Am I that old?

22 36
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

In the Philippines,if we approached a person who is older than us we called them,"ante or aunt for a woman,Angkol or auncle for a boy.But how would you feel to be called"auntie" when you were just 25 and a man who age 45 called you ante?,hehe,isn't that shameful?

This is my experienced before when we used to lived in a place where my husband used to worked.One day,his co-workers come into our house because they planted some trees as a part of their group activity as a team.And there's a man calling outside the door,and said"Auntie,can I have a glass of water?"

I was shocked,hehe.He is a big man, one of the leader of the group who aged almost 50,but he called me "Auntie",it hurts me a bit😅.Then,I'm asking to myself"Am I that old?".I keep on murmuring while I'm alone,then I look my face on the mirror,I saw my hair wasn't fixed and my clothes were too old.Maybe that's why,I was called by that man ,Auntie.But I don't keep on pitying myself for that matter,because I do have a lot of things to consider.

Then,we used to attend a worship service in their area on a Sunday morning,for the second time somebody called me "Auntie "again but I'm happy because he was a young boy,haha

To be honest,it makes me sad to look older than my age,it gives me trouble,just a slight,on how to dressed up like my age.I buy some products to apply on my face.When I told my husband about that,he just don't mind it,he said that,"it doesn't matter to him,because I was special in his heart".Maybe he was a kind of "bolero",but he told me that,many times.Then I asked him why do some people called me that way,he said that,I am a kind of a serious person,like my eyes looks ,and I didn't smile more often.I have a strict attitude and speaks like I'm an older woman.In,short,I act as I'm not on my age.

And then,someone have given me an advice that really enlightens me.She said that,"I shouldn't worry,at least there's one person who really appreciates me,then it's okay.My personality and attitude is my identity and it's good to be true to ourselves rather than living in a shallow personality ."

Well,honestly,I don't know how to act like my age,do I need to go with the flow like mellenials style of clothing,or speaking.As for me,I want to live being myself,just to be me of who I am.

I am a kind of person who doesn't want to pretend if I have something to tell.But with comes to physical attributes ,I am a very old fashioned woman who used to be a conservative and outdated.My clothes when I'm home are those stretchable dress,shorts.But,I also have the desire to have a self makeover like rebond,which really most ladies and woman want to have.

Actually,this was one of the changes that most women encounter,once we get married.There is a conflict with providing our families need first before buying stuffs for ourselves like clothes,and beauty products.

That moment of my life that I have mention on the top happens a a few years ago,was a stressful days of my life and having a health problems was an unforgettable.It reminds me that I should take care of myself,even though I'm already married,not to pleased people but it's about self-care.

I'm turning 34 this year,but I do have my daily routine of taking care of myself,especially my face.My face has a lot of pimple marks,since I have pimples when I was in highschool.My children ask me if it will fade.That's why I keep on telling my daughter once she got pimple,she should not scratch it,so that it will not leave any marks.My self insecurity have caused me low self confidence when I face with the crowd.

Since I was studying I do have a lot of insecurities with myself.Like when I applied for a job,I easily discouraged when there is a required pleasing personality ,I back out right away.I know that it's not helping me,but it will just drag me down myself.I think one thing that gives me confident that my husband loves me more than I do.

And I realized that I should always take care of myself,there are people who doesn't appreciate me,the fact that this body is just a temporary.In the end,I should be the first one to value myself,because I am created with love by the Creator.

Loving ourselves is not a kind of selfishness as long as we don't take ourselves higher by dragging others,or just to make people admire us.Its just a matter of giving importance to who we really are,and accepting our flaws .

This is me,a morena,short .I do have two kids and one husband.My physical appearance is my identity,it doesn't matter people won't appreciate it,but I do give importance to myself,this is my responsibility.

I don't let other people drag me down because of this face,but I do face criticisms with uprightness and patience.Even though how do I look like,i am, Me.


Hello everyone,thanks for having you here today,my sponsors ,upvoters,readers and to all of you.

Thank you🥰.

10
$ 2.90
$ 2.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @UsagiGallardo215
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

Comments

I know this is an old article but your title attracts me. "Feeling old" is all in our minds. It's true that some people do look naturally attractive but many are not. I am 45, with 2 children. People call me aunty too and that's okay because I am older than them. But I do feel offended if someone older calls me aunty especially if they look obviously older than me hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha,I can relate to that ,I'm 33 already but I experienced a 42 years old man called me aunty,I felt sad when I hear that,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis hindi namn po mahalaga kung anu man ang nakikita ng iba sa atin ang importante mahal tau ng taong mahal din natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga,yon ang mahalaga,ang tao talaga palaging may masasabi ,sa lahat ng aspeto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis relate ako jan, kapag kasi talaga sa province eh ganun eh. Larang sign of respect nila. May nagsabi din sa akin nyan na obviously eh mas mtanda sya sa akin, napatanong talaga ako sa sarili ko, ganun na ba ako katanda tingnan, hahaha.. Oero ngayon eh okay lang sa akin na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha,ganon din ako sis, medyo naapektuhan lang talaga ako that time sis,pero ngayong okay na ako,madami talaga tumatawag sa akin ng ate eh ,nasanay na ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama, hehehe, sanayan na lang din yan eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty is always in the eye of the beholder. We are all beautiful in our own way🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree,we are all beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self-love should not be ignored. At the end of the day, it all starts with taking care of ourselves.

I think calling someone auntie is just out of respect but not literally like saying ate or mama or ale or sis or bro :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right,that man is a respectful person ,he is a friend of our family. Maybe I was just too sensitive that time and stress for having an illness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman masama magpaganda tayo ang masama don yung judgemental na mga tao haha. Minsan na e insecure ako sa iba pero mas pinili ko din alagaan sarili ko. You're not too old maganda ka nga po eh 🥰 nice meeting you here and see you around 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you,oo nga,hindi natin pababayaan ang sarili natin ,kahit na may asawa or single man,kahit gaano ka busy,we should have self care always.Nice meeting you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ug tawagon kog angkol gina lubag nako dayun ang liog HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha,uy kakuyaw pod ana imong style oi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess the man is just showing sign of respect for you because he knows he's older than you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe he is,but he is a nice man,it was just me who get offended that time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis that's true. We must embrace ourselves. We are beautiful in our own way. We have a uniqueness. Your beautiful sis. Your husband feel it to you. You are special to him. Don't mind the others sis. We have our own. The important we are happy and we are healthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true sis,we beautiful in a way that we have a very unique personality.That time sis,I was too stress and having an illness that's why I was offended.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never mind them sis. We are beautiful. God made us the same. The true beauty is the inner beauty sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleasing personality does not necessarily mean a pretty face. There are girls with beautiful faces but whose personalities are hardly pleasing at all. It's your outlook. If you smile a lot - a real smile - that does wonders for your personality. For as long as we present ourselves neatly, our clothes are clean and not wrinkled, and we smile, and we connect with people, that will go a long way with employers and will more than meet the requirement of pleasing personality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago