On a Friday Marketplace

11 85
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Market, Grocery, Vegetable, Fish, Meat, ...

I have been to the open market today.

As usual, I have been to the open market to buy essential food for daily consumption. We eat food every day. But we don't go to the market every day.

  • Some may be aware that Durga Puja is the biggest festival celebrated in different parts of the world by Bengalees and Indians.

  • After a big festival celebration, the open market is full of people. They want to buy groceries, vegetables, fish, meat, etc.

There is crowd also in the sweet shops because they want to distribute sweets to their relatives during the after-puja Dashera celebration.


Supplies seem insufficient for the people.

When I go close to the market, I sense that items are scarce. All supplies have not been restored after the festive holidays.

I could not get any eggs available yesterday. All were sold.

  • Today, I have found people asking for eggs. The shopkeeper was frantically calling the supplier boy. I waited for about fifteen minutes. The egg supply hasn't appeared!

  • The same is the situation of the open fish market. Most fish sellers are absent. They are still enjoying of days their bread-earning business!

Some vegetable vendors are sitting in their open marketplace beside the railway station. This vegetable market opens only in the daytime. It remains available in the morning, from 7:30 AM to 2:00 PM. The vegetable vendors come by train from faraway localities situated about 40 to 50 km.


Most grocery shops have opened quite late.

The grocery shopkeeper has been busy opening the rolling shutter of his shop. Two staff members have been helping him. I ask him, "Are you opening?" He answers, "Yes, very much. But give me some time. We will be ready by 12 noon."

I think, today I have to buy grocery items from that small temporary vendor on the corner of the railway station. It is not bad to buy things from different shops. Every small business owner should get a share of our everyday purchases.

I don't mind the grocery shops opening late. I can also buy groceries in the evening. Nowadays, the daytime Sun is scorching hot, although yesterday rained scantily here and there. The sky mostly looks blue, with scattered white clouds floating beautifully.


A Friday Marketplace

Every day comes with regular happenings with a few surprises here and there.

Today has been a friendly Friday.
The morning has been lovely to me.
The remaining of the day may bring something surprising.
I don't expect anything significant.

Life is excellent with all its inherent limitations.


Postscript

I try to buy different types of items from different vendors.

For example, I buy potatoes and opinions from one vegetable vendor. I buy ginger and garlic from another vendor.

Buying from different vendors gives us a choice of quality and prices. Also, many shopkeepers get business opportunities.


[Sponsor information]

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  I created a GIF using my title texts, and pics by Tapan Kumar Choudhury and Marisol Benitez on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#grocery #vegetable #fish #meat #market

Oct 07, 2022

17
$ 4.40
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 13
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Market, Grocery, Vegetable, Fish, Meat, ...

Comments

When my parents ask me to go to the market, I usually buy in different shops to see better or cheaper products that's of course good so for me there's really nothing wrong about buying in different shops. There's also time when we can't buy all that we need in a certain shop.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Buying from different vendors gives us a choice of quality and prices. Also, other shops get a business opportunity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agreee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here also its same. After any celebrations, the market runs scarce making it difficult for customers

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Both the sellers and the buyers get tired after a festive celebration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is not bad to buy things from different shops. Every small business owner should get a share of our everyday purchases.

I do this often too, sometimes I'd decide to buy things from different people in market to at least spread my wings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

More people should do likewise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you visit open markets you feel a nice atmosphere there, a lot of life and fresh food... I will go here too tomorrow!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

An open marketplace is a place where we meet people more closely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The aftermath of a great festival of Durga puja is always evident on places like the marketplace. Normally things go up in price for they know people would still buy. Have a lovely Friday Unity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Nana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago