Deceiving oneself

13 27
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

This is an article that was drafted here few days ago but also a victim of my dead brain cells. It serves actually as a response to @JonicaBradley 's prompt about "Cheating".

Sorry missjonica if I take too long to publish this.

Lead image from unsplash


When I started my weight loss journey, I started to decieve myself. Deceive is other word for cheat. What is deceive and how did I deceive myself? Is it good to deceive oneself?

Deceive means (of a person) cause (someone) to believe something that is not true, typically in order to gain some personal advantage. Source

There's a lot of definition given in the internet but I chose this because it suited my article. As I have said earlier that I decieved myself when I started my weight loss journey and this is something that I have done to my personal advantage. Being in a weight loss journey is very hard especially because it requires changes to almost everything. Food, physical activities, routine and mindset. And inorder to attain my goal is to deceive myself.

How did I deceive myself?

  • Food

When you are in a weight loss journey, it is essential to change your food intake. From what you eat, how you eat, and when you should eat. From what I eat is very crucial as my body is still coping with the change and I am not use to it. When my body crave for something, the deceiving process happen. I seek for alternative and think that I would still get the same satisfaction I am craving. From how I eat, I used small bowl and filled it with lots of different kinds of food. From that I receive myself that I already ate lots because the bowl is full. From when I eat, I chose intermittent fasting that would best suit me for my body type. Whenever my stomach feel hunger I just drink lots of water and I feel full already.

  • Physical activities

When I was started my weight loss journey 3 months ago, I started walking at 5 am in the morning. Sometimes when I don't want to wake up I deceive myself for some reasons in order for me to not skip that day. I would answer myself from all her excuses with deceptions and it works. Whenever I don't want to do my daily work out I deceive myself with a promise of few treats after the work out and would look forward for the post work out meal. Mind you it is still healthy treats not chocolate nor cakes.

  • Routine

Having my journey is a commitment to fully change myself. This would mean changing fully my daily routine. I would be dishonest with you if I would say I don't have lazy times of course I have. But then again I would deceive myself for a promising result for me to continue to be motivated.

  • Mindset

This is very powerful and the one that made others functional. For whatever you believe you can do, you definitely can. And whatever you believe you can't do is just a lie. Don't be deceive by your brain. It is all in the mind really. So if my mind would deceive me I would do the same to her. I don't know how did I do that but I did. Lol. Before I started the journey the first thing I did was change my mindset. I was stressed and having my anxieties and all. My body had been struggling a lot. And my brain was worn out. By the time I change my negative mindset to positive ones, I started to see changes.

Our mind is very powerful so as our body. When you think you can do then your body would extend its limit to reach what your brain believe you can. So, in order to do that you must change your mindset first and then everything would follow.

Is it good that I deceive myself?

For me Yes, because I gain personal advantage to it because it is myself I deceive and it is me who could still benifits to it. In this journey I must say deception is a very powerful act. And it easy yet hard task to do. Easy in a way that I just need to made up cute little lies that my brain would accept. Hard because I am the one who made up those lies and I know it's a lie. It's like setting a trap for myself. But because it's for the greater good of my entire well-being I guess my brain did cooperate.

Closing thought

Deception is good when you do it to oneself in order for you to feel ease and take out pain to yourself. Sometimes you need to made up lies to make yourself better. And then face the reality after accepting the truth whenever you are ready. But deception is just for short term results. Whenever I am tired and would not see results in my early stage of the journey I would mocked myself for the lies I had made. So, I face the truth and the realities and live out of the lies I had made. Now that I accepted the fact that I am not getting any younger and should take care of my body. I fully take the responsibility of my healthy lifestyle. No more binge eating, no more hunger and no more deception.

Deception really would not last forever. Especially if we do it to others. Sooner or later the truth will come out and you need to accept the consequences of your action. So, before you deceive others make sure to think that you don't deceive yourself too. Because whenever you deceive other people you are also deceiving yourself.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

My special thanks to my sponsor who still with me in this journey eventhough I stop writing for almost 2 weeks. My apologies to all of you to what I had done. I promise I would make up with it and do my best this time.

Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate you all . I love you. 🥰😘

5
$ 0.39
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Lol. I haven't seen deception in this manner though and I understand how the weight loss journey can be a nightmare for some people. It's not always an easy task so I understand you deceiving yourself and all. But cheer up girl!😟😉 Nice to meet you grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the kind words and for visiting. I appreciate it. Nice meeting you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pleasure is all mine Gracie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you shows that a negative word as 'deceive', can somehow bring positive effects at some aspects.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I just see want to see things differently. But, since it's still deceiving thus it can't last longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The difficulty of deceiving other people because all of them will eventually know the truth. But I often do it myself. I deceive myself to be Happy but the truth is I am sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do that sometimes too. I think it's normal to us we never we are not ready to accept realities. But then again it is only short-term.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why white lies are made to somehow cover up the pain. Still, a person should instill the courage to accept and reality and move forward. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm before I thought deceiving is always bad but then when I saw the results of it from you, my perspective has changed. I'm not saying deceiving is good. As what you said, it's temporary. So go ra mem! Go with your goals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayeee salamat ma'am sa pagkonsenti 🤣🤣🤣🤣 na motivate kog samot 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Konsenti jod oy! Hahaha! Bitaw kita ja kos imo mga myday sa fb ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pasesnyae njud na mem 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago