Going "Bankless" in Canada - So Close

40 217
Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago

As I lean deeper into living off of the internet, I have started looking for ways to have a reliable way to spend the money I earn in Crypto in the real world. I like the idea of spreading the word and showing the power of crypto without having to buy things with gift cards, or charging through a 24-72 hour wait time to pull my funds out. This is all made harder by the fact that I live in Canada, which means two things for me: 1) cryptocurrencies are not legal tender here in Canada and being so, are not affected by taxes as long as it is kept, and spent in crypto currency. 2) This means that any companies going through Visa, Mastercard, etc. cannot get their cryptocurrency visa cards approved here just yet.

So this leaves us with the problems of getting my money out for everyday spending at all, and how to keep my money from crypto easily separate from my normal bank account, to make sure that everything is structured properly come tax time. having my criteria, I went to work.

I will save you all the monotonous details of researching through different articles saying how so many companies had plans to bring a card out to Canada, or in one or two case they may actually have, before they were shut down? At any rate, a few solid hours, a handful of online chats with different companies, and I finally came to the conclusion that there was no crypto-ready vis cards in Canada just yet....on to the next option.

Ultimately, I came up with this scheme to keep everything as organized as possible in one go (I recommend reading this over first before starting to make sure you set up all the necessary accounts for your situation)

First off: I personally keep all my everyday spending money in investments or activities that can pay me in Bitcoin, or widely accepted altcoin. (I will detail my strategies for personal savings vs personal spending in another article). This ensures easy access to funds by depositing everything into a "bucket account" that collects payments from various sources.

BUCKET ACCOUNT CHOICE - NETCOINS (For Canada)

Netcoins is a platform that focuses on Providing cryptocurrency access to Canadians in a "step or two past basic" way. They make it easy to money with e-transfers, with money arriving within 30 mins. This means when we are transferring fiat currency into crypto, or pulling our funds out to spend, Both are done with e-transfer. The only down side to this convenience is that they are available for transfer into and out of your account during business hours. So we do have to plan our weekend withdrawals. Hey, still better than anything else I have found! =)

They work with BTC, BCH, ETH, LTC, XRP & CAD funds, which makes them fairly ideal for common altcoin, but can make it require one more account "upstream" in any one of your preferred exchanges (I personally like crypto.com, But thats a different article). The goal here of course, is to require as few transactions as possible from any income source wallets, to your "bucket account" to save on fees where we can. Once we have all of our funds transferred to Netcoins, we will exchange them for CAD funds leave them there until a bit later.

SETTING UP A SECONDARY BANK ACCOUNT (online) - KOHO FINANCIAL

Next link in the chain (and last... short chain is what we want I promise!) is to set up a service to send our funds from Netcoins, which are now sitting in CAD, waiting for us, into a way we can spend it in the real world, and ideal without a surcharge to avoid ever more present fees if we don't watch out for them! This is where virtual or online banks come in handy.

Covid notwithstanding, I don't want to wait in line for a bank anymore if I have the convenience of chatting and setting up my basic day to day spending and saving with an online banking platform. This way, it is kept separate from my traditional bank account should any odd taxation scenarios arise, as well as hygiene in our evolving world. For this, I chose KOHO. They have a decent referral reward system, of 1% rebate for 90 days on everything you spend with them, up to a loaded 10%!

Now I'm not sure what the taxes are like in other parts of the world, but here in my part of Canada, we pay 12% for our taxes. That means that if you refer anyone into this free service, you could be saving almost the entire tax rate for everything you purchase! Not enough? How about their upgraded membership? 89$ a year (still cheaper than the average bank fee by their claim) and you get another 2% off... thats right, 12% off every purchase, essentially shopping with your taxes paid for.

What I also love about KOHO is that they have a virtual card system as well as a physical one. This means I can set up my virtual card to be spent online right away (online grocery shopping, with 12% savings!) and if you have Apple or Samsung pay, you are only limited to pulling cash out at ATMs, and paying for things below the tap limit until your card arrives in the mail about 2 weeks later.

PUTTING TWO PIECES TOGETHER - Simple Transfers

Just to wrap everything up with a nice bow, Let's put everything together at the end here. I find its easiest to do this set up using a computer to operate Netcoins, and a smartphone to operate KOHO.

Now that we have our CAD funds sitting in our Netcoins account, and a place for them to be sent, we will has for a withdrawal. We are going to go to KOHO and add our funds. It will pop up with an email to send e-transfers to. Take this email and paste it into your Withdrawal form on Netcoins... And we our good to go!

Now all we have to do is wait somewhere between 1-30 minutes ,and we are officially ready to use our crypto and other online income for our daily, and weekly expenses!

If you want to read my thoughts towards alternatives platforms for a similar purpose in other countries, look out for a coming article, "Bankless In the Modern Day"

If You have any questions on this set up, please feel free to leave a comment down below! =) I am happy to help anyone set up a similar structure for themselves where ever they are in the world!

28
$ 6.19
$ 6.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Ippollo
+ 1
Sponsors of Thremos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago

Comments

Very interesting article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got yourself another subscriber :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you be more specific on where you earn crypto and what's your invest/saving plan? How much return, etc. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey Monolith, as I have a second to take this in, I want to make sure you know ahead of time, That there is another article I am working on called "dumb money". It entails the ideas of non traditional value being assigned and capitalizing on a high value with a low consumer rate. I just want you to know ahead of time that What I am writing does not fall within the realm of traditional investments and in particular "savings"

savings in my reality is going to differ from the traditional sense of the word, so I would not hold your breath on my view of "savings" meaning too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noted. It will be interesting to read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey Monolith! I would love to! I am currently working on another post for starting crypto investments with no capital, to small/ medium capital. =) that is as far as I have any words worth mentioning on, But I am happy to share that information, I am still working on figuring out howto get my telegram up on here, but my name is @Thremos. I will be focusing on the forks over the next few days so I may be a little absent here <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

10% sounds too good to be true, to be honest. After the Cred bankruptcy (check out my recent articles for the details), I'm very worried if some crypto related service sounds too good to be true. ๐Ÿ™ˆ

I hope for you that they are and remain legit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah personally, I dont use them as a card platform, thats why i still stick to an online bank for now. There will be ridiculous restrictions on them when they frist get here. For example, I am not allowed to "legally" use my KOHO online visa card for gambling becasue it breaches KOHO's terms of agreement with visa. So best bet right now in canada at least is to use some of the traditional systems if it makes your life easier. No need to go broke a martyr XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, sometimes it's better to postpone a journey and wait for the road to be paved. Figuratively speaking, of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lol when we are talking literally.... omg letmeofftheroadandintothebushesijustWANTTOEXPLORE.... i mean nothing..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cashless is really sweet am into crypto this very year and i enjoyed it so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fellow Canadian here! I've never heard of KOHO, so I'll take a close look at that. Thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://web.koho.ca/referral/O71T7MNX if you do try it out, if you dont mind using my referal code that wouldl be rad!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing place. Hope you enjoy your trip. Have a good journey

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great news for you, cashless and bankless is really great at this time of pandemic..our country does not have that kind of service yet, we can pay crypto only to those who also know about crypto there's no establishment or platform yet that runs accepting it as payment method.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what country are you from? =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

as far as i can tell @eybyoung is from the same contry as me, philippines๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ˜†.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's cool.. It's a big help for crypto lovers..the transactions would be easier and faster.. Btw, do you know scottcbusiness here? I think he is also from Canada.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have seen a few of his posts yes! I haven't taken a moment to go through all his posts yet =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have something to ask about crypto.. Maybe you can approach him ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

gotcha thank you =3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's interesting! I also would love to go cashless. And the thing that coinbase not letting me sell and I don't know if there's some issue with my bank or what. Is that Koho, you think I can use that too in here the UK?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Fair enough! well It looks like crypto.com has a card that you can use to spend crypto as if it was fiat in the real world in the UK. I also briefly looked at some other options of online banks in the UK, but didn't read up on them specifically to see which would be the best deal. =) If you like, I can add my telegram to my profile and you can message me there! I would be happy to help figoure out what gives you the most cash back, least fees, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm installing the app.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

if you dont mind, ill give you my refferal code!

the referal code you can add is: 88pne8jcge - then we both make money when you make a deposit!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done! And that was fast!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

awesome! I don't know how to get my telegram into my profile yet, but i left my username here =) I highly recommend looking at their "earn" section =) noiithing crazy but it is a nice way to stake coin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry @thremos but I'm stupid with this telegram thing. For now, I'm not into earning as I not know how to handle it and the term staking although I read it from my crypto friends is still hard for me to digest. Maybe because I'm not making time to learn it. But hopefully I'll get there. For now I want to know If I can get the card. And do you know how much fee I have to pay for having the privilege card?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hrmmm i dont off the top of my head, but let me get back to you in an hour or two after some research! so with the card for cashless, are you wanting to transfer funds from your bank account? or would you like to fund your card from crypto currencies? =) and ill find you the best fit!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can I do both? If coinbase not letting me sell I can transfer my crypto from there then? Can I do that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

for sure! let me find something quickly for you =) do you have a telegram account username I could grab? or ill just set up an article about it and make it my next post =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes please, my telegram same name

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, i should ask you about that first, I will uninstall it. Can you give me your referral code?

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am having the hardest time figuring out how to get my Telegram into my bio... XD my username is @Thremos though =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I will have a look at the crypto.com Much better if you can just add up your telegram so if others have concerns they can speak to you directly. For now I don't wanna bother you. :) I'll check that out, my dear. If I have questions, can I ask you again?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

absolutley! I actually only work off of the internet right now, so it is really no bother making a good connection with someone in the community! I'll get it up in the next few minutes, but please reach out if you have any thing you are interested in =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago