Special Kakanin found In the Phillipines

13 29
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
1 year ago

Eversince I was kid I often seen my mom often eats suman or sticky rice, every Sunday after we finished the Sunday mass she bought suman before going home. And there a lot of suman here in our country or in English term rice cake made from glutenous rice.

Suman Lilihiya

Image source

This is my mom's favorite it's called suman Lilihiya it's made with sticky rice and wrapped around banana leaves and boiled for more than one hour. But because I was kid then i never liked it's taste, I prefer chips or other snacks. When my mom bought this Suman Lilihiya the vendor gave her sherred coconut and after we got home she'll unwrapped it and put some sugar on the sherred coconut. And I'd never expect it will taste great, you can also put Latik or jam instead of sugar. And now I always bought this rice cake whenever I saw it In the market.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups glutinous rice

  • 1 teaspoon lye water

  • 2 cups water

  • Banana leaves already cleaned

Here's the procedure

Native Kunsinta

Image source

Ingredients

First Mixture

  • 2-1/2 cups lukewarm water

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar

  • 1 cup all purpose flour

  • 1 cup Cassava / topioca flour

  • 2 teaspoon lye water

Second Mixture

  • 1 cup lukewarm water

  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar

  • 1 cup glutinous rice flour

  • 1 teaspoon lye water

  • 1 tablespoon achiote / annatto seeds

  • 2 tablespoon hot water

Here's the procedures

There are two types of Kutsinta and this is more special because, the buttoms part texture is the native one and it's the same as the single serve but the top has this very soft, super sticky or I would say gelatinous texture that makes it very delicious and unique from the others.

Steaming is the process of making it but it requires two different mixture to achieve the texture we wanted. I've been told by my friend that she steamed the first mixture for about 15 minutes over medium heat or until it just set or she mean she did not cooked it well because she'll be adding the second mixture and continue steaming for about 45 minutes until it's done. After that you can serve it with shredded coconut, I remember when my mom introduce me this rice cake I've wondered because it's quite different between the rice cake I've known which is this

Image source

This is a regular rice cake and no toppings on top and the procedure is also steaming but in the regular kutsinta you can directly cook it without needing to add a second mixture. I loved its chewy texture and I prefer this Rather than Puto, I eat kutsinta alone but it's better with shredded coconut.

Biko with Latik

Image source

Ingredients

  • 2 cups glutinous rice, washed

  • 1 1/2 cup water

  • 2 cups brown sugar

  • 4 cups coconut milk

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • And for the Latik 2 cups coconut milk

Here's the procedure

When my mom is going to buy this rice cake she'll not asked me If want too because she'll know I'll just reject it. Because I don't really appreciate eating this kakanin, but after I got here in my husbands province I've learned that's it really hard to do because mixing it takes a long time and because it's made of a sticky rice expect that of course it's sticky more than chewy in texture. And the Latik that's found on the top of the Biko requires a lot of patient.

My mother in law knows how to made this Biko rice cake and it's taste really delicious because of the coconut milk. She doesn't sweet it a lot with sugar but she releases the natural taste of the rice cake which is the right blend of the sugar and the coconut milk. In the video above you will see how to make the Latik, coconut really has a lot of benefits.

Suman Malagkit

Image source

Ingredients

  • 2 cups glutinous rice

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 2 cups fresh coconut milk

  • 1 cup of sugar

  • Banana leaves for wrapping

Here's the procedure

This is one of my favorite but only after I got here in my husbands province because I often see these on occasion. My mother in law knows how to make this and my husbands aunt is expert in making these rice cake she even accept made to order for special occasions.

If you watch the whole video and sometimes our banana leaves aren't enough we fry the left over mixture and it's more delicious when fried. You'll enjoy it's crunchy ness outside and in the inside it's softiness, I'll hope you can try our fried rice cake version. We usually dip in sugar and it's really delicious.

Closing Thoughts

These are only few kinds of kakanin or Rice cakes we have here in our country and we Filipinos are proud of what we can create out of an glutinous rice and other ingredients. And for evey rice cake is a story to be heard, Maybe different in procedure or appearance but the results are hundred percent delicious and unique. Kakanin is a heavy meal so if your in a hurry you can have this for breakfast along with a black coffee and for sure you'll have a nice day ahead.

🌙

Thank you so much for your wonderful time reading

Love, UsagiGallardo15 🌙

Lead image source

My recent article

Content Ideas to Post on Social Media II

9
$ 1.12
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 3
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
1 year ago

Comments

I have not tried these foods before, in my country we do not make them, but we make foods close to them, for example, we use grape leaves to stuff them with rice and squeeze lemon juice on them instead of banana leaves and sugar

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Paborito ko din yang Suman may birthday man o wala, pero minsan Lang din makakain kasi minsan Lang may birthday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung Biko po talaga bet ko dito. Yung sumang lilihiya it seems na pareho po siya dun sa kakanin sa Batangas pero tamalis po ata tawag dun sa kanila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahh oo nga po sis Minsan iba iba lang po Ng tawag ehh pero for sure iisa lamg po Ng procedure Ng pag gawa ehh at Parehas na masasarap ehh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang lahat tlga sis ng kakanin sa Pilipinas ay masasarap at tunay na hahanaphanapin ang lasa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga po sis kaya prod tayung maging Filipino ehh kasi masarap tayung gumawa ng mga kakanin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang lahat ng yan ay talagang gusto kung kainin sis, hihi. Yun nga lang hindi ko pa talaga na try gumawa ng ganyan tamang bili lang sa mga nagtitinda.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung suman Malagkit sis naka tulong nako gumawa Nyan tas yung Biko Ang sakit sa braso maghalo nun sis pero masarap tlaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung suman lilihiya sis di ko pa natitikman yan.Yung kutsinta naman yan talaga ang ayaw ko sa lahat siguro ng kakanin ,ewan ko hindi ko magustuhan yung lasa pero now may iba-ibang version na kasi at may natikman akong masarap na pagkagawa ng kutsinta dito sa amin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung suman Lilihiya sis paborito po ng mama ko masarap po sya pero niyog lang at asukal Ang sinasawsaw po namen diko gsto pag ka sa jam ehh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pinoy kakanin is the best sis .. ang sarap naman yan, ang aga² pero bigla akong nagutom hehe..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga po sis chaka Isa yan ehh sa mga kayamanan nating mga Pinoy ehh Ang mga masasarap natin kakanin

$ 0.00
1 year ago