I Got My First Dose Of COVID-19 Vaccine

17 41
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

It has been 7 days after I got vaccinated and I think this is the best time to share my experiences. I actually opted to release my vaccination story a little bit late to have a review of the effects of the vaccine on me.

Failed Attempt Of Getting My First Dose Story

October 11 when my Dad told me that I was scheduled for vaccination the following day for a morning schedule. He told me that the one who told him was the Barangay Health Worker which is a family friend of ours.

I woke up so early and arrived at the mall at around 8:30. I even stopped by the other mall because I left my valid ID (face shield). Upon my arrival, I got a form which has a number that will be called for the actual screening.

I got number 243 and the line was quite a queue already. I bumped into my friend and we hang out a bit in the SM Hypermarket while waiting for our number to get called since the guard wasn't allowing us to enter the mall.

Finally getting in the mall. There was a lot of power interruption during this day and it was awful! I waited for this line for about two hours and here is the annoying part, I received a message from my sister telling me that it wasn't my schedule. My schedule was the following day (Wednesday). It sucks, right? I opted to stay there for about half an hour thinking that I will get a chance to get vaccinated that very day but when I was sitting 3 rows before the announcer's table, he already told us that we should just get back at around 12:30 because it is already lunch break.

So I went home very annoyed with everyone; my dad, the BHW, and the power corporation here in Albay. I contacted my Aunt if she can get me vaccinated in the afternoon and she told me that she will drop me off at the mall. But the odds weren't on my side that day. After I was done eating lunch, the rain started and almost lasted for an hour. It stopped at around 1 pm causing me to be late for my 12:30 call time. I was already annoyed, tired, and drained so I decided not to push through and just wait the following day for my actual appointment.

I just got pissed off that day because I wasted time, they wasted my time instead of me taking those long hours to review for my exam.

The Actual Day Of My Vaccination!!!

I went to the mall earlier than the time that I went on my first attempt. The distribution of the forms was already organized and they check if your name is included in the list.

I got number 203 for being early that day and we were already allowed to go inside the mall. I seated beside my neighbor and our numbers weren't really far from each other. I must say that on this day, I was actually prepared.

There are 6 steps. At this point, we were given envelopes that have forms in it and we got interviewed.

Step 2. The nurses got our blood pressure. They do not allow you to get vaccinated if your blood pressure is too high. What they did was, instruct the individuals that have high blood pressure to sit down for a bit and drink water, and after that their blood pressure will be monitored again.

Step 3. They asked me if I have allergies to medication and I said no. At this point, I already got hungry so I decided to take out my biscuit.

Step 4. This is the station where you will sign an informed consent form for the Pfizer-Biotech COVID-19 Vaccine.

Step 5. This is where the attending physician will sign your forms.

Step 6. This is where the vaccine is going to be administered. The administration of the vaccine didn't hurt that much but I was shocked because the nurse didn't inform me that she was about to inject the vaccine. It's like a bite of an ant.

We weren't allowed to leave yet because we are still getting monitored for the possible side effects after getting the vaccine. It didn't take long after I got cleared out and went home because there is no one to take photos of me on the vaccination background. Hahaha.

What Were The Side Effects That I Experienced After Getting My First Dose?

Well, there were three side effects: Headache, Chills, and Heavy arm. The headache that I experienced lasted only for a day because I drank paracetamol before and after my first dose. Though the chills were reoccurring for about 4 days it is tolerable. I just took plenty of rest and drank a lot of water. The heaviness in my arm lasted also for 4 days and I wasn't able to lift or carry small stuff because I was too worried about it.

I didn't drink coffee and work out after I got vaccinated because it wasn't ideal. Upon during my research, it says that cardiac arrest is prone to the newly vaccinated and it is advised not to do tiring activities and to not drink coffee.

Should You Get Vaccinated?

I highly encourage you to get vaccinated. Some vaccines are proven to be effective in fighting other illnesses. The recent research was about Pfizer's effectiveness.

Getting vaccinated nowadays is a heroic act because it is not just you who protects yourself from the Coronavirus but you are also protecting the people around you especially your loved ones.

If you are not yet decided whether you want to get vaccinated or not, take your time and think about it. Do not pressure yourself. You can always do research. If you have a comorbidity, you just have to be really honest with the vaccination team so your health will not be at risk.

We can get back to the old normal if we will participate in this worldwide solution. Let's fight the stigma and hopefully, the world will get back to where it used to be.


Author's Note:

Thank you so much guys for renewing your sponsorships! I may not thank you one by one but I know all of you. Thank you for your generosity. God bless you more! :")

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my recent articles:

Lead Image

4
$ 9.33
$ 9.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 2
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Yeeey, congratulations sa iyung vaccination. Haays sanaol talaga. Ako ngayon sana balak ko kaso nag attend ako ng wedding kaya ayun wala :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ngi :"( baka puwede naman magpa resched? Mag register ka na lang ulit or lumapit ka sa BHW sainyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo try ko next week. Tinatamad ako ngayon eh haah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohoy, Congratulations. Pero kahit pa ini-encourage mo kamo na magpa vaccine ayaw ko pa rin huehue. Basta ayaw ko lang, saka nalang siguro haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take your time, Ate. No pressure at all. You can always do your research hanggang maging ready ka na. 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang linis ng kuko 😍 Anyway, congrats on your first vaccination. Ako walang plano magpa vaccine due to my allergy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy ate!! Hahahahaha napansin mo pa talaga yan. 😂 Every week ako nag puputol ng kuko since mabilis humaba hahaha.

Puwede ka naman ata mag consult ate sa doctor kung puwede ka mabakunahan. Kasama naman yung consultation sa vaccination site mismo. Di ka man niyan babakunahan kung makakaapekto yung allergy mo sa bakuna. ;")

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also got the pfizer vaccine, but the point was that they did not control our blood pressure before the vaccination, I did not have any side effects after the first dose, I just had a little pain and heaviness in my arm for a day. But after the second doz, one night I had a little ague, that's all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oohhh I don't know what to say about the errors they did since I am not part of the vaccination team. I'm glad that you didn't experience heavy effects of the vaccination to you. I hope I will not have a fever in my second dose since my friend told me he had when he got his last dose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What brand did you get? I've got 2 doses of sinovac but I don't really experience any side effects aside from having a heavy arm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got the Pfizer vaccine. :") The side effects varies among individuals and their immune system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My husband got the same brand pfizer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on your first vaccine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Are you vaccinated already?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Double jab since August luckily!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How was it? What were the side effects on you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just a bit feverish for one day and a sore arm, nothing else :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago