How I listen to assimilate with retentive memory

6 39
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago
11TH MAY, 2022.

89TH ARTICLE IN ALL.

The importance of listening with rapt attention and full concentration for proper understanding cannot be underscored in the process of learning for academic success.

Development of good listening skills may facilitate assimilation and promote success in our academic pursuits. To ensure effective listening and efficiency in assimilation, I have to overcome wandering thoughts, daydreaming side talks and every form of unwholesome practices that are common with thoughtless students. Rapt attention to the teacher with particular concentration on the points of discussion aids my assimilation and understanding of the subject matter. While careless students engage their minds in issues that deviates from the subject of the day, ambitious learners are always focused and forthright.

Effective listening is very essential to good assimilation. My mindset must be disciplined to focus on the subject of discussion in the class at all times. It is quite essential to discern sense and meaning in what is said and to take note of verbal and nonverbal gesticulations of the speaker.

The more I understand and assimilate in the course of studies, the better for me to achieve success.

Retentive memory is a valuable asset to every student for success. This refers to the power of retaining, recalling and reproducing mental or sensory impressions that were assimilated during the process of learning. This process comes up in stages during teaching-learning activities. The common complaints of most students as regard reading and forgetting can be overcome through the principles of retentive memory below;

  • I read thoroughly and study clearly the knowledge contents to understand the materials I am learning. The more understanding I have, the longer the knowledge stays with me.

  • I analyse the contents of my learning by looking into it carefully. I make efforts to link the new information with the existing knowledge.

  • I portion the new materials into manageable parts that are relevant.

  • I rehearse aloud and repeat the information over and over to register the contents in my mind.

  • I make facts, key points and main ideas vivid and clear in my notes.

  • I use mnemonics to register the main points -like MR. NIGER and ROYGBIV to remind me of the characteristics of living things and seven colours of the rainbow respectively.

  • I review and revise my notes regularly.

    Memory is given by God and can be retained.

8
$ 0.65
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @BCHFarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

For learning point of view, these all are the good and basics things for effective listening and also aid in Eng.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😄 Thanks for the comment and tip.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are more than welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't quite agree with that random thought one must put away to be retentive. Random thought could just be another way of thinking tnhm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have this issue of forgetting what I read sometimes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The principles above have worked for me. You can try it and see the result.

$ 0.00
1 year ago