"Lang",(only, just)

21 23
Avatar for Winx1988
1 year ago
Topics: My own thoughts

"Lang, a Filipino word which means just in English. It is a Filipino expression that means" lack of something and sometimes accompanied by a facial expressions 🤨". I have heard this topic from a valedictorian speech who emphasizes this word "Lang", as often described with her profession as a teacher, she experienced being criticized by some of her relatives, because she's a very intelligent lady, and people say, "you just take up education, the salary was too low".

I know that there are a lot of Education graduates here in this platform and I don't know if they have experienced the same thing. Personally, I admire every teachers, they are true great heroes for helping us in molding our children's intelligence and helping them to grow in knowledge and become a second parent. There's no greatest leaders in the world, when there's nobody who teach them.

There are some working people who have received such comments, like a janitor, a nanny, a construction worker, a farmer and many more jobs that doesn't have high pay check every month. It comes when a person doesn't met expectations.

When I used to watch TV in the afternoon , specifically in Eat Bulaga, and showtime, some of the contestants of the show were ask, "what is your job," anong trabaho mo?, and he will reply, "driver Lang po ako", or "I'm just a driver". And the other one is, "nagtitinda Lang po ako ng snack sa may Kanto", "I'm just selling snacks on the street".

Even the person itself, have used this word to describe his/her work, it seems that it emphasizes less confidence or too low, compared to others.Or like self-pitying for saying with a "Lang" at the end of their description or phrase to describe himself with regards to his work or educational attainment.

"What is your educational attainment? I'm just a high school graduate.

" Anong na tapos mo? High-school Lang po. "

Even me, when one of my classmate on high-school have chatted me a long time ago, she ask me, "what's your job?", and I said"Im just a full time mom". I was thinking that she gonna ask me back why? I thought that she will say, you were class valedictorian, why did you ended up a full time mom?

But I was wrong, she said, "it's hard to become a full time mom, and I resigned also to take care of my children.And I was thinking that I become critical to myself for thinking too much negativity. But, honestly, most people who really know me, will say" why did you just stay in the house weng, you supposed to be in an office right now". I don't need to defend myself more because I'm too tired already of being defensive for many years.

What am I going to emphasize here is that, we should never underestimate others craft, or area of profession like a teacher, even a security guard, service crew and sweeper on the streets. Each of us has its own journey that we want to pursue in this life.

Like a teacher, it's a noble job that requires more than 8 hours of working, learning and even personal interactions with their students. A tricycle driver who take us to wherever we go, when we go to the market, or in town. They give their effort to save up money for their children's education, food and other basic necessities.

A side walk vendor, who sell street foods night and day to gain money in order to sustain their family. Who walk around against any risks, for the sake of living, it's something that we should be proud of, because they are hardworking people, who used their strength and effort.

Anyone who has its own work to be part of the society deserves respect and high regards despite of any accomplishments we may possessed.


"Lang or just in self denial"

"Lang"(Just), is sometimes used in denial to our true feelings like being sad.

"Are you okay?", "Okay ka Lang ba? "

"I'm just fine?", "Okay Lang ako!".

Even if deep inside he/she is not okay. I often used this word to deny my feelings when my husband asks me, if I'm fine, I'm just fine, even if I'm not.

The use of the word "Lang (just)", should be in a right statement to especially when it's pertaining to a person's employment status of our family, specifically our parents who supports us daily. It doesn't mean that we will never try to do better to improved ourselves. But, it what I want to say is that, we should always give importance and value whatever source of income we have or kind of work.

Even if it's a one word, but once we can used it in a wrong way, approach to someone, it will relay message that sounds negative.

A sentence ends with a period, is a statement, but once a statement is connected with a words that is doubtful, it's often misinterpreted like,:

Why did you just end up being a mom?

I'm just a full time mom.

Your just a nanny?

I'm just a bagger.

I'm just a dressmaker.

Instead, we can say:

I am a full time mom.

I'm a dressmaker.

I'm a driver.

I'm a collector.

I'm a writer.

Say it, with confidence, to enable us to move forward, and face possible opportunities that may comes our way. If ever, things won't work, our confidence will drive us through to seek more possible ways.

Final thoughts

Your value as a person doesn't depend on whatever you have, everyone is valid and valuable. Some people are weak, and vulnerable, that is why, we should always be careful to what we say or do.


It's 4:52as I finished writing this article, I appreciate everyone who visit my posts.

Love lots!

All images came from unsplash.com.

10
$ 0.76
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.03 from @LeticiaFelize
+ 4
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
1 year ago
Topics: My own thoughts

Comments

"Lang" sometimes denotes insecurity, sometimes feeling na minamaliit ang sarili. Let's erase that attitude of underestimating our capacities, job, capabilities.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agree to what you said sis. It really expresses self doubt l. We should eliminate that and starts with ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't just do a job, my dear. you are very professional lang very nice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like that you have used our word in your sentence, "Lang", means only. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

☺☺☺☺😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me tinanong ng asawa ko, 'kelan ka huling uminom ng coke?' Me: KAHAPON LANG! (Pero ang totoo ilang araw na nagcocoke) Bwahahaha

Pero seriously, kapag sa sarili natin ginagamit yung LANG sa mga sagot natin feeling ko tayo mismo hindi proud sa kung ano meron tayo. Kinagisnan kasi natin yung pagmamaliit sa trabaho or kung ano meron ang iba bases sa pera na hindi naman dapat.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Heheh, white lie pala Yong sis.

Yon nga, kahit ako, nasasabi ko talaga minSan may karugtong na Lang, nakasanayan na talaga, sa expression natin mga Pinoy, pero sa totoo,parang nag self pity ako pag may Lang ang pag describe sa isang trabaho o Tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Or minsan pwede ding nagiging humble lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam mo, naaala ko un isang classmate ko. I was applying for work that time then nakita nya ako. She asked me kung ano inaaplyan ko, I said pananahi.. Then she said, ikaw ang laging top 1 sa klase natin, mananahi lang aplyan mo. I was really hurt, feeling ko sinampal ako. Ang skit sa feeling. Even up to now pag naalala ko eh nasasaktan p din ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw, ang sakit nga nyan sis, hay, relate ako, na experienced ko din dati nag apply ako NG work, na reject ang application ko kasi two years Lang na tapos ko,kahit PA daw marunong ako, pero sablay sa papers. hanggang ngayon fresh PA sa akin Yong araw na yon.

Tagos na Tagos sis noh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis as in. Pero I may be lacking of what they have now pero fortunate pa din ako to have a family. Ksi last na balita ko sa classmate ko na yun eh hiwalay sa asawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay malungkot yan. hindi naman material na bagay ang basehan ng magandang buhay, Yong kapayapaan at nagmamahalan ang isang tahanan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree ako dyan sis..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we cannot blame people if they used lang or just for themselves. naging normal na kasi ate ang ganyang salita at pag gamit ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis, dapat di talaga e underestimate kung ano man Ang katayuan o narating ng isang tao. Minsan kasi nagiging judgemental Yung iba porket nakakaangat lang sa Buhay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana maging masaya na Lang kung anu. An ang na rating sa buhay ng bawat isa. Kung ang pag ang at sa buhay ay Naging sanhi ng pagiging mapagmataas, yon ay hindi ka aya-aya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can't change the fact that it was normal thing now, people say 'lang'; for me, we do that to end up more question, we lived in a world full of judgment. Well, those "lang" is exceptionally.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True, it's our way of concluding sometimes with our present situations. It's sad that this kind of thing will be a norm in the society, and it really did.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis. We shouldn't judge. We shouldn't underestimate. Educ Graduate ako sis. Yun nga lang di ko pinursue kasi I don't have a passion in teaching. Ang habol ko lang talaga is yung major ko but I don't like teaching. Yung hindi ako masaya sis. I salute all the teachers out there at sa lahat ng taong nagtrabaho ng marangal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Educ ka pala sis, hindi basta basta ang maging teacher sis noh, Yong learning mo, parang endless na. Dahil everyday nagtuturo, it's your choice naman,Naging honest ka sa sarili mo n hi di mo passion ang pagtuturo. Doing what you love is more profitable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Educ course ko. Oo sis sinunod ko yung gusto ko sis kaysa mag teach ako sis na hindi naman mag pag happy sakin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago