A Blessing in Disguise

14 44
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
2 years ago

There is no doubt that life is full of twists, turns and unpleasant situations that would make anybody think negatively about life. There might be some misfortune you might have encountered in life that makes you feel like giving up.

It's easy for a person to wallow in self-pity and be disappointed because of the situation he or she is in.

But, I always tell myself that everything in life happens for a purpose. That's true; I strongly believe that .

I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. Sometimes the reasons are hard to see, but if we step back and look at the bigger picture, we can find the reason and lessons in each obstacle

For example, losing a job can seem like a setback for one, but perhaps if you look at it the right way, you'll see that it was the best thing that happened to you. It might be the opportunity for you to get free from a repressing job. A better opportunity could present itself when you least expect it.

Like the popular adage; "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger."

"It's only when you've lost everything that you're free to do anything" (read that again).

Sometimes what one is doing now can be distractions that keeps him or her from realizing his or her potential. Those things keeps us in dark, while we think we are on the right track.

When we finally break free from them, it might seems like a setback but we will later get to know the truth, that they are only temporary solution and until we break ourselves from them before we realize we worth more.

Let me share an example of how some disappointment or what you think as failure could be actually be a blessing in disguise.

A true story

When I was about to finish my primary education, my dad wanted me to school in a military school for my secondary education. The military school called Command; which is really far from home, about 30 km or more. And the journey to and fro everyday would be filled with traffic jam and stress.

My Dad thought schooling in a military school is the best for me. Since in a military school they train their pupils in a semi-military format with a lot of discipline and strictness. So I went on to sit for Command's common entrance exam.

Common entrance examination is an exam written by students who are about to finish their primary level education and intends to move to secondary schools.

Unlike unified common entrance examination written across the state. Command's common entrance is set by the school and not by the government making it more difficult. Anyone who passes the common entrance automatically get the chance to sit for another selecting round of examination called interview.

The interview isn't oral but paper test and more harder than the common entrance.I was able to pass my common entrance exam with ease. Then came the day for the interview.

I wrote the interview and in the venue of the exam I met two of my friends from the same school hoping to be picked, but unfortunately when the interview results came out I didn't make the list..

So because I wasn't able to make it to command school, my Dad had to send me to government runned public school. At first it looked like a disappointment but as years roll by.

My dad and I realized that me not making Command's interview merit list was a blessing in disguise. After I started schooling in the public school which was very close to my home. My Dad got retired from his job. If I had been in Command school, with my Dad retirement there would be a lot of financial constraints because very day I would spend a lot of money to transport myself to school.

Also Command's school fees is a lot of money, unlike the government run public school which was free, and a stone throw from home.

So remember while you lament about something you want or don't have. Your not having it might actually be a blessing in disguise.

Special thanks to all my readers and friends here on read cash. I appreciate you all.

16
$ 4.61
$ 4.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 9
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! A blessing in disguise. I need to start seeing it more as that. Maybe my dad days would lessen up and I'll start smiling more often. I'll start telling myself that; anytime something bad happens, thanks for sharing your story in this piece and thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad to know that my article had an effect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything I’m life has it’s purpose and for every setback there will be always way forward. I think set backs help to get more motivated than before but for people there don’t think it that ways.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When somethings happen we question God, it's in the long run we realize it's actually a blessing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Valour you've said it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We never really know what is in store for us until they play out. I can imagine your dad took you to a public school because he wasn't happy you didn't make the command list

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Public school then was recently renovated and with good teachers, so it wasn't a bad option at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the end, going to the government school was the best option and it was simply God directing your footstep because he has seen the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly Krist, it wasn't a bad option at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like you I am a believer that everything happens for a reason. Many times when unpleasant things happen to us we think why does it happen to us but only time will give you the explanation. Interesting topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is said to be the greatest teacher.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it was really like blessing in disguise because imagine if you managed to go in to that school. Your father would have a quite hard time to look for the money to sustain your needs in school and you have to endure long traffics everyday when you have to go to school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the stress would have been too much for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes its tru my friend TomiAjax. Your good example is losing your job. We must not be discouraged because this is the way we are aware that there are good opportunities coming into our lives. All of a sudden we can only see better work. Do not be discouraged. But be brave.

$ 0.02
2 years ago