All that glitter is not gold

11 21
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
17TH FEBRUARY, 2022.
19TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
17TH ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

I got admission into the university as a young, vibrant, beautiful and innocent lady. I was admitted to study law. I resumed a week after resumption so I had missed some classes. I met with my course representative and he explained all that I had missed. I was grateful to him. The classes continued. I loved the environment because it was very peaceful despite the large population of the students.

The campus fellowship was another interesting place for me to be and since I got to school, I never missed a service. I made sure I participated in every activity. Our assistant general coordinator, bro John, was the funny type. He was very jovial but used to behave like a baby attimes. He was unexpectedly made the general coordinator. Some of us were surprised because there was someone else that we thought would be the general coordinator. Of course, there was nothing we could do about that so we accepted fate but we really enjoyed his leadership because the Spirit of God manifested through him.

Then I met Kelvin. He was in his final year and he just joined our fellowship as a new convert through me. He started working for God and was very active and growing rapidly. Within two months of knowing eachother, he proposed to me. I was shocked because I didn't see it coming. It wasn't as if I didn't like him. In fact, he came from a wealthy home but I didn't expect him to make any move so soon. I told him I would pray about it and he should give me time. I knew the answer I was going to give him so the prayer part was only a camouflage.

Two weeks to our second semester exams, bro John asked to see me after one of our fellowships. He said he had been praying about God's will for his life and he felt led to see me. He asked if I would marry him. I could not utter a word because I had not yet responded to the first proposal and now the second one was coming. I told him too that I would pray and think about it. I had my eyes on kelvin already and I loved him. I began to think of what my friends would say because many times we had slaughtered bro John with our lips by our jokes. I began to think of what my friends would say because I decided to continue to watch kelvin for some time to know him more before I made my final decision. I never involved God. I thought I was wise and I could decide for myself.

After our exams of one month, I was still moving with kelvin and bro John was asking for my response. I told him I was still praying about it. We went for holiday after the exams and bro John went for his Youth service. I decided to pay a surprise visit to kelvin. I didn't tell him I was coming so I could meet him unguarded and I could decide whom to choose between the duo.

I met him reading his Bible and I was impressed. He was surprised to see me. I asked him when he will be going for service and he said very soon. He entertained me and I was relaxed. I woke up around 7:30 p.m. to see him sleeping beside me. I wondered where I was because it didn't look like my room. I looked around and discovered my clothes were off my body. I screamed and Kelvin woke up. He drugged me and took my dignity that I had been preserving for twenty three years of my life. He begged me to forgive him and I left his house in bitter tears.

I began to try bro John's number to give him a positive response. His number was no longer going through and after a month I met a friend who had his new phone number. I called and I was already telling him I was ready to marry him when he told me that he was already engaged to another sister. I couldn't describe the feeling I had at that moment. He said God instructed him to go for another sister since I wasn't ready to do His will.

I don't know how many times I died and came back to life. Kelvin never called me for once since that incidence. I later discovered that I was pregnant and Kelvin had gone for his youth service in a very distant state. My whole world came crashing before me as I couldn't continue my education and my parents were very much disappointed in me.

FICTION

My beloved reader,

Trust in the lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge God and He will direct your path.

7
$ 1.91
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Preshdan
$ 0.05 from @Crownofbeauty
+ 2
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hmm,I'll love the girls to take in this as a lesson and for us guys,pre-marital sex is just like getting yourself into deep trouble, because you're not only exchanging physical fluid but there's something spiritual about pre-marital sex. Nice writes my friend 👌😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate your comment 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome my friend 👌😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God it's fiction 😩. I was already scared 🥺. It's really interesting and it teaches a lesson too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah... That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We've been hearing this sentence since we were little and we sincerely believe that glitter doesn't make gold. Of course its quality is to have. Well said.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Outward appearance might be deceitful at times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG!! This is indeed very brilliant, educative and impressive. I learnt some lessons and one of it is to always involve God in everything we do and not appear wise in our own eyes. Nice meeting you and once again, brilliant story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. God is interested in all we do and he always wants us to involve Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, the way you told the story made it seem so real. You're right, we have to involve God in all we do and in every decision we plan to take

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago