Shine your light.

2 36
Avatar for Tobias00
1 year ago

Seated on the couch, legs stretched out while i lean backwards with my earpiece pucked in and eyes closed lost in the lyrics of the song I was listening to.

It's a Christian hip hop song by Mike Abdul ft David karnji and A'dam. Title: Kneel Down.

A screenshot of the song's cover

How does the song relate with the article's title? Let's see

Part of the chorus goes thus;

No one lights a candle and hides it under the table.

So shine your light for the world to see Let them see

The rest of the chores are in Yoruba (one of the languages we speak here in Nigeria).

Few days back, I visited IG and came across a post.

The post I came across.

Listening to the song actually took me back to the post, with eyes closed I mediated and pondered on it. And I came up with words to my younger self which would be Shine your light.

I remember when I was younger I was just always too shy and scared to come out of my shell and show what I'm made up of, even though I knew I could do it, I would rather sit back and watch others do it while I cheer them up.

Then, I felt there were others who could do what I can do far better than I, so why not leave it to them?

I didn't know, we were all created for a purpose and we are all meant to shine our light differently. Some will shine brighter than others and it's no big deal because no matter how little a candle emits light, it will still brighten up it's surrounding.

Just like a tree can't make up a forest, so also a single candle light can't brighten a room, it will take a whole lot of them to do the job.

Have you ever been in a gathering before where a lot of candles are lighted or phones' touch are used in place of candles? Yeah, you see how memorizing such beautiful moments are?

it's breathtaking.

I realize this is how we all are meant to contribute our quota to the world's brightness. We all have different roles and purposes to play.

A lot of us have gotten in us what the world have been waiting so long for, don't hide it, let the world see.

Some are meant to be the light that will lead others out of darkness, if they don't light up those they are meant to lead will perish.

There maybe discouragements here and there especially from people, that maybe hindering us from lighting up. In the word of Will Smith( in a movie tho)

''hey! Don't ever let somebody tell you, you can't do something. You got a dream, you gotta protect it, people can't do something themselves, they want to tell you, you can't do it. You want something, go get it. Period!"

Refuse to be a voice in the background, shine your light let the world see.

Conclusion

With that said, back to the post I saw on IG.

If you're to go back in time, what would you tell your younger self?

Remember, it's not too late to work on the message you have for your younger self.

Thanks for reading to this point.

4
$ 0.61
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
+ 2
Sponsors of Tobias00
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tobias00
1 year ago

Comments

Lovely article, I enjoyed the read. This reminds me of my younger self years back. I kept it all hidden and when I look back now, I'm very much glad that i took the bold step to shine my light, this leads me to your question. "I would have told my younger self to embrace bravery, the world awaits my glory."

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Ella. The message to your younger self lights up my spirit🔥.

$ 0.00
1 year ago