Giving: An act of loving

13 47
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

It's been a long time since I visited a community here in read.cash until yesterday I saw the article of @Jane about giving and it is under the Good Karma Army Community by @TruSuccessXpert . I read all the entries there and I was hooked and didn't noticed the time. Every article has different stories and perception about giving and I asked myself this question.

Why do we give?

I asked my husband earlier , Love? Why do you give? and he answered me because that person is needy. Then I remember how generous my husband is. When we are still in relationship as boyfriend and girlfriend , he was the one that provides for his family. Even if his siblings has an own family, he was the one who always on call when his siblings has problem. My husband is not rich. He was a minimum wager, he was a construction worker and also budgeting his own salary to be able to give the needs of his family to the point that he didn't left that much to himself as long as his family are okay. He loves his family thats why he did that.

I remember the time when he gave his Android phone to his niece. We were married that time. I asked him why he will give the Android phone to his niece even if the consequences of this is that he will going to used a keypad phone. He just answer me with " it's okay , he needs it more than I do ". I never questioned his generousity, infact I am so proud because he is so selfless. That's the one thing I love about him. He always told me that this is how God designed him. Loving God is also serving others and serving others includes giving. Yes , we never owned a lot of money but we always experienced how God provided us when time that we are in need.

There are people who gives because of pity. Like when people gives to beggar and other people who seek help. They felt pity , they said to themselves that it is so pityful but deep in their hearts there's a love that convinced them to give. It's an act of love that coat in a word pity.

There's a Bible verse saying about giving. I always heard of it everytime the tithes and offerings is happening. This is the passage.

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

I remember when Pastor said. If you give a lot of tithe but your heart is not into it , it is not the true essence of giving. If you give a little amount but you give it cheerfully and with heart, God is happy with it because that's the true essence of giving.

But giving is not all about money and materials things. We can also give intangible things like time , effort and passion.

It's been two months since we faced a family problem and all I can do is to give my time and effort to my family. I didn't asked for return. I gave it because I love them. Most people also gave their time , passion and effort to their family and love ones. Example is the father who gives his life to his family and even he didn't asked for return , he was blessed. A mother who gives all her love to her children she's sacrificing a lot of her dreams. She did it because of love.

Are you the type of person who gives because you want to recieved in return and when you didn't recieved something you will feel disappointed?

Giving is not about thinking something in return.

Now I will answer my own question. Why do I give?

I give because I want to give.

I give because I have a blessing.

I give because I know that feeling of having nothing.

I give because thats one way of showing love to one another.

I give because I have a heart.

I give because I want person to smile.

I give because it makes the world changed.

I give because thats what God designed me.

And lastly, how can we forget the ultimate giver? The one who gives his life to us so that we can be save. It's our Lord Jesus Christ. He sacrifice his life for all of us. He gave it without receiving in return. Why he do that? Because he loves us. And also God the Father who gives his own son for us to be saved.

9
$ 3.42
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.66 from @bheng620
$ 0.10 from @Omar
+ 3
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

What I like the most is the John 3:16 u had mentioned here po, mommy yen, 'coz that's really the meaning of giving n love for me po n also shows how much God loves us that he does that even though it's His Own Son pa po just to saves us all for the sins we have po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ♥️ He is the ultimate giver ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Opo 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I give because I have what they need not only of material things because sa totoo lng wala din aq e😁 but moral or emotional

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Tama din naman hehe but it's an act of love padin because giving moral and emotional support is also loving ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

When I read a topic about kindness and giving, that verse from Corinthians always reminds me of how God loves cheerful givers. Not always on the amount but time and effort is always something more valuable.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. It's all about the heart

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

An old saying, one who gives will get more from God. We cannot expect the people we help to return the same to us. However, God with love replaces what you give to others with a most beautiful reward.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

and you are good people who have been given gifts by God to help fellow humans

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll remember that Bible saying. 😊 I give because I want to share what I have without expecting anything in return.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's not actually a contest 😁 I was just inspired by the pay it forward challenge of sir @TruSuccessXpert.. But thanks for giving your perception bout giving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know hehe. I just thought of a topic about giving after I read yours.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago