Its Cooking Time

68 40
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Few days back my mother-in-law asks for the older son to come with her because they are going to harvest her squash in her vast garden in the mountain.

When my son got home, he brought a lot of squashes.

The photo was taken when i told my younger son to remove these from the sack and arrange them and secure. But this is the completion of his task. He's making a tower with these in front of our door. πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ€£When i saw it, i got my phone and clicked it and request him remove them out of the way😁 i never thought i can use it in this article though.

We already consumed 4 aside from whats on the photo.

We cooked them and served with soup as our viand for how many meals and i observed that kids are getting bored of it😁 so i think of making an "okoy" to achieve another dish out of these squashes.

I grated the whole squash, a big one yeah! 🀭. My arms ached and felt tired of it πŸ˜…. Because i know that my kids loves okoy and even though they are full, they come back for it later so i decided to prepare the whole big one. (i used the rough shredder when the squash is a bit watery but if its dry i used the medium, i don't use the fine one)

I added the minced garlic, onions, ginger and chopped spring onions,

Add the egg to prevent the squash to spread out when you fry it. In every time i prepare an okoy, i ussually use one egg only. Even the

Add some flour little by little until the mixture is a bit sticky but not dry

. and added salt to taste using a fork so as to prevent the squash to extract much of its water.

I didn't include the measurements of my ingredients because it depends on you how much garlic, onion you use. But about the ginger i added it coz' someone is having cold in the house, if you add ginger just a minimal of it, or you can remove it in the list because it can add a bit spicy flavor on the recipe and kids might not like it, i fried it first in the pan before mixing in the squash.

Now heat the pan in a medium fire, pour some oil, make it enough that the okoy to be dipped fry.

Scoop a teaspoonfull of your mixture and press lightly then drop on the hot oil.

I use to pair it with liver sauce but my kids preffered soy and vinegar so i substituted the vinegar with lemon because i never store vinegar in my cupboard.

All done!

I don't know whats wrong with my phone, the actual picture is dry but when i capture it, it looks oily but actually its not. πŸ˜…

Thanks for readingπŸ€—

17
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Try make a dessert out of squash , it is good. You just search it on google for the procedures. Your kids will love it very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice recipe with squash my friend. Kids will love them as it got a new twist, so healthy and delicious too. Thanks it makes me feel hungry again.πŸ˜†πŸ–’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 @Vladilus it seems you're always hungry.. Yeah you re right, it is healthy and delicious. I can let the kids eat them overload instead of junk foods.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh is that okoy without the mini shrimps in it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes po, this is abrupt so i wasn't able to buy in the market when i visited to town. One of kids doesn't like it also so i have to segregate his own.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why don't kids like okoy? It's so good though but we don't put gunger in ours since there's already vinegar for that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, i mean they don't like shrimps, some of my kids are not use to it... So i prepare the mixture and divide it into two. πŸ˜… With and without shrimps if ever i have added a shrimp in it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh it's the shrimp they dislike. That's sad :"" the shrimp is what makes okoy delicious and so crunchy though. maybe one day they'll come to like it too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeeez. Its the shrimp. πŸ˜….. Yeah if i continue feeding them so that they will be immuned to the taste.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully and they really need to appreciate that crunch you get from shrimps

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its weird.. They like that salty alamang how come they don't like the small dried shrimpsπŸ€”πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your kids have weird tastes πŸ˜‚ but then alamang is delicious! i can't see why people would not love that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe because we don't serve them here most of the time. Perhaps if serving it to them at an early stage, i think they may like it til now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess so? Well as long as they eat the what's good for them. And tastes change, you'll be surprised that one day they'll be eating those mini shrimps happily when they get older

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah... seeing them eating vigorously, i am contented already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Squash is really nutritious specially you added more spices it makes it more delicious. Anyway what is that food called?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Squash okoy dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my I miss that okoy dear I enjoy eating that especially when there is one shrimp at the top πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try it sis... I made it to satisfy kids.. They sell it here for 2/ liitle piece but my kids are not satisfied so we cook a lot to their fullest. But when all devoured, i'm gonna worry doing it again. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok dear I try, Hope it tastes good also, as you do 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be... Add some love and itvwill go perfect. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Motherhood really brings out everything like creativity and resourcefulness noh? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes true. I ussually don't do it because i hate grating but my kids prepared the materials and even wash the pan and start to when i made excuses out of it specially when i'm not on the mood. 🀣 Its when they threat me to half the squash and peel it themselves i can't escape anymore. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Kids' drama always works for moms I would say. How old are your kids now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have 6 of them but the most makulit is the 7 yr. Old son of mine. He's the one insisting and her 9 yr old sister🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I didn't expect it to be that much. (Sorry for my reaction πŸ˜…) I thought you're a mom of two and you're in your late 20s only. I suppose the house is fun and chaotic at the same time. πŸ™ˆπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😊... I hope i will retire.. They are already enough. Even too much bundles of joy.. And wrinkles. 🀣I'm in 30's and yes too much chaotic 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. But it's really fun most especially if you're intact together in special occasions. How old is your eldest?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shes 15, i'm a teenage mom once.. I had her in my womb during our highschool grad. I didn't have the chance to continue my studies after that....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Well, I guess the relationship went well because you're given 5 more blessings. πŸ™

Do you have plans to go back to school?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right in there..

i have plans i even thought of enrolling but i got confused if i would be elligible in college or i will fall as a senior high πŸ˜… because i graduated highschool 15 yrs ago where theres no k-12 back then,🀣🀣🀣 but this time i prefer to concentrate on my kids education.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have discussed this before in the school where I was teaching but I forgot how it goes to your situation. Here, I searched for an article.

https://chedk12.wordpress.com/lifelonglearner/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your concern.. I will visit this. And will comeback to you later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure thing. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems the availability is only for 2018 enrollees. πŸ˜… In my understanding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think so too. Haha, but we can still verify it to other legit sites.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am still looking but i think i will enroll in vocational.. If only not with this pandemic, i will try in. T. E. S. D. A. They have lots of short courses i can use instNtly after completing the course what do you think?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess that's a better choice. In the meantime, you enroll in that short course and find a job after. However, if you still want to finish a degree you can still do so but it's gonna be a long way to go. πŸ˜… What course do you have in mind?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have a plan to have a degree anymore 😁.plans change you know as you get older. I'm planning into taking SMAW. Though my hubby discourage me about it for he thinks its manly but i insist. Only a free time of 1 month i need for the training so i need to wait for my youngest to get older o i can atleast be at peace leaving her For a few days. Our location is far from the training site so... I need to stay overnight avoiding to be late.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woooa. That's really a manly job. Hihi. But again, what's best to have right now is diskarte eh. A degree could be a factor of one's name, but diskarte tops of it. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You just sad it right dear... πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Thanks πŸ˜…πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummm my sister also cook kalabasa that way and she also told me how to do it because i don't eat kalabasa if it's cooked with coconut milk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh i love squash with coconut milk with fried fish😍.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm i don't like it's soft mushy texture😣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Your picky 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm hahah i love all veggies i rather eat veggies instead of meat actually but kalabasa, and malunggay are veggies i don't like, both when cooked in coconut milk, but if it's in monggo or other dish i can eat it haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have weird tastebuds. 🀣🀣🀣 But i can't stop eating if my viand is mongo.. 😁 Its one of my favorite since childhood.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yas monggo is delicious especially when it's cooked by my sister haha i have weird taste bud really, i don't like eating longganisa haha i dunno but i feel like I'll vomit, i can eat just a little.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh really? You don't like longganisa? My gosh you ready have weird tastebuds🀣🀣🀣. I'm so sorry for you. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeaah i know kaya nasasabihan ako maarte daw🀧🀧🀧 noooo my mouth and stomach just don't accept it huehue

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣 Di naman kesyo ayaw mo sa food e maarte na.. Di pa pwedeng talagang unique lang ang dila mo. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ewan ko ba hahaha weird ko talaga ksksks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ay wow.. you woke up early to do the grating.. that's good for an early morning coffee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah with pandesal.. Yummy. Kugga ha na. Jaak inpost te kapuy net.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks delicious. I would like to add some shrimp in there and dip it in a vinegar. That would be more delicious. I know also how squash would taste in an okoy. Keep it up❗️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear.. Yes, but shrimp is limited here in our place so we ussually use the dried ones. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sven though it’s still in the taste and I know what you hav presented is deliciousπŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You surely know how to appreciate. 😁 Well thank you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hopethe meal is going to be a delicious one, I will like to join you on the table, can I come over and eat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But of course, you can.. Come and enjoy. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok, thank you...just kidding anyway

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know 🀣 you can try it though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

maybe some other times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok then

$ 0.00
3 years ago