Loneliness Kills, Be Vigilant

19 73
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Been to a party where everyone is happy and you are by the corner, not because you don't know people there but the setting of the party doesn't suit you. Have you ever been with your relatives and all that is happening around, you can't relate. Suddenly you have this feeling of not belonging, You just want to be put off and sit by the corner. Its not okay to feel this way, though at times its good for us to be left alone to ponder about our future, but when this desire becomes constant with no benefit, it becomes a thing of concern.

Loneliness

That constant feeling of wanting to be alone always is what we call loneliness. To a layman it is the constant feelings of being isolated from people, it could be as a result the lose of a loved one, lose of a job or having a bad day.  This feeling often originate from a common source called depression.  And in chronic stage could result in suicide.

Will talk about depression in further articles.

Loneliness has been a challenge for both the young and old, single and engaged, rich and poor and it has no boundary. Cases of loneliness has been undermined in young and old people. I call them the vulnerable ones, being neglected because we feel they have no reason to be lonely. I once heard someone told a friend how her teenager daughter said she was lonely, how she dismissed her and they both laughed. I felt bad, knowing such dismissal is detrimental, It could result in the child being secretive and further alienating from people.

The older people are often neglected with this stereotype feeling of them, having enjoyed the world and so they don't need much association with people anymore. This often throw me into a quest for answer, does loneliness have any age limit ? 

There is no age limit, anyone could feel lonely.

Research has found loneliness to be the leading  cause of some cardiovascular diseases like stroke and hypertension. Studies has shown inactivity is an important role in the cause of death of people with people having cardiovascular. It has also been found to be the cause of dementia. Loneliness has been seen to be more detrimental than just the peace of mind we get from isolating from others.

Why You Should Snap Out Of Loneliness

  1. It helps to reduce suicidal thoughts and even risk of commiting suicide.

  2. It reduces the risk of having cardiovascular diseases.

  3. It helps boast our sphere of friends.

  4. It increases longitivity.

  5. You need to snap out being lonely, so you Will be happy.

  6. It makes you think well, as stress hormone which is released during loneliness impairs cognitive reasoning .

How To Snap Out Of Loneliness

They are several steps of pulling off the dangerous pawn of loneliness, here are a list of things to do;

  1. Acknowledgement : Being aware of your mental health and seeking help is the most important step in pulling of the pawn of loneliness. Most people assume if they tell others about their condition they could be turned down or laughed at, just like the little girl who told the mom about being lonely. Instances like this should prepare our minds to any outcome from anyone either positive or negative. And we should be selective about the people we inform about our health challenge.

  1. Self Love : This could be expressed in different forms ranging from taking yourself out to preparing your favorite meals. Being so careful of the kind of thoughts we allowed in our mind, making sure things or situations that will trigger our loneliness are put off, like medical reports, lose of a loved one.. All of this should be out of mind. Taking yourself to the park or involving in outdoor activities like hiking, skating or playing games could also help us shake off loneliness. 

  1. Love others : The challenge of most lonely people is being hated by others. They often feel others don't value them and so they tend to pull away from others. Rather than wait for others to express their love to you, why not show it first. Knowing you are responsible for the happiness of others will go along way to brighten our countenance. Visiting destitute centers and donating to charity is another way of expressing our love to others. Be willing to help others and watch your mode heighten.

make new friends at every slightest opportunity, and never wait searching for a perfect friend because they is no perfect friend. But loving your friend in the perfect exist. Most lonely people show this symptom of perfectionism, always waiting to find someone who fits into all their requirements which is way too impossible, make friends regardless of their flaws. And watch them make your life more interesting.

Final Words

Loneliness has killed more people than the world deadliest cancer. We should try to talk to someone when we feel the symptoms of loneliness. Help others shake off loneliness and watch the world be a better place.

I share in your pains and struggles, if nobody has told you this today, I just wanted saying you are an amazing being, full of life, love and you are so special to me that I wish to see you everyday. I love you Now and always.Do have a wonderful day, and please don't forget to make others smile. Cheers!!!


10
$ 0.13
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @UsagiGallardo215
+ 4
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

well, being alone is celebrating solitude, I myself want to be alone, I am happier that way and I don't feel loneliness; that goes to me but not to others.

Loneliness is indeed a sad word. After I read many stories about people being lonely when alone, I changed my direction of keeping the people around me not feeling it. Especially when my father died and my mother was left alone with us. The good thing is that my children love her so much and volunteered of staying beside her, especially at night. It lessened my worry for her about loneliness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so thoughtful of them, loneliness is really a bad thing to experience

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad they did it without me telling them to. But sometimes I get jealous because they don't sleep beside me, I had to bribe them sometimes. but I guess that was one of the negative effects on me spending most of my time at work and little on them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is also the reason why I am so happy to have my partner. He is my living therapist. He listens to me everyday and I feel relieved and safe while doing it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't get me jealous😂, its always so amazing finding someone who listens to all our complains

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, loneliness is more deadly than cancer. Loneliness is the feeling of emptiness, that leads you to drown yourself with sadness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your right because no matter what age we are we can feel the loneliness your talking about and we need to get over it no matter how hard it will be

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this, these past few days I feel so alone and lonely due to some personal reasons and isolate myself from others, but thankfully there is someone I can lean on during this kind of time and situation, where I can share things, and that is my boyfriend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy you have someone you can talk to..please scare away the feelings of being lonely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister although I love to spend my life lonely but sometimes I becomes totally sad from this life so I need someone to hug and kiss me. I am hopeful acknowledgment and self love also help me to rule out these feelings who made me alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really need to stay off the radar of loneliness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for these article, well said loneliness brings about bad thought

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome, I hope you are not planning of being lonely

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Loneliness is not good even though it sometimes makes us to think deep into our lives. Constant loneliness can lead to depression,,I mean if someone is always isolating his/her for any reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Wrinkle, you wrote very nice, especially the last part of your article was very heartwarming. Thank you for being so kind and a good friend. Loneliness is really hard and painful, and as you said, it can seriously harm our health. I wish no one in the world experiences this feeling...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks darling, let's spread the love

$ 0.00
1 year ago