Prevention is always the best

17 69
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

When the deed or the tragic has happened that when we mostly know the true meaning of the saying: “prevention is better than cure”.

I hate to be at the receiving end of this. It can be tragic as, because I believe not everything can be cured. Death doesn’t have a cure, in such a moment you realize that perhaps the saying is incorrect. Such a case like death has only prevention and once that is missed there is no cure.

Sometimes when somethings happen even when it’s cured it might leave a mark or dent that might never go away. It is just like person who wore a white cloth and while eating, the white cloth got stained. Even though the stains might be removable by washing with detergents or bleach (that's only possible when the cloth is totally white).

Let assume detergent was used to wash the stains. The stain might go away but signs that something happened might still be found on the shirt.

Even if the shirt was washed clean and restored to how it was before, imagine the stress the person or whosoever did the laundry went through to get the shirt cleaned when in the first place such happening could simply be prevented if the person had used a dinner napkin while eating, then perhaps the food stain wouldn’t have happened.

I have learnt the hard way

Twice now, I have been made to understand the saying; “prevention is better than cure”. And it seems since I didn’t listen at the first instance, I have been made to pay the bigger price.

In the month of May, my phone screen got cracked. I have been told earlier by some phone accessories vendor to buy a screen guard for my phone but I didn't.

I have never used one, why bother use one now. I would be careful while using my phone”, I said to myself.

Ah what a folly! The fun fact is that when my phone screen got cracked it happened from a low height and whereas it had previously fallen from higher heights without it cracking. The only difference I think is that the fall happened on a ground not as smooth as the previous fallings.

It was really painful and I resolved to get it repaired, but did I? No I didn’t, I was waiting for the perfect time because if I want to repair it at the carlcare office it would take up to 48 hours to get it fixed. And also it would cost me some money.

A stitch in time...

But have you heard of the saying that “a stitch in time saves nine”. In case you don’t know what the saying is all about, I would explain.

The proverb mean that if you sort out a problem immediately it would or might save you the stress of dealing with a bigger or expanded problem. Well I didn’t follow this. I continued using the phone because it was only the outer screen that cracked and it didn’t stop me from operating the phone.

But on Monday morning, things changed and I was forced to repair it. I think I slept on my phone and this totally spoilt the screen. I couldn’t perform or select anything by clicking on the screen. Now I had no option than to go to the carlcare center to get my phone fixed.

Note that this article was meant to be published on Monday but since my phone wouldn’t be ready until Wednesday. I have left it as a draft on my computer.

Well I spent Tuesday without a phone and I sincerely enjoyed it, now that my phone is back, so are the numerous forms of distractions that would steal my time for productivity and learning.

I was also told at the Carlcare center that the repair would wipe away all the data on my phone! I was shocked but I had no other options.

But yesterday (Wednesday), after collecting my phone I decided to check my data and to my surprise they were all intact. What a surprise and a relief! I am glad that my music playlist, pictures and other Data are intact.

Thanks for reading

16
$ 1.75
$ 1.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 12
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Sorry about your phone but glad it is now fixed. Sometimes we have to go thru something and experience it before we say "I could have or I should have" but guess that's how we learn :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mobile has got cracked and I am still spending my time without mobile phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a relief that your phone is now functioning. Personally I have experienced the worst when it comes to cellphone being damaged. I could remember back then when my loved one had given me a Sony Xperia worth for almost 1 000 dollars. You know what, I was so depressed because that was only a month old to me and then it was accidentally dropped that it caused a broken LCD. The sad part is having no part in the cellphone repair shop so I really waited for more than a month before the phone was returned to me. Good thing in your case, it only took two days to be fine.

Nice meeting you Tomi. Have a nice time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really must have been depressing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happened to me two weeks ago. I removed my phone screen guide and I didn't buy another one because I was being stingy. The phone screen broke and I used 20k to repair it😅😅. I no go procrastinate again😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also spent nearly 20k to get it repaired.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that was a sad experience. If you follow to buy a screen protector it might not happened. This is a lesson for you and to us readers that prevention is better than cure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a great lesson for everyone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also had a good few days without my phone. My phone also had some problems. I solved that problem after getting the phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems our phones are packed with distractions

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let this not be a warning signal to me that my phone is about to break because I've removed the rough screen guard on it and I've been procastinating to get another screen guard but my lazy self has been lazy as been usual🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go get one fast Kacy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, prevention helps us to avoid further destructions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It does, and save us time and stress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you. Losing all the data is the worst. And sure, prevention is better than cure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been told earlier by some phone accessories vendor to buy a screen guard for my phone but I didn't.

I remember when it happened, you mentioned on noise.cash. I've been using my Samsung since December but didn't get a screen guard either. As much as prevention is better than spending on a new screen, maybe I'd choose to be stubborn instead. I want to see where it will end... 😂🤣

Overall point taken- Prevention is better than cure!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I did, but then it was still working, but now all the screen got bad. Thank God I have been able to repair it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago