I am infront of our house. Theres a table here and only the Christmas light as my light and also the light of the laptop screen then I opened the youtube and saw Kuya Kim Atienza’s testimony. Then I find myself typing this.

14
$ 4.69
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 9
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a religious person but I do pray and believe in God, but I admit that I don't believe on what Bible says. I just believe that there's God. I rarely go to church but I don't forget to pray every dayband night thanking God for everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why you didn't believe in bible?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I just don't maybe the thoughts I have in mind is the bible is also just created by human.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, di din ako religious na tao Ms. Yen, but nag-pi-pray naman ako, especially pag mag-isa ako. Minsan lang ako uma-attend sa church din..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang importante Hindi tyo nakakalimot magpasalamat , humingi na tawad at purihin sya sa paraan n alam ntin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yun naman yata talaga ang mahalaga dun Ms. Yen.. Sabi nha diba, "No Religion can save us." ONLY JESUS!😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit din ate na I am not that religious person tas minsan lang ako nag sisimba. But I grew in a religious family lalo na sina mama at lola. But I pray wholeheartedly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala nmn sa palasimba ka o Hindi. Nasa puso mo Yan and alam ntin sa sarili ntin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I grew up attending born again church. We were active in church but then I lose my faith and I don't know what's holding me back to attend Sunday service. I am happy for you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun nga , Ang hirap bumalik no? Pero I prayed na Sana makabalik ka

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

As a Roman Catholic I really don't make it a big issue changing religions as long as you are worshiping the same God and creator ...and if in that religion lies your heart, faith and happiness. all the more reason for you to follow it. God Bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

E yung iba Kasi big deal sa kanila Mommy pero ayun nga base sa journey ko from catholic to inc to born again. Wala Naman tlga sa religion

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

nasa paniniwala naman yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad after so many falls in religious journey, finally your husband came in your life and he lead you towards God again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That's a tough journey, from God to World and to God again. One thing about God is that, no matter the distance of being away, He'll still welcome us back anytime we realize and go back to Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep. He always lend His hands to us

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Those trials that you experience lead you to a better person stay connected with our almighty God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. That's why I a strong now

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

God listen your prayers miss yen. He gave you a good man that makes you happy. Iba talaga pag maging faithful tayo kay God. Yung sincere ka talaga sa kanya. Maririnig niya talaga prayers mo.🙏

Born again pala yung husband mo miss yen same sila ng mama ko. Born again din siya, mga side ng mama ko mga Born Again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo converted lang din sya

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ah okay miss yen....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was quite inspiring story. Many of us are not interested in a story especially when it talks about spiritual things. I for one is a person of that kind before. Sometimes, there are people who find different stories about their testimonies about God all the same and uninteresting when we hear them,but we are interested in gossips and money matters.

God bless to your family Sis. Glory to GOD you've found your way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah Glory to God Mommy.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Roman Catholic ako pero tulad niyo dati din po di ako active sa church.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kumusta ngayon?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Wow! full of love and passion. Nice story hope young adult readers can read this too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am hoping too hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago