When Love Isn't Enough

11 66
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

my darling I treasure you above all things, I promise to love and cherish you all my days but when love isn't enough, I promise to give myself, my all and everything I ever treasured - Dr. Wrinkle

unsplash.com

It's so good when we fall in love and be loved back, that's the simple rule of relationship. But this form of love is becoming archaic, everyone now gets bonded not just for being in a relationship but also for other benefits. 

Couples are falling apart, not because of lack of love but they are just bored, they have nothing else to offer. Relationships based on just love suffer a lot of setbacks, ever thought about. What will happen if you wake up and love is no longer enough, what else will you give ?

If I am asked this question, I will smile and say all that is on my mind. Before we venture into the unwinding journey called relationship, we need to have back up plans, lots of activities set out to buttress our love story. A relationship based on love grows but when other elements are added, it grows stronger and better. Here are my list of what I will give when love isn't enough anymore ;

1)My Prayers : Everyone knows the benefits of prayers and how lovely it is, when we know someone somewhere is praying for us. Most times you just have to hold hands with your partner and pray for them. Pray for their success, pray for new ideas and goals of accomplishment. Pray for a better lasting relationship. You don't need to be a prayer warrior before you do this, simple prayers could rekindle love flames that were already going low. There is no sweet feeling like calling your partner, just to give them assurance of them getting the job for the interview they are preparing for, having a fulfilled day because you prayed for it. My darling, when my love bank is exhausted, I will give you my prayers.

2) My Money : Ladies giving your partner your money doesn't mean you are weak or too desperate to sustain the relationship, it shows how much you value it. It might not necessarily mean giving your partner all your money, but being there for them at the point of their need. Going out for lunch, you can always show interest in paying for it. Out of rent, you could also assist in paying for it. Relationships are far from romance and s^x, it is a union and in such a union a lot of things have to be shared, even our finances.  And always seek their permission to settle bills, especially for the ladies, as most men see it as a sign of weakness.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

I still remember the day we went out for lunch on our first date, after we might have finished and the bill was handed to us, I glanced at it and whispered politely, I will like to assist. He accepted and I handed half of the bill to him. Till date, he is still talking about it. At Least if we run out of love in our love bank, we still have a memory to hold.

3) My Good Deed : Have you ever thought of how your good deeds, behavior and attitude could really affect your relationship, either positively or negatively. The little kindness you showed to someone and they say good things about you could be of positive impact on your relationship. Let's assume, you helped a poor woman in your street, and while taking a walk with your partner, she stops both of you just to express her gratitude again and tells your partner of how nice you are, they Will be happy and proud of you. Or inviting them to your office end of year party, and your employer and colleagues says good things about you, how nice and hardworking you are, that Could make them not want to lose you.  So when love is no more to give, I will give my good deeds.

4) My Time : When the love bank is exhausted and your partner is already running out of patience with you, why not give them extra time. Be there for them at their lowest time. If it's a long distance relationship, calls, text and video calls could be a way of spending quality time with your partner. Don't wait until they do so, if both of you can cultivate this habit, then when love is exhausted, your time with your partner will keep your relationship going.

5) Assurance : When a relationship isn't going well. The first step is to realize the problem and try to solve it. Discuss it with your partner, and try to see how it could be fixed. Hey! Babe, it's been a month, we both laughed together, went swimming or hung out. I know things ain't smooth between us, but I assure you, we can fix it. Everyone wants to hear these words. We can fix it, explain, you valued the relationship. 

When love isn't enough, you need to find a way to save your relationship. It doesn't matter who is at the receiving end, all that matters is how much was given and did it ever make any difference. Stay blessed today.

Let me hear from my readers, if love isn't enough in your relationship, what else can you give ?

Lead image : unsplash.com



12
$ 2.62
$ 2.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Phantastic
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

In the interview with Kristine Hermosa, she said that it's not everyday that you love each other but the most important thing is that you chose to be with each other even in times of struggles. When love isn't enough, find reasons to stay and pray to the Lord for guidance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was a perfect contribution..I so much admire your quote

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love is not enough, you need time, effort, assurance, and of course God in our hearts. Because He will help us to protect our relationships.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct my dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything that has to do with love is complicated, even when the idea that "love must flow" is sold. Love is often more work and construction than things that just happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you dear sister

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I strongly agree with you, love requires time, energy and idea... You can't just sit and love flows

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Perfectly listed and well said, when love isn't enough anymore, I will give my most valued jewelry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That will be interesting, knowing you did all you could to savage your relationship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bruhh, so far, in my 4 months of being here in read. cash, this the first article that made me read it completely, word-by-word. I just simply have related my past experiences to this article. What a catchy and nice context! Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am blushing already.. Thank you for your kind words

$ 0.00
1 year ago