Filipino Beliefs during Pregnancy

7 20
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
1 year ago

After I had my four Pregnancy here in my husbands province I've learned a lot of weird beliefs. And as they go on telling me to just follow the simple instructions I agree on to obey the rules. And I've learned theres nothing that I would loose if I believe them

Sponsors of UsagiGallardo215
empty
empty
empty

I want to express my gratitude to my beloved sponsors Thank you so much

Superstitious Beliefs

A pregnant woman cravings will affect the appearance of the baby

My fourth pregnancy I'm craving for dark food colors such as soy souce, chocolate drink Milo and for dish I Loved dinuguan. And the old ones said that my baby will become dark if I continue eating this foods. But I can't help my cravings I'm happy when I got to eat this kind of foods. And luckily my baby isn't dark as the foods that I ate she's color was morena like me and her father.

Avoid wearing necklace or putting towels around the neck

If you read my articles about my pregnancy entitled https://read.cash/@UsagiGallardo215/i-went-through-cs-section-with-tubal-ligationpart-1-89580d2d I had an operation last three years ago and the reason why is; my baby has an nuchal cord coil or her umbilical cord is wrapping around her neck. That may cause her to breathe difficulty

Image source

So the ob-gyn advised me to take the cesarean section and at the same time had my ligation. But I remember I didn't wear necklace when I was pregnant, because I was also said this might happen.

Pregnant woman should avoid attending funeral

I don't know the reason why my husband and my In-laws didn't allow me to come in late of their relatives. But maybe because I'm carrying a child on my womb and going to funeral is not good to see.

If the pregnant woman has dark areas in her body her baby will become a boy

Well I will possibly believe in this kind of situations because I've seen and witness different changes of my friends physical appearance. Such as her underarm, neck or even some parts of the face is getting darker. And this i think can't be avoided because even toiner is not recommend to use. So we can probably stay at the house to protect our skin from heat.

It is a bad luck when standing or staying at the door.

Old one's thought me that if insist staying at our door I will have a hard time delivering my baby. Or my labor will become more painful, so whenever someone is staying at our door we remind them that we have a pregnant woman at our house. And people here are aware about the superstitious Beliefs so it's not a hard time convincing them.

Do not put nail polish or treating hair with chemicals

After having my four Pregnancy I wasn't approved to put any of these because they told me the hard chemicals will harm me and my baby so I agree with them. And after I gave birth I experienced not to take a bath for 7-10 days. So I conclude that it's not a good thing if I just follow my own rules. It's really good that there's someone that will tell us the right thing to do. And i see nothing wrong in believing this stuff.

Thank you so much for your wonderful time and with all due respect I hope you like my today's blog

Love, UsagiGallardo15 🌙

Lead image source

My recent articles

Which I prefer Ukay ukay or preloved clothes vs Brand New

5
$ 0.35
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
+ 2
Avatar for UsagiGallardo215
1 year ago

Comments

Ay ang dami palang beliefs sissy. Pero Wala namang scientific basis yung mga yan pero wala ding masama kong susundin. I'm glad You're okay na sis pati yung anak mo na napuluputan ng umbilical cord.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was pregnant I love to eat grilled fish that was almost burnt, They said that my baby inside will.look like at that fish hahaha. but thank God kasi hindi naman, mas pumuti panga yung anak ko.. yung sa funeral naman, na experience ko din pumunta pero cesarian kasi ako kaya ayun hehe pinatulog din ako ng doctor..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are many misconceptions during pregnancy. In the end, the color of the food you eat will not affect the color of your baby’s skin, but rather his genes, as well as the dark color of the neck and armpits. This is normal because of pregnancy in some women. Not everything they say is true, but there are some good things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I totally agree with you doc and my husband really has a Moreno color so even my daughter is morena she has further reasons not because of the foods I ate during my pregnancy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of beliefs that are okay to follow. I do believe in "paglilihi" because it is Biblical. But they say that those foods you crave contain the vitamins and minerals your body needs for the pregnancy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I totally agree with that my friend and we crave because we need a lot of nutrients to our body. Speaking of paglilihi mahrap po maglihi talaga ehh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes mahirap talaga :) Ako dati iyak ako ng iyak pag di nakakain ang gusto ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago