Foods I usually buy at the grocery: Budgetarian Edition

33 46
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
1 year ago

PUBLISHED: MAY 14, 2022 TIME: 5:00PM PST ARTICLE: 108

Since I'm already a mother of a seven-year-old, one of the things I've learned to do is to be practical and only buy what we really need. Budgeting is one of the issues I face every week, believe me. I have to practice being self-efficient and logical because I am a student who is now studying HR at college. So, for today's article, I'd want to share with you what I often buy for myself and my child.

I do grocery shopping every Wednesday or Thursday because I have no classes and am free to accomplish other things during this time. I go out every morning at 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., or occasionally in the afternoon.

Every week, I always set aside 500 pesos for biscuits and other easy-to-eat meals. If you think 500 Pesos is a small sum, consider how I came up with it. What type of biscuits do I purchase? Let me show you some of the items I buy for him on a regular basis... as well as for me.

TWINKER BUTTER COOKIES

Each box has 20 pieces of little sachets, and each pack has two pieces of biscuit. I purchased it for the first time, and the flavor is not overly sweet. This one reminds me of butter cookies that are widely found in stores. Every box of it costs only less than 20 Pesos.

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Because each tiny pack of this costs 5.50 pesos, I only buy it sometimes and offer it to my child, and because of the sweet flavor of this biscuit, I only allow him to consume this type of food occasionally.

NISSIN PACK NOODLES

These are the things I consume when there isn't a meal available at home, and they also serve as my midnight comfort food. I don't buy the Nissin cup noodles since they're more expensive than the Nissin pack. Since this type of noodle costs 11 pesos, I buy 3-5 pieces every time I go shopping.

MAGIC FLAKES JUNIOR

These are one of my most favorite biscuits of all time because each pack of it worth only 23 Pesos and it comes with other flavors like Condensed, my favorite one, Strawberry and the original Magic flakes biscuit.

QUAKER OATS

This is one for me. This oatmeal is something I always buy and eat for breakfast. However, since I stopped completing my morning routines and decided to undertake intermittent fasting, this meal has been resting there for about a month.

MARSHMALLOWS

This is something I usually buy for my child. This is my reward for him if he does something excellent or completes his tasks. Fortunately, this pack costs less than 25 pesos, allowing me to purchase at least one pack per week.

So let's now do some calculation. Since I only have one child, my minimum amount for our basic snacks are only 500 pesos.

Let's say that a pack of Magic junior biscuit costs 24 pesos, so 24x3= 72 pesos.
Then, another 2 packs of Twinker Cookies, 20x2=40 pesos
Chocolate chip cookies 5.50x3= 16.50 pesos

Quaker oats costs 80 pesos
Marshmallows are worth 25 pesos per pack
Noodles costs 11 t0 14 pesos so my budget here is 50.00 pesos

So since the calculation above is only 284.00 pesos, I still have much money so sometimes, I also bought other snacks and other necessities.

I love to buy bread stix and Eggnogs before because it only costs 7 pesos. But now, They are worth 9 pesos each so I look for another biscuits that is also good for my child.
Even the junk foods are now pricey so I limit the number of these when I go shopping

Budgeting is a difficult task, but we must learn to be practical as well. This is why I prefer not to become pregnant sooner. The cost of basic essentials is d@mn outrageous.

Aantayin ko na lang muna mag bente ang bigas! Charrrr!!! Anyways, that concludes our discussion andd see you again next time.

Thank you for stopping by my article for today! If you still haven't read my previous articles, here are these:

You can catch me up on Noise.cash 🤗🤗

13
$ 5.15
$ 4.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Usagi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usagi
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ganyan din ako nag grogrocery ako ng mga biscuit once a week kasama yung gatas ni mama ug kape ko kaya lang may times talaga na ma oover budget ako kahit kuha lang ng kuha hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yun ang nakakasira ng budget wihiih, ung bang wala ka notes kaya kung ano ano bibilhin mo hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bet ko lahat sis except siguro yung oats hehe. Di ko bet yung lasa ng oats with milk. Parang mas bet ko siya if cookies ganun. Iba talaga lasa pag basa yung oats.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May type ng oats na ayoko din talaga eh ung malalaki na pang mayaman? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ata sis haha dila ko pang masa lang ebhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dami naman nyan sis. Saakin magtatagal na yan ng 1 month din. Tapos dapat my junkfoods din. Charet. Hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako once in a blue moon lang kami mag junkfood lalo na si bata kasi minsan kinakain din ng mga tito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anlahhh ang dami naaa. Dito samin naku . Pwro kasi mas maraming delata ee. Ang mahal pa naman na ng delata tsk. Pero da totoo lang talaga. Sa mahal na ng mga bilihin, budgeting ang pinakamahirap na gawin talaga ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako iwas kami sa delata kasi super mahal nyan parang bumili na din ng carne sa labas. Or mag skiless longganisa na lang ba kami mgkano lang masarap pa. 😅😅

Super hirap tlga mag budget dzai. Need mo umiwas sa mga di nmn need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal din mga processed foods samin 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No choice pala kundi mag gulay heheeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko talaga bet lasa nang quaker oats di ko talaga nakasanayan yung ganyan. Saging lang sa amin pwede na 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahaha bakit naman ?? Pero oo nakakabusog na din saging ha. Basta saba at latundan bet ko yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ako nasanay sa mga oat meal sis sana'y ako sa pangmahirap.😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anong food pang mahirap yan sis? Heheeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saging sis HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Budgeting is always my concern since then. Whether I have small or big amount. Ang taas ng inflation kasi satin ngayon ate. Bet ko yung ₱20/KL bigas haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trueee about sa inflation.. Jusme magkano na dolyar huhu kala ko its a good thing pa nga , di pala. Sana talaga mag bente na bigas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

great finds sis.. hirap din ako maggrocery, sarap kumuha ng mga items sa isle..hehe btw, musta na agn luna mo? tumaas na ulit sya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tumaas ng 2 pesos ate luna huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aww andami kasi ngpost na nag TP na daw sila hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka kasi bumili sila 0.04 php price ate wahahaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha kaya nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More on junkfoods.. Go for healthy ones dai

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Paminsan minsan lang din ate pero pag biscuits tlga gusto nicbata lagi mga magic flakes pero sa almusal niyan tinapay sa bakery.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti nmn..you rather buy fruits 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayyy opo ate jane iba pa un kasi si mama namamalengke. Ito talaga is mga galing lang sa grocery. Fave ng anak ay banana at apple. Si mama tlga nabili sa market mas murayta kasi duun 😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati ngbabudget ako for everything ngayon ang hirap magbudget Lalo na I have to buy milk and diapers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti ako ate awat na ko sa gatas at diaper. Grabe gastos ko jan nuon eh. Iyak talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakaubos ng sweldo hayss

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayyy true mahal talaga na bilihin. Di na uso isa lang work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti ka pa ate may budget sa snacks. Sana sa susunod magawa ko rito for myself kaso napupunta lang kasi halos lahat ng pera ko sa shopee eh hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oyy ipon ka din para sa pang face to face mo .

$ 0.00
1 year ago