A not so typical birthday

Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

This article is serves as my entry on @Eybyoung birthday giveaway. You can check it here if you want to participate also 😉

This is not a typical birthday that you can see when a person celebrated their birthdays.

It was happened year 2007. I was fourth year high school that time. I didn't celebrated my birthday that year, it's just an ordinary day for me. Me and my little brother watching Asian Treasures on GMA 7 then suddenly I heard someone knocked on the door. I opened it and I am surprised because my co youth organization members in church was there.

They greeted me a Happy Birthday. I was shy that time because we have no food to offered to them. My parents was in Manila, me and my little brother eats at my grandparents house. I dont know what to do because I dont have money too. It's vacation time and I have no allowance.

The older member of our organization suggested that each of them share some money to be able to buy food. They bought a lucky me instant noodles and one kilo of rice then cooked it as their dinner. I have no words to said that time. I was so embarrassed but Kuya Anjo said to me.

Ano kaba Pen. Okay lang yan. Hindi naman kami nagpunta dito para sa pagkain. Nandito kami kasi birthday mo. Tapos naiyak nako non. ( Its okay Pen, We are here not because of the food, we are here because its your birthday. Then I cried. )

This is the memorable birthday to me because that time I didn't expect that people will going to remember my birthday. Even my parents didnt greet me at all. As I was typing this, I started to cry. I remember the moment, the voice of my Kuya Anjo and the happiness on that night even if we dont have good food.

I am happy with just small things. I mean intangible things like what esciisc said in her article. I am happy with a simple greetin as long as it came to the heart. I dont like celebration. I only celebrated my birthday when someone insisted but if I have a choice, I choose to made it as an ordinary day.

Even if I have a money , still I didn't celebrated my birthday. I dont know what's wrong with me. Is this a normal thinking? 😅

31
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @Eybyoung
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Fantastic article. I am very happy to read this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. I am glad that you commented. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I have this memorable birthday too, but not as happy as yours. But will surely touch someone's heart.

It was a week befoe my birthday, and my friend's sister died. Before that sad incident, I am planning on having a birthday celebration with my friends but it was postponed. On the day of my birthday, it was the last night of the burial. Instead of having a birthday celebration, I asked my friends to come in the burial. We helped our friend in distributing of foods, etc. It may be a sad celebration but at least I had this sensitivity for my friend's mourning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You made the right choice. If I am in your situation I will also do that.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's normal thinking during adulthood that celebrating birthdays is out of style, birthday are I think for kids only because they tend to get excited when their birthdays come, but for us, adults it's not like that because we prefer to save than spend hahaha.

Thank you for your entry, I am happy you participated in it. Best of luck, yen ❤💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😄 Maybe, birthdays are just for kids.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I don't want to celebrate my Birthday too. I prefer to celebrate it alone and do some weird stuff Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like what? hahaha. Kalat lang kasi sa bahay kapag may birthday hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Like punta sa tahimik na lugar tas magbabasa basa lang haha habang nagkakape

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's the thought that counts. The fact that they remember your birthday voluntarily and without reminders on a notif in Facebook really means a lot. That makes us feel special and valued. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

That's okay,we are the same. Birthdays doesn't need to be extravagant for you to enjoy it. You just need your love ones to be with you at that time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago