Living With Grief

5 30
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
March 4,2022

Note: For the contrary, I am okay and trying my very best not to dwell on the dark side of life.

I was scrolling through my Instagram feed and came across this post about living with grief. It was an illustration that explained how we lived with it.

Photo by Reset NYC

For all of us experiencing grief.

Oftentimes, people think that when we lose a loved one, we can eventually move on from it, but we aren't. Everything feels so heavy the day that we lost them up until the day we finally let go of them. It's so heavy to the point that we cannot do our basic functions such as swallowing and breathing.It's difficult losing a loved one. And apart from letting them go is the fear of forgetting them, some are afraid for that to happen. It's normal for this to happen since we loved them.

We do not intend to move on, we just continue living our lives. And as we continue, the grief is still present but our lives get bigger. All that grieving process made us stronger persons but also vulnerable in some ways but it is totally okay. We don't always have to be strong, especially in emotional times.

We have different coping mechanisms and some people may think that it's weird. Here are some of the things that I didn't find normal when I was still a kid/young adult.

The bereaved family crying over their loved one while it is being carried outside their place. I really thought that they were overacting, as a kid, I didn't really understand because my emotions and feelings were not yet developed or in simpler ways, I didn't know more. But losing a loved one in this age, I realized that every day that passes, we lose a chance to be with them. And the thought of letting them forever sinks in.

Posting photos on social media and writing a lengthy caption. There are people who express their sadness through posting on social media. Some share memories of them and some post photos. Some even dedicate a message to their loved one. I used to think that it's absurd but it really isn't. I, on the other hand, have done this. I now understand that it is different to express our feelings and to tell them to the people that we love.

Isn't it amazing how we can still live life even experiencing the worst situations? I think this is one of the best things that is innate to us. To have this is the best thing but we also should remember that we all have our own coping mechanisms. We shouldn't forced someone to be out on the fields if they aren't ready. Healing takes time and we should learn to respect someone's feelings.

Final thoughts 💬

As I've said, I am okay while I am writing this. I just wanted to write this because maybe, just maybe someone can pick up something from this and give comfort to them. Again, the things that I thought weird when I was a child are now clear to me. I can understand where those emotions are coming from.


Author's Note:

Thank you for reading this! I hope you are safe and sound. Continue living your best life and try not to dwell on the dark side. Mwa 😘

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous articles:

5
$ 12.05
$ 11.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

We were born to be strong that in the midst of our nothing, pain, heartache we tend to move forward and continue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really painful, losing a loved one, I understand you friend, I hope you can soon heal and feel better, I also recently lost a pet, he was part of my family, he accompanied me in this journey called life for more than 12 years, so his spontaneous death has made me really bad. I hope our hearts heal soon, those memories will never go away, but little by little we can move forward and remember the good times without our hearts falling apart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you healing, too! I know your pet is very proud of what you've become. :")

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago