How his addiction affect us.

34 39
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

My blood boils as I am typing this. I want to throw bad words to my younger brother because I am so annoyed. Our younger brother gives us headache! I am not a bad sister but I was fooled so many times resulting that I don't trust him anymore but ended up helping him because he is my brother.

My brother was addicted to online sabong (cock fight) or I guess the right word is not was but is because he still didn't learned any lesson and you know what's worst? His problem became our problem because we are family.


It was started two years ago. We don't have any idea that he was into gambling though we knew that sometimes he was playing cards and cara Cruz in the street. He was working that time and we thought he has no problem until one day there's a person who came into our house saying that my brother has some dept to her and the money that he borrowed has some interest. If you remember my article about the short time lending system here where the interest is so huge. We choose to hide it on our father because he will surely get mad to my brother. I told my brother to settle his problem and he said he will. He was so good at making promises and manipulate us because of his words.

After a couple of months , he talked to me and cried saying if he can borrowed some money to me because he has dept and it was all because of online sabong. I asked him the amount of money that he borrowed and he said 25,000 pesos and that money has interest which is 2,500 pesos a week. I know my brother didn't know what to do anymore because of the interest. He has also no work that time. I talk to my husband about that thing and ask him if we can lend some money to my brother without an interest. I give the 25,000 pesos to him without an interest and he promised me that once he got a job he will pay me little by little.

A month after he got a job and told me a lot of promises and I believe him but after a month of having he job he still not paying me and told me a lot of reasons until pandemic came and my husband lost his job. I don't have a choice but force him to pay because he has some work that time. He paid me little by little and all in all it was amounting to 14,000 pesos. As of now he has some dept to me amounting 17,000 pesos but I didn't asked for instant payment because my husband has already.

October last year , I was shocked because of his revelation. He got addicted to online sabong again and even more shocked because he has a dept amounting to 87,000 pesos. He even resigned to his job and hide to all the people who borrowed him money. Since he was hiding that time , the people message his family which is us and even went to our house which is so humiliating in our side because I myself I am not into that kind of stuff. My mother said that time to let him face his problems , I don't have any help to offer that time because my husband was still jobless.

We told those people that we don't have any contacts on our brother which was true that time. He went to Manila and deactivated his social media accounts and told us that don't worry about him because he was fine and he will fix his life so we let him.

Months passed , he said he already settled his problems and talk to the person involved and we also thought that he will going to change because he told us that he learned his lesson. Just this week , someone message me and it was one of the people keep on asking where is my brother. I was in high blood that time because I am also having an anxiety and then that someone will disturb me and ask for the money that I didn't borrowed. I told that man that I don't care if he will file a case to our brother. I told him to do it and never disturb us because we can never do anything on that.

ECQ implemented in Manila and my brother contacted my father asking for some money because he said he don't have any allowance because it's ECQ and he has no work. Even my father is mad at him he still told me to send money to my brother. My brother didn't asked me some money because I send him many times but didn't return it. He always broke his promise and I am so used to it.

So last Aug 12 I send him some money and I thought it was for his allowance until ECQ finished but just this time my sister send a message to us saying that there's a girl chatted her and looking for our brother because our brother blocked her and he has some borrowed money and even told to my sister that our brother is her customer in online sabong. My blood boils instantly and then I go to our conversation to check the recipient of the money I sent to him last time and I found out the recipient and the person who chatted my sister were the same. So it means he only used the money he borrowed to our father for an online sabong. The money that I sent to him is not the money of my father but my hard earned money because I don't want to use my fathers money because he save it for his retirement.

I was very disappointed because even if we told him many times that there's no good effect in gambling he still into it. Should we advice him to go in rehabilitation center so that he can change his behavior? We want to help him because we love him but how can we do that if he can't help himself. I didn't know what would be my father's reaction when he knew this. For sure he will be on high blood too.

Sorry for making this article , I just want to express my emotions here as I am so high blood now.

14
$ 6.54
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Naaadik din yung tropa ko dito ngayon. Sabi nga namin sa kanya tigilan na or kung hindi kaya, disiplinahin or limitahan yung pagtaya. Kaso ganun yata pag na-hook na sa sugal, nabubulag sa pwedeng mangyari

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku malala na po yan ate need na talaga nya ng tulong ngayon bago pa lumala pa lalo at makagawa na ng masama para lang dyan sa sugal na yan

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

He's really that addicted. He needs help. I hope he can find help soon for he is totally destroying himself with that gambling. Praying that your brother and your family will get through this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's really addicted to it.. I think kelangan nya ng treatment ksi imagine nagkandauta-utang na sya pro sge pa rin.. be strong p din pra sa fam mo sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi nga nmin mcontact ngayon e

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

This is really bad and sad too. Your brother should at least consider you guys and your father. Gambling is very risky and can make one run into debt.

Can you just introduce this site to your brother? At least if he doesn't have a work, he could still help with this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He has no interest in writing.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I am so sorry you had to deal with all of these and I can say I relate to your story because I have a brother that kinda get us worked up too either with his drinking or lack of seriousness. He is also always in need of money and it gets worrisome. I am glad you vented and you have nothing to be sorry about, okay. I pray he gets serious with his life and stop getting you all worked up. If he loves to write, I think read cash can do him a world of good and keep him busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it is really annoying indeed! I even have bad neighbors who breed roosters that are noisy. Wtf they don't care about their neighbors at all! Your brother will have to learn to change his gambling habits otherwise it will become a problem until he gets older.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aigooooo mommy siguro much better kung di na kayo magbigay nang money sa kanya kasi kaya siya bumabalik balik kasi alam niyang di niyo siya matitiis...ganyan ginawa nang lolo ko sa tito ko dati and effective naman kahit malaki na galit nang uncle ko sa lolo kasi pinabayaan daw pero at least di na siya nagsugal kasi wala nang sasalba sa kanya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun tama! Ganyan dapat. Kasi may sumasalba sa kanya kaya patuloy ang bisyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di naman kasi matututo pag palagi lang sa salita na magbabago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakuuu, ang dami na talagang na adik sa online sabong na yan. Dito sa'min mostly tinataya tig 20k or more. Grabi yung sugal nila tas pag natulo malululong sa utang 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Hirap ng buhay ngayon jusko

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Grabe. Hndi na okay yan madam... . Kapatid ko naadik sa lotto yung tipong pati perq ni mama at dati padala ko nsa pinas pa ko nagwowork ay tinataya nya... Pro at least nagawa nyang macontrol yun.. Need nya ng may kakausap sa knya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasama nya gf nya sa bahay. Pati gf nya yata naubos savings dahil sa kanya. Hindi man kami nagkukulang ng paalala . Minsan nag iiyakan pa kami sa chat at sinasabi na sana tuloy tuloy na pagbabago nya. Dami dami nya pangako pero Wala ganon padin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Grabe na experienced ko din maglaro online. Nakaka adik talaga. Thank God naman po di ako nalolong sa utang at na stop na ako pag susugal online. Wala talagang panalo dun. Sana magbago na din yung brother mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi Kong pinapalangin yon na Sana tumino na sya.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That's what is frustrating about family, and Pinoy culture. As mad as we are, we still have each other's backs and we take on the problems of family, often to our own detriment. Your brother needs help, and not just financially, but to kick his habit. Otherwise, he could get into even bigger trouble that he may not be able to get out of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We thought he was fine a couple of months ago. We thought he already learned his lesson because he promised us that he will change but he's not

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

He will need professional help. But there's also the fact of his debts that just kept piling up, and that has to be settled, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still have no contact to him as of now that why we didn't know what to do

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That's worrisome. He could be hiding from the people he owes money to. Do you know anyone who may have an idea where he could be? Otherwise, you may want to seek the help of law enforcers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know where he is but he deactivated his Facebook account and we don't have contact to him

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Grabe din yang sabong na yan eh. madami na ding nasira at nalugi dahil sa sugal na yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Grabe tlga epekto sa iba

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

He needs some serious treatment on his addiction, it's not a joke anymore to keep borrowing money for the sake of gambling that's alarming, he can do stealing if he cannot find any money anymore and involved into illegal things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala Kasi namin okay na , Kasi ilang buwan na syang matino tapos Ayan na Naman. Nangloloko ng tao. saan saan nanghihiram tapos magugulat nalang kami na ganon

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hmm feeling ko saka lang yan matuto kung di nyo sasaluhin probs nya, like hayaan nyo ipakulong sa inutangan nya kung yun lang paraan para magtino sya. Learn the hard ways ika nga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun nga Sabi ko sa mga nagchachat dito na naniningil. Wala kako kami pakialam kahit ipakulong nila.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Halaaa grabe naman po yung brother mo. Sobrang naadik tapos lumaki pa nang lumaki yung debt niya. Sana marealize niya ginagawa niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba. Pagod nadin ako as ate sa pagpapangaral. As in haysss

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

You can't change him if he dont want to change himself, i think it's already his illness and he needs a medication, that type of action and behavior is not good, I understand that you can't just let him suffer but he do it many times, what the essence of it. I think the best way is to send him to psychiatrist or in rehabilation center so that someone can cure his addiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasa Manila Kasi sya now nagwowork. Ngayon Hindi na Naman nagpaparamdam samin.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago