Are Fountain Pens Curio Items?

2 53
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Have you ever used fountain pens?

  • In our kindergarten days, we were given pencils to write. We were given fountain pens only in the first standard. A few of our friends used to have big jotter refill pens. But, during examinations, we had to use fountain pens.

  • Up to secondary school, we used fountain pens. There were inks of different colors. In our home, our father used to buy a big bottle of royal blue color ink.

I preferred black ink. When I requested my father for black ink, he gave me a semi black, i.e., blue-black, ink. The color is a mixture of blue and black. I purchased black ink when I went to college.


I met a LinkedIn friend in person on Sunday, Feb 12th.

We were connected on LinkedIn. He is from our place but has lived in the US for over 37 years. We used to exchange messages via LinkedIn messenger. But, our interaction was not frequent!

  • Last month I received an email from him inviting me to a special event in their village home in West Bengal, India. They would host a lunch party to celebrate the birthdays of their one-and-a-half and three-year-old granddaughters.

  • It was not precisely their birthdays, but it was a celebration to introduce the lovely babies to their relatives, friends, and acquaintances.

I was the only invitee my LinkedIn friend met for the first time! My online friend introduced me to others by saying, "Meet Debesh, whom I know via LinkedIn, and I am meeting him today for the first time."


My friend showed us a collection of vintage fountain pens.

There is a famous Bengali song by Manna Dey, "Jodi Kagoje Lekho Naam" (if you write names on paper). Today, our topic will move from music to something else, i.e., fountain pens.

We will see a few classic fountain pens from a friend who kindly showed us a part of his collections of fountain pens.

Media Source

I will share more about it in the future, for that matter, I must seek permission from my LinkedIn friend! If you like it, consider following my YouTube channel, "Learning Times."


Conclusion

  • Fountain pens are now rarely used by the common mass.

  • Only a few people still care to use fountain pens.

Are fountains curio items?


Postscript

Oh my God! I missed a few words in the first few lines of the Manna Dey song!

I don't remember the lyrics. But I can remember tunes. I will try to correct it in the future when I again sing a few more lines of the song with karaoke!

Mistakes are good if it doesn't harm anybody.

There is a chance to correct it and do it more passionately, at least for music.

And please excuse me if there were any grammatical mistakes!


About me (Unity, aka, Debesh Choudhury)

Image Source

I am a practitioner of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics), and I have always smelled security holes in blockchains and other distributed ledgers. But, the innovations in distributed computing are worth experimenting with in real-life use cases.

  • I create password security and cybersecurity solutions relevant to cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and blockless distributed ledgers.

Review my blogs here if you have some time abundance.

I wish that the entire blogging community will strive here and elsewhere.


If you have some free time, explore my video channels.

Image Source

TwitchDebesh Choudhury.
OdyseeLearning TimesDebesh ChoudhuryMusic, Film, etc.
YouTubeLearning TimesDebesh Choudhury.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2023 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at

YouTube, TwitchCashRainOdyseeLinkedInTwitterPublish0x, ReadCash, NoiseApp, and Facebook.

Earn passive income by sharing unused Internet bandwidth on Honeygain and Peer2Profit.

Lead Image:  I created a GIF using my texts and a pic by Bruno /Germany from Pixabay.

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#Writing #FountainPens #Culture #Life #Technology

Feb 14, 2023

5
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @yoieuqudniram
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I never had touched a fountain pen in my life but I wish to. Yet they are expensive and te inks would dry quickly if one does not know how to get it a good care. I only found out about fountain pen last year when tried my hand in calligraphy but stopped as soon as I started I hope to see your work someday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are cheap fountain pens available from local manufacturers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago