What Hurts The Most Doesn't Kill Us, But Makes Us Stronger

25 48
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago
Unsplash.com

Everyone has their own battle to face, that's why we need not bug people who choose to be on their own. The world today is a battlefield, vast with different problems and situations. Most times we are forced to question our existence. Research shows, not everyone can be happy at the same time. While you are struggling with your demons, another man is celebrating his victory. The Bible talks about, ' time for everything'.  

The good part of our struggles remains: they bring the best out of us. I still remember the first day, I learnt how to ride a bicycle. I wasn't able to control the pedals, which made me fall into a ditch. I knew the only way to get off, that trouble was to know how to balance the wheel. That really shaped me into becoming a better rider. 

Another instance was during my high school days. I had a poor performance in school, and I wasn't happy about it. Going home with such a result, usually earned me some beatings from my dad. I had to sit up and study, it wasn't because I wanted to, but to avoid being flogged. Today, I am a better and successful person. This clearly explains the fact, tough times are always  there to make you a better person.

Here is a list of struggles, which could shaped you into becoming a better person:

1) Heartbreaks: Almost everyone has gotten their heart broken, either from their partners, close friends or family members. You might be thinking of just a lover breaking your heart, cheating on you or failing to keep to their promises. That's no doubt, heartbreak. But let's look at it from a different perspective, heartbreak could also stem from close friends. Imagine, your friend refusing to help you, even when you know they have all it takes to do so. It will leave you heartbroken. 

Such feelings could last for a while, could span for months or more. But when such an individual bounces back. He/she will be careful not to make the same mistake again. That is the beauty of tough times, he/she will trust less, love less or even stop associating with such people.

2) Rejection: Nothing hurts like being rejected, that feeling of not being good enough could dampen your day and make life terrible for you. Let's assume you went for an interview, and you couldn't meet up with the requirements, you were dismissed. That feeling of being rejected will shape you into becoming a better version of yourself. I have seen people who couldn't get their desired job, due to a qualification they lacked, invest their time and energy just to get them. That is a boost to themselves, aside from them getting their dream job, they have also added to their bank of knowledge.

3) College: This phase is when we get to learn, the rudiments of life. How and when to reacts to situations. Moment you need to wake up even when you slept late, so you don't miss morning lectures.  Other times, you could be blessed with bullies, both as lecturers and colleagues. So you learn to deal with such people. 

This is all the training you need, to become a better person. Knowing when to win, lose, celebrate your wins and mourn your losses. College is not just an institution of learning but also a place where morale standards are augmented.

4) Relationships: This is a different learning ground. You tend to meet with people of different ideology, and philosophy. How you connect with them matters a lot. This also shapes you, into adapting to whatever situation or people you find yourself in. 

In relationships, you also learn how to compromise, that is, put others first. This simple attitude could shape your life into becoming a great leader in future.

5) Your Past: Have you ever remembered a past and either gotten angry or happy with the way you reacted? That's awesome if you do, it shows you are trying to become a person, different from who you used to be. The old saying of experience being the best teacher still stand till date.

It's very rare seeing people go through the same hurdles over and over again, if they do, then know they are not learning from their past. A wise person will have a myriad of events in his/her mind, to always reflect on regularly. You may not be able to change your past, but you can learn from it. 

There are other numerous life challenges, which I will still talk about in future articles. All this contributes to making us better individuals. 

So while going through tough situations, you don't need to rush out of it, without learning something new. Maybe you were meant to go through an abusive relationship for you to appreciate a better one. Your boss shouts at you every time and you are already tired of the job, be calm, develop a thick skin and this will help you in other jobs in future. 

No one was meant to be sad forever, every situation in life is a lesson for tomorrow. Cheers!!!

Lead image: unsplash.com




12
$ 1.34
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

My dear, everything in life shapes us into becoming a better person depending on how we choose to see it. Everything in life would stress us and we can only hope it's into a better shape based on how we choose to see them and handle them. Heartbreak is number one as you have listed 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why are you laughing😁 has it thought you a great lesson?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely hahahaha heartbreak taught me a lot...to focus on myself first and stop seeking approval from others. If you are not happy with yourself, don't expect another person to give you happiness because most of the time they will drop it since they also have things they are dealing with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought as much, someone heart was broken before. You are really saying the truth, you don't have to base your happiness on other people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣 broken? No... Battered... Shattered... 😂😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sounds much like they broke, pounded and made an heart dish from your heart. 😆😆😆😆😆😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣🤣😂😂 they even served me the dish. How cruel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the things you mentioned can actually crumple us for once in a moment, but they will surely make us stronger and I strongly with that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear, for agreeing with me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes the best way to actually learn something is to experience failure. A person who doesn't come across difficulties and challenges while working on something will find it hard to master that thing, it sounds weird but that's the truth. Whenever we experience failure that gives us pain (it doesn't have to be physical pain), our brain pushes us to do better next time so that we won't experience that pain again. By doing that, we keep getting better as time goes on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said, my dear friend. Going through difficulties, prepares our minds towards more task ones ahead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Deep insights dear Wrinkle, I've definitely been there before, I've experienced beatings from my day, been heartbroken and felt rejected before, and just like you have rightfully said; I'm gradually getting stronger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so happy, you could relate to the instances I gave, I am sure you are a better person now.so good to have you back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear friend, I'm better now. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No one was meant to be sad forever, every situation in life is a lesson for tomorrow. Cheers!!!👉I totally agree with this. There is a saying: what doesn't kill you makes you stronger

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear, you are right. We grow with every pain, we take

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we get used to it painfully

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Struggle polish our personality and brings our best . And also in relationship we learn how to do compromise

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very True 👍. I've learnt so much from difficult situations and my lessons have been helping me. Today, I don't think I'll feel much hurt if I'm heartbroken in relationship because I know the takes there in, I should be prepared before going into a relationship.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said! What crushes us, makes us a better and stronger person than we are yesterday. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right my dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In life, we have tried and failed, trusted and been trusted too. We have disappointed and have been disappointed as well, all these are humans aams the great lesson from this post is to build up with them all. The past is really a lesson

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your intelligible words usually knocks me off my feet, you are really a skilled person with a high IQ. Yes my dear, the past should remain a lesson to the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😊 for your kind words

$ 0.00
1 year ago