You Are Perfect, Shake Off The Negativity

19 45
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Be faithful to that which exists within yourself. André Gide

unsplash.com

Hello beautiful people, happy new month to everyone, I trust August will be the best month of our lives. Am glad we made it this far. 

Had a hectic day, so I wasn't free to post.  A colleague of mine complained bitterly to me about her 12 years old daughter. Who has refused to attend school, for reasons unknown to us? I offered to speak with her at the closure of work today. I think she is fond of me, I saw how happy she was when she saw me. After much persuasion, she told me, that her friends do laugh at her because of her body size. I was listening to her keenly making sure I didn't interrupt. Remember a good listener will make a good actor. When she was done, I told her my version of childhood bullying. I was also chubby and people used to mock me. It got to me at first, but just like the story of the horse that was to be buried alive. I shook off every annoying comment and made a step out of the pit I dug for myself. I felt lying low will stir them away but it kept drawing them close. When I stood to face my fears, I knocked off their laughs. 

I began to focus on myself, I began to excel in my academics which gave me an edge over all my classmates.  No one has any right to make you feel bad about yourself, you don't have to stay yourself to acquire that perfect body shape. All that you will become isn't in your body but all lies in your mindset. It lies within. The most beautiful things are not those seen, so why bother yourself to please everyone?  She smiled and hugged me. I believe she will face her just like I did. 

To everyone out there, having difficulties blending I'm her world because of her body size, looks or appearance. It's so disappointing that the world standard of being beautiful is having a slim body. Beauty shouldn't be measured by our looks but by how much we can offer. What makes a man beautiful is its impact on his immediate environment. Go out and show the world how beautiful you are. You were made for this. Face your fears now.

Have a blissful night's rest, my eyes are almost closing.

Lead image : unsplash.com

15
$ 1.67
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Phantastic
$ 0.03 from @Mudi97
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

Oh! True, true... You really have to stand up for yourself, else, no one else will defend you! And you cannot really rely on anyone but yourself, especially these days! I wasn't bullied because... (there are a lot of reasons!) But I do stand out to people who are mean to my friends. So if they bully my friend, I get to fight the person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I had a friend like you in high school, everyone didn't want to be friends with me because the saw me as the girl who wore uniforms meant for three pupils. Am really happy I was able to live above their bullying

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, my dear. I was bullied at school when I was a teenager because I was obese. I know how that little girl feels. I focused on my academics as well and became popular in school :) I lost weight when I was in college because I joined cheer dance and pop dance :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I will give most of the comments to her to read for herself. They are really encouraging. Thanks for contributing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had the same experience too when I was in high school, I felt depressed and shy of going out and making friends even up till now, but with this your write up I can now stand out among my mate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will be so happy if you can do it... No one is perfect, go out there and face your fears

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its like my words you have raised a beautiful topic that beauty is present even in each thing is not related with having thin body shape

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes beauty radiates around a lot of things and not just on physical appearance

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are unique and beautiful in our own ways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, we are but a lot of people fail to see it this way. They feel being beautiful is all about facial looks and body shape

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very difficult to ignore bullies, I know because I was also bullied when I was younger (I was a fat kid 😆), so I understand how she feels. You gave her a very good advice, she should learn to shrug off the negative comments and focus on improving herself. Although it's never easy at first, it will get better as time goes on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Funny to also see a fellow fat kid who shook off negativity, I am sure she will, because I asked her mom today at work, she had left for school. I wish her all the best

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The society's standard of beauty are worst, because they want us to be this “perfect image” when nobody is perfect...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you are now an inspiration.. I hope you inspired the son of your friend also you inspired me.. Thanks for sharing..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am glad this was a source of inspiration to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's positivity! Yeah, we might not be perfect, but what matters the most is how and what we look at ourselves. Keep the self-development.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear, no one is ever perfect in the eyes of others but only in our eyes can see be perfect. So if we see ourselves from the eyes of others, we are bound to be disappointed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this write up. There are many out there that needs to hear this. Beauty does not have exception. We are beautiful as we are because we are perfectly made by God.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am so happy, you were able to connect with what I wrote, sincerely if we can focus more on our inside than what people say about us, we will make the world a better place with our contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago