Marriage Has Become Expensive

31 82
Avatar for Tilawat
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage, Cousin, Dowry, Expensive, Custom, ...

31 Article of my journey|22-5-2022

Lead image Unsplash.com (Edited)

Is marriage expensive in your country? Actually I didn't want to write this article but my conscience forced me to write on reality. Sometimes some scenes help the writer to find ideas. I'm trying to put my feelings into words. And maybe I don't think it's a sin to tell the truth. I know it's not easy to be a writer because sometimes the words that come to mind burn the heart. I'm starting to write even though I have to suffer...

Sponsors of Tilawat
empty
empty
empty

I thank my beautiful sponsors. And thanks to all the people who like to read me๐Ÿ’œ

I went to my aunt's house a few days ago. I go to my aunt's house every week her house is not far away but i can't go every day maybe i am lazy. But this week, when I arrived at my aunt's house, I was sad to see the condition there. I didn't know they were in that situation.I could hear my aunt's voice before I opened the door of the house but after I entered that voice disappeared. Maybe she had heard the sound of opening the door (The iron door always makes a sound when opened and closed).

When I entered the room, my aunt, her husband and my aunt's three daughters were sitting holding their heads. They looked at me with very quiet and strange faces. I was also upset to see this because I had never seen them in such a condition before. Every time I entered their house I saw smiles on their faces. But that smile was gone that day.

I greeted everyone as usual and sat down on the corner of the bed. This time in response to the greetings, their voices were muted. I asked my aunt why there is silence in the house today. Instead of answering, they asked me about my health (As you know, I got sick a few days ago). I reassured my aunt about my health.

My aunt's youngest daughter is my age. She winked and told me to go to another room. My cousin and I actually play computer games. When I go to my aunt's house. I got out of bed and went to another room with my cousin because I preferred not to know the reason for the silence from my aunt. Maybe it was appropriate for me to do so because I did not come to disturb them. And I don't think it's right for us to be repeatedly questioned by an elder.

When I asked my cousin the reason for the silence, he told me the whole story. I sat still like an idol for two minutes after hearing my cousin's words. I felt as if I had punished myself knowing the incident. I tried my best to hold back my tears but I failed because I am weak. My innocent cousin's eyes were drowning in a sea of โ€‹โ€‹tears that I never wanted.

Those words still ring in my ears

"The parents had arranged the elder sister's engagement in a rich family two years ago. Dad sells vegetables on the wheelbarrow all day and Mom runs the sewing machine day and night. My parents saved money and bought a dowry for my sister. But the other day the boy's family informed my father by phone that if you do not give your daughter four Tola of gold (One Tola is equal to 11.7g) in dowry then we will cancel the marriage. But we have two Tola of gold that my mother got in dowry (Today the price of a Tola in our country is over one hundred and thirty eight thousand). Parents have already bought the rest of the dowry but how can we fulfill their word because now there is nothing in our house that we can sell and buy the rest of the gold.If we don't buy the rest of the gold soon, they will break the engagement. What no parent wants... That is why we are all worried and no one is willing to lend us money".

She was trying to hide the pain but I could hear the faint sound of her broken heart. Even though she was stronger than me.

She added that if my sister's marriage was canceled, she would probably not be able to cope. Then suddenly my aunt's face appeared in the room and we both became speechless. Aunty asked what is being spied on each other. I shook my head in denial. Aunty smiled when she saw this (I know it was a painful smile).

Now I ask you what you would do if you were in my cousin's place? Wouldn't it hurt? Of course you are helpless because you had no other choice. Sometimes life tests us, which we are not expecting. Sometimes every breath of life hurts that makes us feel guilty.

I was wondering how we can be cruel. How long will this oppression continue in our society? How long will the lives of others be played in the name of dowry? This evil tradition has finally thrown the innocent people who have grown up in our society into the well of darkness. Even in our religion Islam dowry has been declared haraam. There is no problem if one gives wealth to one's daughter willingly. But forcing dowry is a very unpleasant act.

I see that the demand for dowry is increasing day by day which has forced the daughters of the poor to be kept under house arrest. Sometimes some customs make the society oppressive which results in burying the lower class alive. If this oppression continues like this, then perhaps the daughters of the poor will begin to feel guilty at home.

A humble message

If you are a boy's parent, don't ask for dowry because some poor people will be heartbroken. It is not our right to ruin a family life. It is our responsibility to protect everyone because we are all created by the same God. There is nothing more precious when they are giving you their daughter. Stay away from bad traditions as they make any society a criminal. Try to follow the Sunnah of the beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) so that you can escape the path of oppression.

Try to follow the right traditions so that our society is safe from future disgrace. Never be greedy because greed kills one's morals. Prefer to be a better person and be a unique character. Every step you take reflects the society because every step taken by the people in the society has significance and impact.

When I asked my aunt what your next step would be, she said softly, "Son, marriage has become expensive". These four words made me hollow inside. I told myself in my heart that marriage has really become expensive. Although marriage is a bond of love which has been replaced by wealth. Dowry really made marriage expensive. Tradition took away the honor of the daughters of the poor. I feel sad because I did not know that marriage has become expensive for the poor. I wish it weren't so...

DISCLAIMER

All the written words are mine. I have written this article based on my personal experience. The purpose of this article is to spread awareness among the people.

18
$ 3.81
$ 3.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 10
Sponsors of Tilawat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tilawat
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage, Cousin, Dowry, Expensive, Custom, ...

Comments

How cruel. Money rules the world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel so sorry for your cousin. Dowry is really a menace and that is why our religion prohibits it. But we don't follow the teachings of our religion and deliberately indulge ourselves in such things that ultimately lead to the destruction of society. A girl leaves her entire family for her husband and in laws. Is not it enough? Why the greed then?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right when a girl leaves her home and comes to us, we should not covet anything else. All this is the result of abandoning the Sunnah of the Prophet. I hope this tradition will end soon and then the daughter of a poor person will not grow old in her house. I will not tolerate such cruelty. Thanks for your feedback.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are very much right

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Probably you are Indian? I've learn that women do give dowry to men in the 3 idiots movie. I am familiar with dowry because some of our friends here in Philippines also do have dowry but in opposite because the men will give dowry to women.

This situation is so sad for the poor family who can't afford such. It does mean that a woman cannot be married without dowry?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

India and most of our traditions are similar because India is our neighbor. The tradition of your country is good because according to you men give dowry there. Actually, in our religion there is no concept of dowry but due to wrong traditions dowry is being given importance. No, marriage is not possible here without dowry, but if the boys refuse to take it, then there is no problem. Thanks for dropping.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh there is still a chance that a woman in your country can be married if the boy won't accept or wont require a dowry? If that so, hopefully every men or men's family won't demand such big and expensive dowry.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There are some people here who do not consider it necessary to take dowry because they do not want to endanger the life of a poor parent. But this tradition is spreading day by day which is very bad. I would like to break this tradition even though I may be alone in this war. I hope the minds of the men's families here will change if Almighty God wills!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you'll marry soon be an example.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriages should be simple there is not a logic behind doing so much expensive marriage I think everything should be simple that would be perfect

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's bitter truth of our society. I think this system of dowery is too bad. Boy's family doesn't put demands in front of girls family i am eye witness to many girls who are just getting over aged due to this dowery system. Everyone raise voice over it but still it is increasing day by day in our society. We have listened the news of ayesha i think last year who commit suicide just coz of it that her in laws were teasing him for not bringing more dowery with her. Just sham on these greedy nature people.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Not every poor person can afford their daughter's dowry and we all know that inflation is on the rise. When people in a society forget their beliefs and the path of their great ancestors, such traditions are destined to be born. Many innocent women like Ayesha are on the verge of suicide due to dowry. If the tradition like dowry is not stopped then maybe I am afraid that no one will be ready to marry the daughter of the poor in future. Alas, we have strayed from the Sunnah of our Prophet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, this is sad to know. Well, for me marriage should be about being happy and peaceful. Someday, we will find someone who will make us happy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am depressed because the people around me are following this tradition which is totally inappropriate. Such traditions spread the false image of a great bond like marriage. I hope one day you will find someone who truly loves you. Thanks for dropping the words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This hurts so bad and i feel pity for your cousin. I'm sure that sooner or later, she'll find a good man. But the tradition seems to be very weird over there. Anyways, I wish her goodluck

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My cousin's family did not know that the people they were going to associate with were greedy people. We also hope that my aunt's daughter will soon find a loving partner. We are helpless because it is not the job of one person to stop the tradition. Thank you for this beautiful comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

woah, that reall my hurts if it were me. . I felt sorry for your cousin.. ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜ฉ, I wish she can find a good man, the man who will fight for him..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I tried to turn the scene into deeper words so you could feel it. I don't want you to give your example instead because it hurts the heart. I can't stand that this would happen to anyone's daughter. At least you felt my cousin's pain. I hope Allah will accept your words. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

of course, who would not feel the pain about it.. maybe God did it because He knows that she is going to be hurt more if she do the wedding.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes friend also this is true and also I agree with you hundred ๐Ÿ’ฏ persent the marriage life is not easy we should to live his life with his partner

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We must eradicate the roots of such traditions in order to establish prosperity in society. Marriage is easy but such traditions have made it expensive. Thank you friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope this kind of traditional marriage will be changed.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is possible if we throw such traditions into the dark well. This is the responsibility of everyone in the community who wants to spread the air of love. Hope for change is the only solution. Thanks for reading me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfair world

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think every system in the world needs human choice. It is up to us how we can maintain peace in the society. We have to hold on to good traditions so that no one is harmed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah so true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh really? still those old-fashioned traditions... I think some traditions are good when they bring us happiness and smiles but not which make us feel sad and change our lives when we don't want really. If decision is not free, we aren't free so we are slaves and we will be sad, that cannot be a good tradition, only free willing celebrations in my opinion.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree with you because we continue to adhere to traditions that lead us to slavery instead of living freely. As you said I am happy with some old traditions because they teach love and unity. But alas, such traditions are rising here which embarrass the poor parents. This tradition may disappear in the future. But it is difficult to say because such traditions have become stronger than ever. At least we can pray to God. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Marriages are expensive just because of unnecessary traditions, otherwise the Islamic way and according to sunnah the Nikah can be done within a minimum budget. We should break the trend of doing expenses more than our income and and expenses. We should keep in mind everything when we are setting up a marriage. And should move on the way of shariaah

$ 0.02
1 year ago

All this chaos is due to our preference for misleading traditions. Pursuing such traditions is strictly forbidden in Islam because traditions are a reflection of society. You are right that marriage is possible with minimum budget if we are going to follow Sunnah. We must spread such awareness among the people to eradicate such traditions so that the society remains safe. Thank you for the reminder.

$ 0.00
1 year ago