How My Fear Killed Me

33 65
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

It was a busy day, trying to ease my head off the trouble of the previous day reading some articles, i came across a beautiful prompt about fear written by @emily2u so i decided to join. @JonicaBradley this is my article for your prompt.

My husband looked at me while the doctor made his diagnosis. I was lost in thought, my legs became too fragile to bear my body. He said I was going to be placed on antidiabetic drugs for the rest of my life, since it was a complication of my new disease. I could see a lot of unanswered questions through his eyes, probably one of it was, why he chose me. With the pain all through my body, I managed to ask the doctor what was wrong with me.

Mrs. Anders it is a genetic disorder, he said, it is called Werner's syndrome, a rare genetic disorder that results in premature aging, was all he added. But I am only 30 years of age, I complained to the doctor.

I sat gently on the sofa, this time not paying attention to the pains rocking my body, but to our wedding vows. When he smiled and said those beautiful words to me ' In sickness or in health, till death do us part ' did he really meant it, those were answers I wanted to get searching his eyes.

We left the hospital and he was just confused not knowing what to say to me, but I had a thousand and one things to tell him for I was the wounded one. We drove for over an hour back home, still silent but at the corner of my eyes were tears. Alas! My deepest fear has come upon me. Opening the door I walked in, no one came to say hi to us, we had no children, just our dog ' Ransom ' , but what has a dog got to say than howl and wiggle its tail. We had no children because we were barely married for 6 months.

It was a hot afternoon, so I had to take my bath before I made lunch for both of us. While in the bathroom, I looked in the mirror and discovered I wasn't aging gradually but faster, more than the doctor had said. I could feel my cheek bones, they were visible wrinkles on my forehead, my legs couldn't bare my body for long. I let out a scream and he walked in. The man I said 'yes I do ' to walked in, he was shocked to see my frail body, that wondering look came up again. I knew he was wondering who this tiny little old lady was.

I spoke softly for all my strength had been used to scream, I am your wife, saying this I covered my face with my hands and began to cry. Anderson never said a word but came closer hugging me assuring me everything will be alright. He bath me, and carried me like a baby into our room. He help dressed me and while he was about leaving, I called out his name. 'Anderson, can I ask you a question ? ' . All this while he was backing me, not because he didn't want to look at me but was hiding his tears from me. He turned around, I saw those tears even though my eyes were getting old and weary, I knew he was crying.

Anderson, I know you are trying to avoid hurting me, but your silence hurts me the most. While growing up, I used to tell myself when am finally married, I will have 3 lovely kids, and every Friday I will take them to the park, just to have a special moment with them. But now the story has change, have stopped ovulating, I can't even take care of myself. I know this wasn't the woman, you wanted spending the rest of your life with, I wonder why this so called genetic disorder never came up since I was a kid, probably you wouldn't have noticed me, I stopped just to look at him.

I knew you fell in love with a ballard dancer but now I could barely stand for an hour, honey I wanted asking you, what if you woke up one morning and I could barely move my body, I could barely see and I lost control of speech, will you still love me ?

My heart raced for they was great silence in the room, those words had bitten deep into him. He called me a name, I will never forget, not so soon, he said 'My ageless queen, though time and fate has decided to play a fast one on us doesn't mean I will let go of what I held dear to me, you might be at your worst, looking horrible for all that the sickness cared but trust me, it will never change my love for you. It was meant to be for better or worst, and if I had the opportunity of walking down the aisle the second time, I will still chose you over and over again, and if there is no you, then I will die a monk. Yes honey, I will still love you.

He came closer and kissed me, held my hand and we walked slowly to the dinning table. He made me wait while he prepared lunch for us, a routine he will be doing for the rest of our life together.

Four months later we adopted Mike and Jessica, the children I loved and cherish till I died.

This was the diary of my foster mother 'Mrs. Sophia Anderson', he bowed and left the podium, taking a final glance at her lifeless mom.

Aging comes with a price, a price we pay till our dying day, and that is the price of being vulnerable and that is why aging as always been my greatest fear.

This is my participation in the Writing prompt challenge: Fear

  1. Please search for promptly Jonica community and join, so sorry my browser doesn't support me sharing links.

2. Write anything about FEAR

3. W rite 100% original content

4. Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

5. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

6. Tag @JonicaBradley

7. Have fun!

Lead image : Unsplash.com

16
$ 0.50
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @pejudear
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

is this a story dear? Please, if there is no story, I will be very sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a story

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh yeahhhh thanks dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow! Getting old will remain the scary thing for all of us because it is the mysterious unknown that is inevitable with all its repercussions in our body, but it is the life cycle and we must complete it, I really liked the article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy you loved it... Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You carry the whole story with such grace I love the part which made it more filmy where he came near kissed and moved to donning I just love it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? Thanks for reading it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow my dear Wrinkle, this story was incredibly inspiring and beautiful. I was impressed by reading it. Health is a great blessing. Life has different stages, and perhaps the most difficult is aging. I hope that every person will go through his old age in peace and in his natural routine. You wrote such a Wow prompt... 👌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! You are right, health is wealth

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scary indeed! May we not see such in our lives because a lot of us won't be able to bear such pain and hence the home would scatter.

Nice write up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear kacy😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This piece makes me wanna join the prompt :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will be so glad if you do..and pls don't forget to tag me 😃😃😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear I love the story, I feel sad and my tear's formed. I suddenly felt sad for what had happen to her. Thankfully her husband still love her after all. She was still blessed to have a caring and loving husband. I also felt some fears about aging, but I know I cannot control the time. Weather I like it or not I'm still going to be old one day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear but that fear is what we can't tell

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I really enjoy going through those lines, fear is very bad, it's can kill faster than anything other thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fear kills faster my dear, that is why it is advisable to live our best life without fear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so love this story is so touching, the word FEAR is holding me from being married I sometimes wonder is this person the right one for me?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really, you don't have to be scared of marrying, most times , we could be Lucky to get a perfect match match

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would gladly join this prompt today or tomorrow. It's good to share what we fear may be to at least release some kind of tension.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, it is, the contest is open to anyone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I wouldn't want to be left out either. I'll join in the prompt soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That will be so lovely...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I'm so excited to see this!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't wait to read what you write.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Great start to what I hope is a long relationship with PromptlyJonica and the wiring prompts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear, am in for a long ride with promptly jonica

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't forget you can choose to write any of the prompts any time as many times as you want forever. https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-54dee65a

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure dear, I will always stop by, but then my article hasn't been approved into your community

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hah! You are right! I got so excited reading the story I forgot to approve it. I'm sorry. You are approved, now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 alright dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yaaaaayyyyyyy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌

$ 0.00
1 year ago