Run the race but at your pace

18 137
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Basics, Learning, Beginning, Pace, ...

Although I have been eager to learn french since I finished high school, I had little way or opportunity to do so. Until December 2019, when I was introduced to the language learning app: "Duolingo". At that time I was already in college in my sophomore.

The main reason that fueled my willingness to learn the language apart from being interested in it earlier was that there were two mandatory french courses for all science students at that level.

Even though the french courses are regarded as simple since we are only scratching the basics, the usage of Duolingo helped me pass both exams with a score of 90+.

Ever since I finished the exams my goal for learning the language has shifted, and now the main reason I continue learning is that I want to achieve basic fluency (to be able to write, read and speak) in the language.

My usage of the app is something that I didn't hide and through me, some of my friends were influenced to start using the app and they are also learning the language.

The beginning can be frustrating

One of my friends uses the Duolingo app and is also learning the language. Once asked me;

"did you also start learning french by learning how to pronounce and make sentences like; "the boy is eating", "the dog and the man", and other silly sentences like that?"

I smiled, and I reply, "yes!"

That friend was infuriated by the learning process that started teaching from how to make silly sentences, so she reached out to me. She was wondering why she has to learn those silly phrases and sentences, but that was the same way millions of people, who are learning the language on the app started.

When you are starting something new you start mostly from the basics, those basics might seems odd or funny, but they are very important.

I remember growing up and as a kid, we were being taught the English language first by learning the alphabet and then words starting with two letters words, then gradually it increased.

The same applies to everything in life, you have to learn the ABC of whatever field you are about to embark on before you become grounded in such a field.

Learning the simple basics can seem time-wasting or can be hilarious. But they are of utmost importance.

If you want to climb a ladder or a staircase you must always start from the bottom. You don't start building a house from its roof but rather from its foundation.

Many people are interested in getting to the top, but they despise the bottom. Everything in life has starting blocks that you can't leap.

You can't go to college without passing or having; the knowledge of what is being taught in high school.

You have to follow and love the process to get the final results.

Don't compare!

Remember that your journey would be quite different from another person's journey, so don't compare!

I have been learning a course now and it is taking me time to learn and grasp when compared to the time other people said it took them to learn. I felt like I was a slow learner until I saw a post today of someone who said it took him seven months to learn that same course.

Remember that everyone isn't the same, it might take the horse 10 minutes to reach a destination, a snail a whole day.

But what matters most isn't the time spent but achieving the goal. So remember to learn at your pace, you can get inspired by the actions of others, but don't compare.

26-08-2022

2:35 pm

18
$ 4.20
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 12
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Basics, Learning, Beginning, Pace, ...

Comments

She was wondering why she has to learn those silly phrases and sentences

Just imagine. Those phrases and sentences she called silly are the basic building blocks of any language. That's the problem with most people when it comes to learning something, they are always in a hurry to skip the basic concepts and rush off to the advanced stuffs. They forget that in order to build a house, you must first build the foundation coz without that, the house can't stand

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly! The baby steps and basics are very important. People of today are always in a rush. Rush to make money, rush to finish a course or skill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the message! Sometimes it may take longer and faster to others, but we will get there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely, slow and steady wins the race

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each individual has unique capabilities and potential which made it different from other. Agreed that we should get lessons from others but shouldn't be in comparison.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure, everyone has their unique capability and potential

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is no late comer in achieving success and so it's in our daily life journey. We shouldn't because others have done this and that we should also rush and do it. No, we should do it on our own pace and the best time convenient for us. This article burst brain🥰.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate the wonderful remark. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just love the title and the body of contents...run the race but at your pace...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for acknowledging my article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning another language is hard at the beginning and can take different amount of times for different peoples. I am also eager to learn another language which is korean, and I have learnt English. To me the rules seems hard most of the times but practicing makes better improvement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes learning isn't easy, but with practice and consistency it becomes easier

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, hitting the goal is the ultimate and we shouldn't be pushed off by time/delays.

Those of you learning foreign languages are genius. We were forced to learn this french in secondary but it was too hard to comprehend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, if you call me a genius I'll accept it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this was timely, most people wants to climb to the top without starting from the ground which never ends well. The surest way to accomplish anything we want, is by focusing on every little details surrounding it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Paying attention to those little details are very important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes mate, the topic said it all. You have to be proud of your accomplishments and lastly don't take shortcuts to be great in life. Don't do more than you're capable of. Trust me, you will be fine after all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your comment is lit Rasaq. Thanks for contributing

$ 0.00
1 year ago