Discipline in an Indian Movie Making

18 94
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Movie, Story, Acting, Direction, Curation, ...

Some of you may watch Indian movies.

My current article is about the importance of discipline while making a movie. It has nothing to do with the storyline of any movie!

  • My article is NOT about which Indian movie is good or bad. In this article, I aim to highlight that "discipline" is the unique trait that may make any project successful, whether a movie or any other business product/venture.

I read from some of our bloggers from the Philippines that they watched "3 Idiots," an exciting movie about college students. How much is hard work needed to make a movie successful?

Discipline is a trait that can make a movie director from ordinary to extraordinary.

  • History says that disciplined moviemakers sustain longer years than unruly and undisciplined ones. In every profession, discipline pays off.


Have you watched "Dangal," an Indian movie that attracted viewers' minds?

I saw it only last year, but the movie "Dangal" was made in 2015 and was released in 2016. The budget of "Dangal" was 700 million INR, and it earned 20 billion INR globally.

"Dangal" was one of the top-rated Indian movies that Chinese people liked. It earned huge money in China, and the top-rated non-mandarin films in China.

  • "Dangal" is the highest-grossing non-English film in China. "Dangal" is also one of the highest-grossing Indian movies so far. There are many other feats, and you can check them for yourself on the Internet.

"Dangal" has only one famous actor and all the other newcomers. The director, Nilesh Tiwari, has earlier made a mark as a director in the Bombay film arena. What was different in "Dangal" was its disciplinarian working culture while making the film.

Trailer Source: Dangal.


A movie requires a good story, script, and direction, and above all, a well-disciplined performance throughout

I came to know about one simple fact about the shooting of "Dangal." That blows me away how disciplined the entire team of "Dangal" was under the directorial care of Nilesh Tiwari.

Every day, before the start of the shooting, all members of the movie "Dangal" used to do one mandatory job. Nobody was exempted from following the rule.

  • All actors, crew members, technical staff, and everybody, including the famous star Aamir Khan, dropped their mobile phones (switched off or in silent mode) in a big bag.

Nobody was allowed to touch their mobile phones during the shooting. Only after the director says "pack off" did the team of "Dangal" were allowed to collect their mobile phones back from the big bag!


Bringing it altogether

  • In this article, I highlight that "discipline" is the unique trait that may make any project successful, whether a movie or any other business product/venture.

Discipline is essential for any venture to see success.

  • Even a movie requires a certain degree of discipline in its making.

"Dangal" has become one of the highest-grossing Indian movies in India and abroad. "Dangal" is the highest-grossing non-English film in China.

  • The success of "Dangal" has not happened by fluke. The highly disciplined work culture of the team "Dangal" has a lot of reasons behind its great success.

Director Nilesh Tiwari and his team may be accounted for their disciplined pursuit.


Postscript

Nilesh Tiwari, the director of "Dangal" did his B.Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay (now Mumbai), India.

  • Incidentally, Nilesh did his B.Tech. during the same time (1992-1996) while I was pursuing a Ph.D. on the same campus of IIT Bombay.

  • I stayed in Hostel 1, and Nilesh in Hostel 4.

  • We all were very much active in performing arts on the IIT Bombay campus.

  • Both Nilesh and I belong to the same IIT Bombay alumni association.


A sponsor of this article:-

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image: I created a GIF using tile text and photos by Thao Le Hoang and Jakob Owens on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#movie #discipline #work

July 12, 2022

15
$ 1.86
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 8
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Movie, Story, Acting, Direction, Curation, ...

Comments

No doubt that discipline is the key to success. In every profession one need to be disciplined. Offcourse Dangal Movie is well script also the actor played well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Dangal" movie may be considered a sample project of how team members can produce a successful product. I appreciate your supportive comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't seen Dangal. Not exactly big on Bollywood movies if I am being honest. But I agree with your take on discipline, it is what keeps us focused on the goal we want to achieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Movies don't become good or bad because of the place they are made, but the quality of creation makes a movie likable. "Dangal" is the highest-grossing non-English movie in China due to its quality-based mass appeal.

I hate adding the nonsensical phrase "wood" with the film cities. The place is Bombay or Mumbai (in the local Marathi language).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To produce such a hit like Dangal I'm not surprised the Director took such step. It takes disciplaine to achieve something great and i must applaud Aamir Khan, it's rare to see big actors like him listen to instructions like that. Discipline matters a lot in anything one is doing in life.

By the way, Aamir khan alongside the other Khan brothers is my favourite Bolloyhood actor. I love is movies and Dangal is one of my all time favourites.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dedication comes with discipline, and the director Nilesh Tiwari, an engineering graduate, has been demonstrating a positive work culture so naturally that all members of his films love to follow the instructions.

I very much appreciate your supportive comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Discipline can truly make things successful and having discipline in making movies or any business product for sure will result in its best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad that you liked my highlighting the importance of "discipline" in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the best Indian movie I have watched is the Life of Pi (correct me if I am wrong about the origin of the movie) and the movie The special ( don't know if that is the exact title but it's about the child who have different eyesight.)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, Sydney2, for your valuable time and comment. My article is NOT about which Indian movie is good or bad. In this article, I aim to highlight that "discipline" is the unique trait that may make any project successful, whether a movie or any other business product/venture.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am huge fan of Aamir Khan brother. I like his movie 3 Idiots also. Yeah where there is discipline there are more chances of success of a project.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate you have noticed my point on "discipline" that most comment writers ignored/overlooked.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The three idiot you will learn alot of lesson about life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The article is about a different movie called "Dangal." I knew the director who experimented with discipline while making the film.

It is NOT about "3 Idiots!"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the finest movie in recent years is Tumbbad. Watched it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this article, I write about how discipline works wonders while making a movie called "Dangal."

I just mentioned the name "3 Idiots" nothing more than it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know. I just put my suggestion about another movie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, I haven't watched "Tumbbad" ... I like the music director duo Ajay-Atul.

$ 0.00
1 year ago