I'll Do It Later - Procrastination

18 77
Avatar for Willtravis
2 years ago

I'm so tired now, allow me a little bit of rest. I know time is going but I need to finish up this movie. It's almost time to write an article but I'm so tired, I don't even know what to write. Yes I'm still coming, but im still in bed, I'll get up soon. Everyone must be guilty of this issue of procrastination, and it's not because we have bad characters or are weak, we don't really feel like it. Like who wouldn't wish he or she could lazy around the whole day and things would still be set in place for him or her to enjoy, you wish right, in fact we enjoyed that at our childhood but with a little task, yet nothing compared to what we face now, now it's "how you lay your bed, you'll lie on it.

However as quiet as this issue of Procrastination, we need to be loud about changing it. I have learnt how to pay more detailed attention to those matters that seems so hidden in us, they often create the most damages, same as this. Actually the issue of Procrastination exist across all stages, though we can't count the childhood as we were mostly dictated on what to do and forced into it, "go take your bath John, I mean now", "Go do your school assignment, go now" then you'll see us grumble, because its against our present feeling, we really want to Procrastinate. The older you wont grumble, you just won't do it, no one would spank you.

We know however that we face a larger punishment than being spanked as adult, if we had to choose between the aftermath result of our little Procrastination and being spanked as before I'm sure we would go for the latter. For example, going a little late to work could likely slash our pay eventually for those firms that hold stricts to late coming. Do those chores a little later may lead to the work being more cumbersome and likely ignored completely till when your mood is alright, that's why we put on dirty clothes for a longer time. The movie you can find time to see again, but that work not done remains undone until its done.

Adulthood is freedom no doubt, because we are now expected to have learnt and know how to control the situations. I grew up to seeing my dad wake up every morning as early as 5am so he could beat the heavy traffic, peradventure he took a went a little late then he would be getting to work later and maybe might lose few of his early customers, of course somedays he couldn't help but go later, sometimes he completely gets tired and stay off work, he's human after all, but he sure learnt to bring his mood and body under the subjection of the course, and more so for a personal business, not having a boss who forces it on him, indeed its discipline.

However I dont think I had such discipline, I and my dad were two different personalities when it came to Procrastination, well until I sat up to learn otherwise. I had in my early school always being punished by my teachers, I rarely went to school early, if I gone early then maybe I couldn't solve the assignment, so I came early enough to spy the answers before the teacher comes. However the normal me couldn't come early, mom tried the early morning water trick and it worked sometime, but I still had the attitude of not being early, cause I Procrastinated getting up from bed. This continued till my second year in the university.

Like who was going to force me to sleep early at night or wake up early in the morning. Absolutely no one, infact my brother I stayed with was no better than me, in fact he was only going to school for fun time not for lectures, so I tried, his full books were never having more than 3 pages written for the full session. Wonder how he managed the exams, though I feel he had an easier course unlike me dealing with all those chemical structures. I should have chosen dance instead and graduated in peace. Well, I had missed a few classes and practicals, and it were beginning to tell on my result, before I had a deep talk session were a speaker gave me the reason to adjust. God bless that man even if I can't remember his name anymore.

Yes i truly benefitted from the character adjust, as it helped my result be better, I had began to hope i learnt earlier. It's all good though. Well of recent I found out that I had began exhibiting this lazy character again and I had to call myself to order. And I guess that's the way it works, from time to time as humans we are bound to feel lazy and the urge to Procrastinate, of which we truly could but as soon as we realize this it's good we call ourselves to order.

Also knowing why it's bad in the first place would help in preparing the mind to kick against it, would shouldn't i rest, am I the president, even the president rest better with his comfy bed, so I need to rest, see how cajoling the mind works, so you can sleep some more. But knowing you have had enough rest already and are alone wasting the time now is key, knowing the Procrastination sets you behind time while it makes the work may cumbersome is good also. Knowing the time wasting can be better utilized to earn more or make you happy is also a great idea. So while the mind feeds you with sweet reasons to Procrastinate, you in turn feeds it with more logical reason why you mustn't.

For a lot of people, going through this work alone can be unproductive as they can't control the urge, so I'd advice on the need for getting someone trust worthy to hold you accountable. we call it the 2 factor authentication, where someone is there to watch you, you say I'll be here by 5 tomorrow, if I don't make it by then, then maybe take a few cash off me, or do anything else that would make you seat up, is often work, it starts as a game, but it puts the mind prepared as you know I have a task to complete and that crazy friend would laugh at me today.

In all guys, Procrastination is bad, it's not mere lazing, it actually steals from you, if at all it steals time, and time is the unit of life. Let's adjust.

Thanks For Reading.

Sponsors of Willtravis
empty
empty
empty

16
$ 5.65
$ 5.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @zulfrontado
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Avatar for Willtravis
2 years ago

Comments

For a many individuals, going through this work alone can be inefficient as they can't handle the desire, so I'd exhortation on the requirement for getting somebody trust qualified to consider you responsible. we consider it the 2 factor confirmation, where somebody is there to watch you, you say I'll be here by 5 tomorrow, assuming I don't make it by, then, at that point, possibly take a couple of money off me, or do whatever else that would make you seat up, is frequently work, it begins as a game, however it puts the brain ready as you most likely are aware I have an undertaking to finish and that insane companion would giggle at me today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So right, seems like an extract from a paragraph. Thanks so much. The 2 factor authentication is good to help us seat firm and be more intentional about doing it well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before, i used to do things in procrastination also. Even at work, as if no one push me to do it unless if it's really urgent or you will beat the deadline. Im more on doing things in eleventh-hour and i realized it's not a good attitude. Our laziness would bring us down one day. So I'll try to change this habit of mine that doing things in procrastination is not good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good you are deciding to make effort to stop the Procrastination, God help us all, most of us are guilty no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Don't put off until tomorrow what you can do today," is a common phrase. And he is really right, it's amazing how much time we lose by putting things off until later, but also, how much we miss out by doing certain things. Good post, greetings!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's why it's a subtle deceiver and it's good we learn to counter earlier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Always procrastinate when I need to do all of my paper works because the deadline is fastly approaching. I should make all my paper works ahead of time for me to avoid procrastinating. Procrastinating can make us unproductive

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right, gladly you know the remedy, all that's left is for us to act accordingly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a huge fan of procrastination huhuhu😿 I badly want to finish all of my modules but I always feel tired and lazy. I always find myself scrolling through my phone instead of being productive

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣 .. it would amaze you to know that we are many, the regular person wishes to do nothing and still be ok. Hopefully we know how to call ourselves to order if need be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right procrastination is bad, it can make us to left everything for tomorrow and sometimes we are unaware about the consequences which it can leads too. I always try my best to not being too lazy,the way you mention above is really useful. We should should try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Farah, let's try out the tip, it would really be useful and productive, thanks for engaging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I procrastinate when my daily routine is not followed or when I miss something the tendency is that all the other scheduled activities will be ruined.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I completely relate to you, it's as normal as anyone else, however we can deliberately stop it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate procastination but it always hit me. I know it's effect but I can't prevent it. It happen most of the time. Especially right now, is it called procastination when you have nothing to do in the first place?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahah, well I dont think I'll tag it Procrastination when there's nothing to do, but if it always hits you as you said, then i guess there's something you keep Procrastinating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear, you need rest. We are reading it. You go and sleep.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😁😁😁😁, I sure rest now that I've written, thanks so much ❣

$ 0.00
2 years ago