How I lost a job opportunity

13 33
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Job, Fiction, Lessons
7TH FEBRUARY, 2022.
9TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
7TH ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

I woke up very angry with myself this morning. I had a job interview this morning. I have been searching for job for the past three years after my youth service. There was a particular cloth I wanted to wear for the interview but it was not yet ironed. There was no electricity and our generator developed a fault. I had to pick another cloth and that was why I was angry.

When I got to the road to get transport to my destination, there was no vehicle in sight. I became more angry. When I finally got a vehicle, the space was very small for me. When I could no longer feel my legs again, I spoke out. The driver said something that made me more angry and I transferred my aggression on other passengers beside me. I told the man to shift very well but he said I should be patient and we would soon get to our destination. I told him to go get his own can so that he can sit the way he likes in it. I couldn't bear it anymore and I eventually told the driver to drop me.

I got down and flagged down another vehicle which was comfortable for me. I got to the interview early. I was the second person on seat. The interview went well and to my surprise, two of us were asked to wait to see the managing director of the company. I was happy. After all these years of job hunting. Others were asked to go. After some time, the MD was not yet around. We were told that he had a problem with his vehicle and he was on his way.

He arrived later and apologized for the lateness. The person beside me was asked to see him first. He went in and came out to inform me that he has been employed. I was happy for him. It was my turn then I went inside. The MD congratulated me and said he was impressed with my performance at the orals. He called the secretary to type my letter of employment immediately while I wait in his office. I couldn't wait to share the news with my family.

After a while, the MD looked up and said my face looked familiar. I said I didn't remember meeting him anywhere. He asked how I got to the company this morning. I told him I took a public transport. It was then he remembered vividly. He said I met him in a vehicle this morning and I wasn't comfortable with the seat and that he was the one I insulted to go and buy his own car. I couldn't believe it. He said a gang of armed robbers attacked him the other night and stole his car and that was why he was in a public transport.

I didn't know what to say. He said though I have qualifed for the job with my academic performance, I didn't have the etiquettes to deal with customers. I knelt down and began to beg him to forgive me. I told him that I wasn't myself this morning and he should give me another chance. The secretary brought in my letter of employment and the MD tore it before my face and told me to leave his office. That was how I lost a job opportunity.

Are you like me? Are you always touchy? Do you get angry at everything? Please change so you won't end up like me.

Thanks for reading

Fiction

4
$ 1.04
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Job, Fiction, Lessons

Comments

Thank God this is fiction, jeez! It felt to real. This is definitely a life lesson that must be learnt, we lose blessings of we're too quick to lose our temper

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God wants us to be gentle and emulate the life of Christ.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God it's fictional. We pray this kind of this thing doesn't happen to us. I have heard stories of such and they all ended like this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

AMEN. We should learn the attitude of patience and perseverance so we don't get into unnecessary trouble.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that was harsh. I really thought it's a real story tho.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not real but I think it must have happened to some people before and they have that sad stories to tell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear what happened to you. That is why we need to control our anger, as it leads us no where but to destruction. Be careful and patient next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's fictional but with very great lesson to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh!! So sorry I did not notice the word 'Fiction' but, these lessons are really important in our real life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yikes!!!! That's just unfortunate... Sorry about the job... I've always argued that emotions were the enemy of reason... Next time do try to be patient with those that don't offend you... (:

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's just a story my namesake... it's not about me. I'm the quiet type I don't talk. Anyways thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh sometime I might be like this but I'm not vocal, i just silently fighting my own anger. We should be mindful enough by handling our tantrums because we do not know that those people we encountered was more powerful than we are. Lesson learned!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please fight it with God's power and all will be well. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago